Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grades 3 - 7T4.632888

Jess Aarons' greatest ambition is to be the fastest runner in his grade. He's been practicing all summer and can't wait to see his classmates' faces when he beats them all. But on the first day of school, a new girl boldly crosses over to the boys' side and outruns everyone.

That's not a very promising beginning for a friendship, but Jess and Leslie Burke become inseparable. Together, they create Terabithia, a magical kingdom in the woods where the two of them reign as king and queen, and their imaginations set the only limits. Then one morning a terrible tragedy occurs. Only when Jess is able to come to grips with this tragedy does he finally understand the strength and courage Leslie has given him.

Performed by Robert Sean Leonard

Hardcover, 187 pages
Published on July 1, 2007 by Thorndike Press
ISBN-10: 0786296208
ISBN-13: 9780786296200
83 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • riley_108
    riley_108Sunday, January 12, 2020 at 6:27 pm33 stars
    I gave this book a 3 star rating,because it was very interesting because Jesse and i have younger siblings and their behavior is the same they are bad and he wanted to accomplish something that the other kids couldn't beat him at. He wanted to be a fast kid in his class and then something happened.... read this book to find out more information.
    • gianna632
      gianna632Thursday, January 9, 2020 at 6:02 pm44 stars
      I gave this book a 4-star rating because it was inspirational yet heartbreaking. I connect to this book because Jesse and I both have a younger sibling, and they are very mischievous. Jesse wants to be the fastest runner in his grade. When he gets to school, a young girl (Leslie) outruns everyone. (Now this book takes place in the 70s-90s, and a girl being the best at something AND hanging out with a group of boys is very surprising.) Jesse and Leslie soon become friends and build a hangout place just for them, called Terabithia. They go there every day after school. Then one day, Leslie doesn't come back from Terabithia. Jesse has to learn from this and use what he has learned very wisely. What happened to Leslie? Will the friends be reunited? Read Bridge to Terabithia to find out!
      • pinkfluff
        pinkfluffThursday, December 5, 2019 at 6:00 pm55 stars
        Ultra sad alert 😢 😓
        • ilikebunnies
          ilikebunniesThursday, June 6, 2019 at 7:56 am
          this is about two friends that build a secret land called Terabithia. To get there you have to cross a rope and go over a river. One time when one of the friends was gone the other jumped and the rope snaped so she fell in the river and died.
          • Anika EmmertTuesday, April 9, 2019 at 3:30 pm
            the bridge to terabithia is a sad book and amazing.
            • angelrose1550
              angelrose1550Wednesday, February 20, 2019 at 1:53 pm55 stars
              It is amazing and the movie is too !
              • Not Nadia Thursday, January 31, 2019 at 10:09 pm
                Okay , I do no usually cry but I did after reading this . If you are very emotional I would not read it . But overall it had a good story to tell . I personally like the Little House books .
                • heavytoothpaste
                  heavytoothpasteThursday, January 31, 2019 at 9:48 pm55 stars
                  This book shows true friendship
                  • echofan360
                    echofan360Wednesday, December 12, 2018 at 6:25 pm22 stars
                    This book did not give us enough time to get emotionally attached with the main characters. It was also a bit outdated considering that it was published in the 1970s. The book also rushes through events a bit. I would recommend watching the movie after of before reading the book, since the author doesn’t use too descriptive writing in the particular book. Nonetheless, it is a a great book overall, it could just use some more modern tweaks and edits.
                    • KathrineMonday, November 12, 2018 at 10:48 am
                      This book is awesome my kids loved it just a few bad words