Jamal loves playing football, which isn't easy if your goalie only has one leg and you keep having to dodge landmines to get your ball back. Jamal's stubborn little sister Bibi is even better at football than Jamal. But girls playing football is against the law in Afganistan. When it is discovered that Jamal's mother has been secretly running a school, the family must leave their home immediately and begin a long and dangerous journey to Australia. The children survive separation from their parents, hunger, and violent smugglers only to find that Australia isn't as welcoming as they had thought but, even though they face an uncertain future, Jamal, Bibi and their parents know that as long as they are together, that is all that matters.
Paperback, 64 pages
Published on August 1, 2007 by Currency Pr
ISBN-10: 0868198072
ISBN-13: 9780868198071
10 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • mariaSaturday, September 15, 2018 at 8:02 pm
    I am in year 9 and doing an assignment about boy overboard. I personally think that its boring but as already said It will be interesting to kids who like soccer & football
    • mia'Monday, September 10, 2018 at 2:12 am
      it is awesome the book
      • bobSunday, September 9, 2018 at 7:53 pm
        This book is so good they dont end up getting to Australia
        • Unicorns rockThursday, August 23, 2018 at 1:24 am
          I am reading this book so far and I think it's awesome
          • CHARLIEMonday, August 20, 2018 at 5:15 am
            this is the most amazing book i have ever read i am reading it in school but sometimes it can get super sad
            • UnknownSunday, July 29, 2018 at 12:50 am
              I have to read this book in school and I’m only on chapter 3 and it’s a little boring I think it’s just because I don’t like soccor/football but if u do this book will be good for you.
              • UnknownThursday, June 7, 2018 at 5:34 pm
                it is very educational and engaging!!!!
                • Jessica plotkinFriday, June 1, 2018 at 8:02 pm
                  It is an awesome amazing book 📖 and ther is a cliffhanger every chapter I loved this book 📚
                  • jelanaFriday, November 3, 2017 at 10:51 am
                    when i read this booked suddenly got into it its such an intresting book to read espescially for nine year olds
                    • candyman5
                      candyman5Wednesday, June 8, 2016 at 11:18 pm55 stars
                      With every turn of the page this book increasingly gets better, its about a refugee boy escaping his country and all the heartache and struggles he faces.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      deweyduck
                      deweyduck wrote:

                      amazing story, amazing humor, am...
                      The Secret of the Fortune Wookie...

                      deweyduck
                      deweyduck wrote:

                      Great book, Great humor, Great f...
                      Blubber

                      24tfontana
                      24tfontana wrote:

                      I recommend reading this book be...
                      Catching Fire (The Hunger Games)

                      ash21
                      ash21 wrote:

                      Really good book I was hooked by...
                      Drama

                      Our Apps and Plugins