All summer, Jess pushed himself to be the fastest boy in the fifth grade, and when the year's first school-yard race was run, he was going to win.But his victory was stolen by a newcomer, by a girl, one who didn't even know enough to stay on the girls' side of the playground. Then, unexpectedly, Jess finds himself sticking up for Leslie, for the girl who breaks rules and wins races. The friendship between the two grows as Jess guides the city girl through the pitfalls of life in their small, rural town, and Leslie draws him into the world of imaginations world of magic and ceremony called Terabithia. Here, Leslie and Jess rule supreme among the oaks and evergreens, safe from the bullies and ridicule of the mundane world. Safe until an unforeseen tragedy forces Jess to reign in Terabithia alone, and both worlds are forever changed.



In this poignant, beautifully rendered novel, Katherine Paterson weaves a powerful story of friendship and courage.

Kindle Edition, 208 pages
Published on October 6, 2009 by HarperCollins
9 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • stellaluna
    stellalunaSaturday, May 18, 2019 at 7:00 am55 stars
    SAD!
    • act334ham
      act334hamThursday, February 16, 2017 at 4:19 pm
      This book I read in afterschool was sad but very awesome book
      • bigkid
        bigkidThursday, February 19, 2015 at 4:43 pm55 stars
        This book is awesome but at the same time it is very very sad....
        • jellybean1
          jellybean1Tuesday, February 3, 2015 at 4:33 pm33 stars
          The end of this book is so sad but I don't understand why the parents blamed the girl she didn't do anything.
          • haylster
            haylsterTuesday, February 3, 2015 at 4:30 pm55 stars
            this is a really good book but also very sad
            • yis4g
              Mr. GoddardTuesday, February 3, 2015 at 4:26 pm
              A feast of a book to read. Every page has beautiful descriptions. It will break your heart so get ready with the tissues!
              • emoo601
                emoo601Thursday, March 13, 2014 at 9:22 am
                This is one of the SADDEST books ever! I won't reveal what happens in the end, but the summary pretty much covers it in general... But the ending has a super sad twist that makes me cry every time I think about it :'(
                • ikyra_marie
                  ikyra_marieWednesday, March 12, 2014 at 9:47 pm
                  Really heartbreakingly sad book
                  • vcort
                    vcortWednesday, June 5, 2013 at 2:03 pm
                    what i think about this book is that it is a great because when the big girl was brave to be racing with the boys i think that she thought to herself that everything you do is not always for one gender that it is for everybody to try