Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10U5.052179
Ten-year-old Bud, a motherless boy living in Flint, Michigan during the Great Depression, escapes a bad foster home and sets out in search of the man he believes to be his father--the renowned bandleader, H.E. Calloway of Grand Rapids.
Paperback, 246 pages
Published on February 6, 2003 by Corgi Childrens
ISBN-10: 0552548529
ISBN-13: 9780552548526
80 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • pinehill
    pinehillWednesday, May 30, 2018 at 7:55 am33 stars
    this is my book club book and its pretty good, it takes place in the great depresion! About a kid who dousen't have parents.
    • pretzel101
      pretzel101Thursday, May 3, 2018 at 7:04 pm55 stars
      Comment : Doggone I gonna say this book is doggone good to be such a doggone book. To much doggones? Sorry its part of the authors style. He wore about an orphan named Bud. But since everyone would properly call him Buddy he say "Bud not Buddy". Summary : Bud is and orphan at the home. He has been an orphan since age 6, and now at age 11. He has been to many foster homes and all turn out horrible. His mission is to see his dad in Grand Rapids. Recommendation : For anyone who loves action, adventure and maybe comedy. Key words that will be found A LOT : Doggone Mr. Curtis this is an amazing book thanks for writing it. :) :D
      • allyisawesome
        allyisawesomeSaturday, January 20, 2018 at 9:54 am55 stars
        This book is so funny and humerous! Would definatly recomand it!
        • bfairchi
          bfairchiSaturday, January 20, 2018 at 5:35 am44 stars
          Speaks for the disadvantaged life of a foster child and how one boy, Bud, overcomes his hardships in search of a dream.
          • dangerider19
            dangerider19Tuesday, March 28, 2017 at 12:37 pm44 stars
            it gets sad a little bit
            • Chris P. CurtisMonday, February 27, 2017 at 12:07 pm
              Thank you for the love for my book. Read the others, too!
              • harrypotter87
                harrypotter87Sunday, February 26, 2017 at 1:52 pm44 stars
                good book
                • sweetgirl823
                  sweetgirl823Sunday, February 5, 2017 at 4:07 pm55 stars
                  This book is sad n amazing at the same time! I think if you are having a bad day open this book up and read it it might put a smile on your face!
                  • sweetgirl823
                    sweetgirl823Sunday, February 5, 2017 at 10:52 am55 stars
                    This book is sad n amazing at the same time!
                    • nazzie24
                      nazzie24Friday, September 30, 2016 at 10:32 am55 stars
                      BNB is the best book I ever read in my life. On Dogs it's the GOAT of all books. The story on fleek, Character background radical, and the attention to detail unbelievable

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      e06
                      e06 wrote:

                      This is perfect for summer! I l...
                      The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale o...

                      applemango
                      applemango wrote:

                      To me this book just seemed unin...
                      Rump: The True Story of Rumpelst...

                      applemango
                      applemango wrote:

                      The reason why, in the first pla...
                      Samantha Spinner and the Super-S...

                      MYSTERYGAL7 wrote:

                      So good and it was really relata...
                      Ghosts