Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 7 - 12Grades 4 - 7R5.931140
In Hatchet, 13-year-old Brian Robeson learned to survive alone in the Canadian wilderness, armed only with his hatchet. He was rescued at the end of the summer. Brian's Winter begins where Hatchet might have ended: Brian is not rescued, but must build on his survival skills to face his deadliest enemy--a northern winter.
Paperback, 144 pages
Published on December 7, 2012 by HOUGHTON MIFFLIN
ISBN-10: 0547074026
ISBN-13: 9780547074023
16 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • booksrfun
    booksrfunFriday, January 8, 2021 at 11:12 am55 starsFeatured
    Lack of food, low supplies-will brian have what it takes to survive? I extremely recommend Brian's Winter, a book by Newbery author Gary Paulson. The book is a branch off of what might have happened if Brian was not rescued in the first book Hatchet. The book is mainly about how the harsh Canadian winter is coming and Brian is not prepared. He has to make new weapons, winterize camp, and physically prepare himself for the conditions. I would recommend this book to people who like suspense, realistic fiction, survival, etc. I would recommend this book to an age group of probably older elementary school through middle school but a great book that anyone can enjoy!
    • AnnetteMonday, November 23, 2020 at 2:37 pm
      I just finished chapter 3 and this book is great. I love that it has many survival skills. I had to read for school so at first I wasn't very interested, but once I read it I was "ooh! mk I like dis!" lol so uh yeah
      • book reviewerFriday, October 27, 2017 at 6:21 am
        I loved this book!!!!
        • meFriday, October 27, 2017 at 6:20 am
          i loved this book
          • javier_theboss
            javier_thebossMonday, March 14, 2016 at 9:40 am
            I love this book and i'm on chapter 3
            • ReadingFanaticTuesday, February 23, 2016 at 10:43 am
              I had to read this book for school, and I fell in love with it. It has some elements that I like; Good character development, a great lesson, a nice description, and nice action scenes. I give it a must read.
              • abarboza
                abarbozaMonday, December 8, 2014 at 7:24 am55 stars
                This book was really great book It is crazy how Brian survived for so long
                • crazyknuckle
                  crazyknuckleThursday, September 11, 2014 at 6:05 pm
                  This book is great is just pure genious made Gary Paulson. Another great master piece that makes you feel like your right there or you want to be in this situation yourself like me I mean its great, and remember: Don't mess with a MOOSE or you get the ANTLERS. A little hint that will tell whats going to happen in... "Brian's Winter".
                  • 300426scsd
                    300426scsdWednesday, May 21, 2014 at 7:42 am
                    I read this book in 5th grade, and now I'm reading it again in 6th. It's so nice to know what would've happened to Brian if he left the radio transmitter off!
                    • 301016scsd
                      301016scsdThursday, May 15, 2014 at 10:27 am55 stars
                      it was such a good book