Jamal loves playing football, which isn't easy if your goalie only has one leg and you keep having to dodge landmines to get your ball back. Jamal's stubborn little sister Bibi is even better at football than Jamal. But girls playing football is against the law in Afganistan. When it is discovered that Jamal's mother has been secretly running a school, the family must leave their home immediately and begin a long and dangerous journey to Australia. The children survive separation from their parents, hunger, and violent smugglers only to find that Australia isn't as welcoming as they had thought but, even though they face an uncertain future, Jamal, Bibi and their parents know that as long as they are together, that is all that matters.
Paperback, 64 pages
Published on August 1, 2007 by Currency Pr
ISBN-10: 0868198072
ISBN-13: 9780868198071
15 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • JackThursday, June 13, 2019 at 12:33 am
    As being some who has read this is 8th grade i quite enjoyed the book although im not to big of a fan of football or soccer. this book intrigues you and the characters have a different challenge and a new set of emotions every chapter. this is what kept me intrigued in the book.
    • I don't knowSaturday, June 1, 2019 at 8:38 pm
      I thought Boy Overboard was a really great book. For people out there who are wanting to read the book and aren't really into soccer its fine because the people who are saying "if you don't like soccer then you're not going to like Boy Overboard", they obviously don't really understand what whole book is about. So don't let other people's reviews stop you from reading a really good book.
      • anynomousThursday, March 28, 2019 at 7:48 pm
        this book am good Is recomendes to lotes ofe peoples
        • Mysterious???Saturday, March 2, 2019 at 4:15 pm
          The start of this book is pretty boring and if you don't like soccer/football it can be a hard read. I like how Morris Gleitzman has used a range of emotions to get you hooked on every page. I remember my teacher reading this book when I was in Grade 5 and now in grade 8 I'm going back to it and speaking about it for an English Assessment.
          • steveWednesday, October 31, 2018 at 12:56 am
            the book was great and enjoyed it a lot! It was intense, emotional and adventurous. I recommend people to read this book.
            • mariaSaturday, September 15, 2018 at 8:02 pm
              I am in year 9 and doing an assignment about boy overboard. I personally think that its boring but as already said It will be interesting to kids who like soccer & football
              • mia'Monday, September 10, 2018 at 2:12 am
                it is awesome the book
                • bobSunday, September 9, 2018 at 7:53 pm
                  This book is so good they dont end up getting to Australia
                  • Unicorns rockThursday, August 23, 2018 at 1:24 am
                    I am reading this book so far and I think it's awesome
                    • CHARLIEMonday, August 20, 2018 at 5:15 am
                      this is the most amazing book i have ever read i am reading it in school but sometimes it can get super sad