Jess Aarons' greatest ambition is to be the fastest runner in his grade. He's been practicing all summer and can't wait to see his classmates' faces when he beats them all. But on the first day of school, a new girl boldly crosses over to the boys' side and outruns everyone.

That's not a very promising beginning for a friendship, but Jess and Leslie Burke become inseparable. Together, they create Terabithia, a magical kingdom in the woods where the two of them reign as king and queen, and their imaginations set the only limits. Then one morning a terrible tragedy occurs. Only when Jess is able to come to grips with this tragedy does he finally understand the strength and courage Leslie has given him.

Performed by Robert Sean Leonard

Hardcover, 187 pages
Published on July 1, 2007 by Thorndike Press
ISBN-10: 0786296208
ISBN-13: 9780786296200
71 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • demonheart
    demonheartSunday, January 21, 2018 at 7:41 am55 stars
    This book to me represents what you can imagine. It is a sad book and exciting book. At the end you want to cry. But you then want another book of it.
    • 123west
      123westSaturday, November 25, 2017 at 12:34 pm55 stars
      THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS Bridge to Terabithia is a Newbery award book that I read in 5th grade.It takes place in Larke Creek, a small town near Washington DC and it was in the post-Vietnam War or the 1970's. It is about a 10-year-old boy named Jesse Arrons. He wanted to be the fastest runner in 5th grade. A new girl comes sand her name is Leslie Burke. She beat all the boys in racing and was a girl. Jesse and Leslie become friends and create a magical kingdom named Terebithia. They would swing on a rope over a creek to get there. One morning after a rainstorm, Jess went somewhere so Leslie tries to go to Terebithia. But when she swings on the rope it snaps and she drowns. After this Jess goes through the stages of grief. He learns that you're not supposed to forget a loved one that you have lost but to remember and honor them. I learned about the stages of grief from this book too. I think that this book is a sad but still good book!
      • awesome5712
        awesome5712Thursday, November 9, 2017 at 1:56 pm55 stars
        this book made me cry so much read it .
        • alilovd
          alilovdTuesday, November 7, 2017 at 11:33 am55 stars
          I love this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! But it's kinda sad, because of a tragic event that happens inside the book. But I love the setting, plot, and characters. Leslie and Jess are amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! But then again the tragic event!
          • BitbatFriday, October 6, 2017 at 7:04 am
            Good book.
            • A. Nonny MousFriday, May 12, 2017 at 10:36 am
              You know it's a good book when it makes you cry.
              • MariahTuesday, April 25, 2017 at 8:52 am
                Have you ever created your own world, or thought about it, and the only way to get to it is by swinging on an enchanted rope??? If so, you should join Jess Aaron's and Leslie Burke, in a wild adventure that takes you backwards and forwards!! Jess Aaron's has trouble making friends, but when Leslie Burke came along they were friends instantly. If you want an adventure of a lifetime, read this book, and watch the movie!!
                • knobite
                  knobiteWednesday, December 7, 2016 at 7:44 pm
                  I read this book as a younger child and can still to this day remember being truly heart touched by this boom and captivated by emotion. Such a great story, can't wait to read it to my son now.
                  • kittennews54321
                    kittennews54321Sunday, December 4, 2016 at 7:10 pm55 stars
                    Cause I loved the movie
                    • Oh_My_GoshFriday, November 4, 2016 at 9:50 pm
                      I love this book. SOOOOOOOOOOOOO Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      fun fact wrote:

                      WONDER tells the incredibly insp...
                      Wonder

                      horse4us wrote:

                      I am reading it right now and i ...
                      Restart

                      horse4us wrote:

                      its so good and i read it in one...
                      Real Friends

                      gracekae
                      gracekae wrote:

                      I have all the Lemony Snicket bo...
                      The Miserable Mill (A Series of ...