Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grades 3 - 7T4.632888

Jess Aarons' greatest ambition is to be the fastest runner in his grade. He's been practicing all summer and can't wait to see his classmates' faces when he beats them all. But on the first day of school, a new girl boldly crosses over to the boys' side and outruns everyone.

That's not a very promising beginning for a friendship, but Jess and Leslie Burke become inseparable. Together, they create Terabithia, a magical kingdom in the woods where the two of them reign as king and queen, and their imaginations set the only limits. Then one morning a terrible tragedy occurs. Only when Jess is able to come to grips with this tragedy does he finally understand the strength and courage Leslie has given him.

Performed by Robert Sean Leonard

Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on October 24, 2017 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0062658743
ISBN-13: 9780062658746
78 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • angelrose1550
    angelrose1550Wednesday, February 20, 2019 at 1:53 pm55 stars
    It is amazing and the movie is too !
    • Not Nadia Thursday, January 31, 2019 at 10:09 pm
      Okay , I do no usually cry but I did after reading this . If you are very emotional I would not read it . But overall it had a good story to tell . I personally like the Little House books .
      • heavytoothpaste
        heavytoothpasteThursday, January 31, 2019 at 9:48 pm55 stars
        This book shows true friendship
        • echofan360
          echofan360Wednesday, December 12, 2018 at 6:25 pm22 stars
          This book did not give us enough time to get emotionally attached with the main characters. It was also a bit outdated considering that it was published in the 1970s. The book also rushes through events a bit. I would recommend watching the movie after of before reading the book, since the author doesn’t use too descriptive writing in the particular book. Nonetheless, it is a a great book overall, it could just use some more modern tweaks and edits.
          • KathrineMonday, November 12, 2018 at 10:48 am
            This book is awesome my kids loved it just a few bad words
            • zubyfajemuvezi
              zubyfajemuveziThursday, May 31, 2018 at 7:53 am55 stars
              THIS BOOK IS REALLY GOOD. READ THE BOOK AND SEE IF YOU AGREE. IT KINDA SAD. :(
              • outerstellar
                outerstellarSaturday, May 12, 2018 at 7:46 pm
                This book is sooo imaginative that it kind of blows my mind that adults wrote this, am I right ?
                • demonheart
                  demonheartSunday, January 21, 2018 at 7:41 am55 stars
                  This book to me represents what you can imagine. It is a sad book and exciting book. At the end you want to cry. But you then want another book of it.
                  • 123west
                    123westSaturday, November 25, 2017 at 12:34 pm55 stars
                    THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS Bridge to Terabithia is a Newbery award book that I read in 5th grade.It takes place in Larke Creek, a small town near Washington DC and it was in the post-Vietnam War or the 1970's. It is about a 10-year-old boy named Jesse Arrons. He wanted to be the fastest runner in 5th grade. A new girl comes sand her name is Leslie Burke. She beat all the boys in racing and was a girl. Jesse and Leslie become friends and create a magical kingdom named Terebithia. They would swing on a rope over a creek to get there. One morning after a rainstorm, Jess went somewhere so Leslie tries to go to Terebithia. But when she swings on the rope it snaps and she drowns. After this Jess goes through the stages of grief. He learns that you're not supposed to forget a loved one that you have lost but to remember and honor them. I learned about the stages of grief from this book too. I think that this book is a sad but still good book!
                    • awesome5712
                      awesome5712Thursday, November 9, 2017 at 1:56 pm55 stars
                      this book made me cry so much read it .

                      Our Apps and Plugins