Bud, Not Buddy

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10U5.052179
Ten-year-old Bud, a motherless boy living in Flint, Michigan during the Great Depression, escapes a bad foster home and sets out in search of the man he believes to be his father--the renowned bandleader, H.E. Calloway of Grand Rapids.
Paperback, 246 pages
Published on February 6, 2003 by Corgi Childrens
ISBN-10: 0552548529
ISBN-13: 9780552548526
90 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • royalqueen16th
    royalqueen16thSaturday, February 8, 2020 at 3:41 pm55 stars
    This is a very funny book. I liked the part when.... Oh wait, I won't spoil it for you. Just read it and find out my favorite part!
    • bud not buddyMonday, February 3, 2020 at 7:46 am
      it is a amazing book
      • LisaanneMonday, August 5, 2019 at 5:29 pm
        It's been almost 5 years since I've read Bud, Not Buddy and its impact is still with me.
        • lavoiem
          lavoiemMonday, May 6, 2019 at 7:55 pm22 stars
          Personally I did not enjoy this book because it was a force read from my teacher and that usually ruins a book for me:(
          • zombiewar
            zombiewarFriday, May 3, 2019 at 9:16 am55 stars
            Awesome I read this book in my class
            • sweetcheese
              sweetcheeseMonday, April 29, 2019 at 3:53 pm55 stars
              awesome!!!!!!!
              • zombiewar
                zombiewarFriday, May 3, 2019 at 9:17 am55 stars
                Hey this amazing
              • bacon_bitzz
                bacon_bitzzTuesday, April 9, 2019 at 3:57 am55 stars
                LOVED IT!
                • lmhewlett
                  lmhewlettThursday, February 14, 2019 at 10:52 am55 stars
                  This book is about Bud...he’s a very smart 10 year old and has a big imagination. He’s an orphan and a foster kid. Bud runs away and meets Lefty Lewis and Herman E. Calloway...who turns about to be a part of his family. He thinks Lefty Lewis is a vampire. Bud keeps his emotions and possessions all in his suitcase, and keeps everything to himself. This is a really good but sometimes long book. It does have one bit of strong language. We would recommend this book.
                  • school2354
                    school2354Thursday, January 24, 2019 at 6:36 pm55 stars
                    This is a really, really good book.
                    • pinehill
                      pinehillWednesday, May 30, 2018 at 7:55 am33 stars
                      this is my book club book and its pretty good, it takes place in the great depresion! About a kid who dousen't have parents.