Brisingr (Inheritance, Book 3) (The Inheritance Cycle)

Book 3 of 4 in the The Inheritance Cycle Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 6 - 10n/a7.8254629
Perfect for fans of Lord of the Rings, the New York Times bestselling Inheritance Cycle about the dragon rider Eragon has sold over 35 million copies and is an international fantasy sensation.


Oaths sworn . . . loyalties tested . . . forces collide.

Following the colossal battle against the Empire’s warriors on the Burning Plains, Eragon and his dragon, Saphira, have narrowly escaped with their lives. Still there is more at hand for the Rider and his dragon, as Eragon finds himself bound by a tangle of promises he may not be able to keep.

First is Eragon’s oath to his cousin Roran: to help rescue Roran’s beloved, Katrina, from King Galbatorix’s clutches. But Eragon owes his loyalty to others, too. The Varden are in desperate need of his talents and strength—as are the elves and dwarves. When unrest claims the rebels and danger strikes from every corner, Eragon must make choices— choices that take him across the Empire and beyond, choices that may lead to unimagined sacrifice.

Eragon is the greatest hope to rid the land of tyranny. Can this once-simple farm boy unite the rebel forces and defeat the king?
Hardcover, 763 pages
Published on September 20, 2008 by Alfred A. Knopf
ISBN-10: 0375826726
ISBN-13: 9780375826726
23 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • blossomreader
    blossomreaderMonday, June 29, 2020 at 2:24 pm55 stars
    This is the third installment of the Inheritance Cycle, and it was amazing. I recommend this book to ages 10 and up, due to violence. This book is a continuation of Eldest, and I won't spoil anything, so I won't say much. Eragon is one of the last remaining Dragon Riders, and it's up to him to stop Galbatorix. Will he do it?
    • ccswishingstar
      ccswishingstarThursday, June 25, 2020 at 3:59 pm55 stars
      In the third book of the Inheritance series, Eragon and Roran are on a quest to find Roran's beloved, Katrina, who had been taken hostage by the Ra'zac. At Helgrind, Eragon finds Sloan, the butcher of Carvahall who was also Katrina's father, in a cell with terrible injuries. Meanwhile, Nasuada competes against Fadawar in the Trial of the Long Knives for the leadership of the Varden, and wins. Later on, Eragon and Saphira leave for the Farthen Dur to attend the election of the new dwarf king, where the Az Sweldn rak Anhuin clan attemped to assainate Eragon. Eragon's dwarf friend Orik ends up being elected as king, and at the coronation, Saphira repairs the Isidar Mithrim. After the coronation, they head to Ellesmera to complete their training with Oromis and Glaedr, where Eragon finds out that his father was not Morzan, but Brom, making Murtagh his half-brother. Eragon, after begging the elven blacksmith Rhunon, recieves his special Rider's sword, which he names 'Brisingr', that bursts into flames whenever he says 'fire' in the ancient language. I really enjoyed this book and I reccomend it for anyone who has read Eragon and Eldest!
      • nac
        nacTuesday, May 12, 2020 at 2:10 pm55 stars
        After helping Roran rescue his beloved, Eragon and Saphira must part to ensure the alliance of the new dwarvish king, only to rejoin and travel to the elves glorious cities to consult with their teachers. The secrets Eragon and Saphira learn are bigger than they thought, and Eragon and Saphira are charged with the task of keeping something very important, and very secret, when tragedy strikes and Eragon and Saphira are more alone than they have ever been before. I could (and have) read this book over and over again. It captures my imagination and is a page turner until the very end.
        • aspenw
          aspenwWednesday, November 21, 2018 at 4:23 pm55 stars
          This was a great book and my favorite out of all 4. My only criteke is they shouldnt have killed oromis off!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
          • thatonebookworm
            thatonebookwormWednesday, February 14, 2018 at 7:05 pm55 stars
            loved it, read it a million times.
            • brain2145
              brain2145Monday, April 3, 2017 at 3:47 pm
              Warning to all: If you would like to spend the next week reading this series/book (depending on your reading pace) read it. If not, I suggest you read Harry Potter. An excellent book that grabs all of the things that should have happened and put it into this book, which makes this book utterly full of content. Ties up all the loose ends and adds a bit of sadness and regret in the end and if Christopher Paolini makes a sequel for this series I would totally read it due to the end of this book. A heart-wrenching, action-packed book with the tiniest touch of romance makes this book perfectly fulfilling (though not to much).
              • whakheadTuesday, December 13, 2016 at 9:25 am
                I accidentaly read inheritance before brisinger... may Zar'roc claim my life and the Void claim my soul
                • iifreeze
                  iifreezeMonday, November 7, 2016 at 6:51 pm55 stars
                  Book 3 of the loved series. Eragon is now on a brand new quest alongside the Varden, but he is still against Galbatorix....
                  • asparkWednesday, August 3, 2016 at 5:22 pm
                    My brother read this and when needed a book to read, my brother just shoved the entire series into my arms.😆😆. Brisingr was the best book out of the entire series in my opinion.
                    • saphlover249
                      saphlover249Tuesday, March 22, 2016 at 4:20 pm55 stars
                      great if you love harry potter and lord of the rings