Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 6n/a5.563431

The New York Times bestselling author of Challenger Deep, Neal Shusterman, delivers a suspenseful, eloquent, and thrilling novel that you won't be able to stop thinking about after you've put it down.

Tennyson is not surprised, really, when his family begins to fall apart, or when his twin sister, Brontë, starts dating the misunderstood bully, Brewster (or The Bruiser, as the entire high school calls him). Tennyson is determined to get to the bottom of The Bruiser's reputation, even if it means gearing up for a fight. Brontë, on the other hand, thinks there's something special underneath that tough exterior. And she's right…but neither she nor Tennyson is prepared for the truth of what lies below the surface.

Told through Tennyson, Brontë, and Bruiser's points of view, this dark, twisting novel explores friendship, family, and the sacrifices we make for the people we love.

A Texas Lone Star Reading List selection
A Book Page Top Ten Book of the Year
A Bank Street College of Education Best Book of the Year
A Cooperative Children's Book Center Choice

Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on June 29, 2010 by HarperTeen
ISBN-10: 0061134082
ISBN-13: 9780061134081
7 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bugrsWednesday, September 20, 2017 at 1:32 pm
    good book
    • hilggmnou8Monday, December 19, 2016 at 10:41 amFeatured
      "Bruiser" is amazing, the novel contains mystery reveled towards the middle of the novel. Brewster the main character goes though challenges such as his abusive uncle. Brewster is not allowed to care for anyone but that all changes when Bronte and his brother"Tennyson" come into his life. Brewster has a secret that later on in the novel Bronte and Tennyson find out. Brewster's mother has past from the struggle of cancer.That leaves Brewster his brother"Cody" and his uncle in a small house. I suggest this book for anyone who is interested in mystery and drama.
      • goldeneagle
        goldeneagleThursday, November 28, 2013 at 11:12 am
        This is book is really suspensful. You can't put it down
        • imdabomb
          imdabombSaturday, February 2, 2013 at 6:11 pmFeatured
          I didn't really like this book, but anyways its about a boy named Brewster who takes injuries away from certain people he likes. When he starts dating Bronte, her twin: Tennyson isn't happy because he doesn't like "Bruiser" which is Brewster. But one day after school, Tennyson follows Brewster home and realizes he was wrong and instantly becomes friends with Brewster. His injuries from other people starts getting pretty serious and then something terrible happens. I'll have to say...it was a sorta confusing book for me.
          • ErinMonday, December 17, 2012 at 1:53 pm
            This book is filled with suspesion and drama. I wasn't able to put it down. It was an amazing book with a new turn of events each time you turn the page. It was dramatic and heartfelt. You felt like you really knew the characters.
            • samanthamaroon5
              samanthamaroon5Monday, December 3, 2012 at 1:50 pm
              IM IN LOVE WITH THIS BOOK! I loved it so much and I kept saying it over and over. My friends kept telling me to shut up. Hahaha It's an amazing book if you haven't read it you should!
              • lillybearboo
                lillybearbooTuesday, May 8, 2012 at 6:06 pm55 stars
                I am SOOOOOO LOVING IT! I'm serious! If you look up shusterman you'll find this book next to it. I LOVE YA NEAL! FOLLOW ME BY THE WAY! *cough cough*