Jess Aarons' greatest ambition is to be the fastest runner in his grade. He's been practicing all summer and can't wait to see his classmates' faces when he beats them all. But on the first day of school, a new girl boldly crosses over to the boys' side and outruns everyone.

That's not a very promising beginning for a friendship, but Jess and Leslie Burke become inseparable. Together, they create Terabithia, a magical kingdom in the woods where the two of them reign as king and queen, and their imaginations set the only limits. Then one morning a terrible tragedy occurs. Only when Jess is able to come to grips with this tragedy does he finally understand the strength and courage Leslie has given him.

Performed by Robert Sean Leonard

Hardcover, 187 pages
Published on July 1, 2007 by Thorndike Press
ISBN-10: 0786296208
ISBN-13: 9780786296200
69 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • awesome5712
    awesome5712Thursday, November 9, 2017 at 1:56 pm55 stars
    this book made me cry so much read it .
    • ailovd
      ailovdTuesday, November 7, 2017 at 11:33 am55 stars
      I love this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! But it's kinda sad, because of a tragic event that happens inside the book. But I love the setting, plot, and characters. Leslie and Jess are amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! But then again the tragic event!
      • BitbatFriday, October 6, 2017 at 7:04 am
        Good book.
        • A. Nonny MousFriday, May 12, 2017 at 10:36 am
          You know it's a good book when it makes you cry.
          • MariahTuesday, April 25, 2017 at 8:52 am
            Have you ever created your own world, or thought about it, and the only way to get to it is by swinging on an enchanted rope??? If so, you should join Jess Aaron's and Leslie Burke, in a wild adventure that takes you backwards and forwards!! Jess Aaron's has trouble making friends, but when Leslie Burke came along they were friends instantly. If you want an adventure of a lifetime, read this book, and watch the movie!!
            • knobite
              knobiteWednesday, December 7, 2016 at 7:44 pm
              I read this book as a younger child and can still to this day remember being truly heart touched by this boom and captivated by emotion. Such a great story, can't wait to read it to my son now.
              • kittennews54321
                kittennews54321Sunday, December 4, 2016 at 7:10 pm55 stars
                Cause I loved the movie
                • Oh_My_GoshFriday, November 4, 2016 at 9:50 pm
                  I love this book. SOOOOOOOOOOOOO Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                  • bestspiker18
                    bestspiker18Saturday, September 17, 2016 at 9:37 pm55 stars
                    I loved this book. It is a a harder reader because they use words like ain't,but it is pretty short. It is a very sad book, but a happy ending. There is a death a really sad one, and there are hard moments, but it's a great book. You'll cry.
                    • live_love_leila
                      live_love_leilaTuesday, April 26, 2016 at 4:19 pm44 stars
                      so sad but SO GOOD

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      D.R wrote:

                      I think that Tales of a Fourth G...
                      Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing ...

                      LR wrote:

                      It was pretty interesting becaus...
                      Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing ...

                      J.B wrote:

                      The reason I say it was a excell...
                      Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing ...

                      c.k.w wrote:

                      This was just an OK book because...
                      Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing ...