Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10U5.052179
Ten-year-old Bud, a motherless boy living in Flint, Michigan during the Great Depression, escapes a bad foster home and sets out in search of the man he believes to be his father--the renowned bandleader, H.E. Calloway of Grand Rapids.
Paperback, 246 pages
Published on February 6, 2003 by Corgi Childrens
ISBN-10: 0552548529
ISBN-13: 9780552548526
78 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • allyisawesome
    allyisawesomeSaturday, January 20, 2018 at 9:54 am55 stars
    This book is so funny and humerous! Would definatly recomand it!
    • bfairchi
      bfairchiSaturday, January 20, 2018 at 5:35 am44 stars
      Speaks for the disadvantaged life of a foster child and how one boy, Bud, overcomes his hardships in search of a dream.
      • dangerider19
        dangerider19Tuesday, March 28, 2017 at 12:37 pm44 stars
        it gets sad a little bit
        • Chris P. CurtisMonday, February 27, 2017 at 12:07 pm
          Thank you for the love for my book. Read the others, too!
          • harrypotter87
            harrypotter87Sunday, February 26, 2017 at 1:52 pm44 stars
            good book
            • sweetgirl823
              sweetgirl823Sunday, February 5, 2017 at 4:07 pm55 stars
              This book is sad n amazing at the same time! I think if you are having a bad day open this book up and read it it might put a smile on your face!
              • sweetgirl823
                sweetgirl823Sunday, February 5, 2017 at 10:52 am55 stars
                This book is sad n amazing at the same time!
                • nazzie24
                  nazzie24Friday, September 30, 2016 at 10:32 am55 stars
                  BNB is the best book I ever read in my life. On Dogs it's the GOAT of all books. The story on fleek, Character background radical, and the attention to detail unbelievable
                  • snowcreep
                    snowcreepSunday, September 18, 2016 at 2:25 pm44 stars
                    so far i realy like it hopefully there are sad parts and exiting parts i hope bud excapes and has to live in the wild for some time lol
                    • roscolover12
                      roscolover12Thursday, September 15, 2016 at 4:34 pm
                      This book is great so far!!!!!;)

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      caitlynpv5
                      caitlynpv5 wrote:

                      It's an amazing book and I think...
                      Cake Pop Crush: A Wish Novel

                      Kobalt wrote:

                      This book was a blessing to have...
                      Wayside School Is Falling Down

                      raveb772
                      raveb772 wrote:

                      After Carter and Sadie Kane have...
                      The Throne of Fire (The Kane Chr...