Jess Aarons' greatest ambition is to be the fastest runner in his grade. He's been practicing all summer and can't wait to see his classmates' faces when he beats them all. But on the first day of school, a new girl boldly crosses over to the boys' side and outruns everyone.

That's not a very promising beginning for a friendship, but Jess and Leslie Burke become inseparable. Together, they create Terabithia, a magical kingdom in the woods where the two of them reign as king and queen, and their imaginations set the only limits. Then one morning a terrible tragedy occurs. Only when Jess is able to come to grips with this tragedy does he finally understand the strength and courage Leslie has given him.

Performed by Robert Sean Leonard

Hardcover, 187 pages
Published on July 1, 2007 by Thorndike Press
ISBN-10: 0786296208
ISBN-13: 9780786296200
66 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • A. Nonny MousFriday, May 12, 2017 at 10:36 am
    You know it's a good book when it makes you cry.
    • MariahTuesday, April 25, 2017 at 8:52 am
      Have you ever created your own world, or thought about it, and the only way to get to it is by swinging on an enchanted rope??? If so, you should join Jess Aaron's and Leslie Burke, in a wild adventure that takes you backwards and forwards!! Jess Aaron's has trouble making friends, but when Leslie Burke came along they were friends instantly. If you want an adventure of a lifetime, read this book, and watch the movie!!
      • knobite
        knobiteWednesday, December 7, 2016 at 7:44 pm
        I read this book as a younger child and can still to this day remember being truly heart touched by this boom and captivated by emotion. Such a great story, can't wait to read it to my son now.
        • kittennews54321
          kittennews54321Sunday, December 4, 2016 at 7:10 pm55 stars
          Cause I loved the movie
          • Oh_My_GoshFriday, November 4, 2016 at 9:50 pm
            I love this book. SOOOOOOOOOOOOO Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
            • bestspiker18
              bestspiker18Saturday, September 17, 2016 at 9:37 pm55 stars
              I loved this book. It is a a harder reader because they use words like ain't,but it is pretty short. It is a very sad book, but a happy ending. There is a death a really sad one, and there are hard moments, but it's a great book. You'll cry.
              • live_love_leila
                live_love_leilaTuesday, April 26, 2016 at 4:19 pm44 stars
                so sad but SO GOOD
                • demosthenes
                  demosthenesSunday, April 3, 2016 at 7:10 pm55 stars
                  I LOVED THIS BOOK!!! So inspiring to be a writer!
                  • Anonymous Sunday, April 3, 2016 at 4:53 pm
                    This book is awesome! I cried at the unforeseen tragedy.
                    • hihi2468
                      hihi2468Sunday, March 6, 2016 at 6:10 pm
                      Bridge to Terabithia has an INCREDIBLE plot. I had to do a lot of book reports on it and I didn't mind the homework at all! Although it is a bit sad at the end, I hope you will enjoy this adventurous story!!! PEACE ! :)

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      kenmen
                      kenmen wrote:

                      I thought this book was amazing!...
                      Smile

                      inh8
                      inh8 wrote:

                      Best. Series. Ever.
                      The Maze Runner (Maze Runner, Bo...

                      inh8
                      inh8 wrote:

                      Ouch! hillarious!!!! great, in ...
                      Dog Days (Diary of a Wimpy Kid)