Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 6 - 12n/a5.846778
The story of The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas is very difficult to describe. Usually we give some clues about the book on the cover, but in this case we think that would spoil the reading of the book. We think it is important that you start to read without knowing what it is about. If you do start to read this book, you will go on a journey with a nine-year-old boy called Bruno. Though this isn't a book for nine-year-olds. And sooner or later you will arrive with Bruno at a fence. We hope you never have to cross such a fence.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on January 5, 2006 by David Fickling Books
ISBN-10: 038560940X
ISBN-13: 9780385609401
63 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • sgoiscool
    sgoiscoolSunday, June 2, 2019 at 5:23 pm55 stars
    The Boy In The Striped Pyjamas is hated by some people for some reason. Why do they hate it? because they think it is bad writing! I love how it's the viewpoint of a child living in the day of Hitler's rule.
    • watercolrwonder
      watercolrwonderThursday, May 23, 2019 at 7:49 am44 stars
      This is a sad book. It is based in WWII, but I have to warn you, it doesn't have a happy ending. Still, it was good, and realistic, because a lot of times, those people's stories didn't have a happy ending. It is a pretty short read and I would recommend it if you're into that time period.
      • potterhead838
        potterhead838Tuesday, April 2, 2019 at 11:05 am55 stars
        I read this book in class. I cried but i give this book 100 stars out of 5 though it is very sad.
        • studentsoaring
          studentsoaringTuesday, April 2, 2019 at 9:59 am55 stars
          My grade loves this book and we totally recommend the book and the movie!! :)
          • Anonymous Monday, February 25, 2019 at 9:36 am
            The book has a light tone from the family element but has a darker undertone that makes the book seem like it has little to offer
            • Jhonnytest012Friday, February 15, 2019 at 12:50 pm
              It's was pretty sad time to time and it's kinda hard to read about something you know about through 9 year-old eyes.
              • tapipodokigohy
                tapipodokigohyTuesday, November 20, 2018 at 11:28 am33 stars
                I really haven't been given the chance to get into this. But I have heard many good things about it and can't wait to get farther into it! I watched the movie and it's really heavy.
                • ReviewMonday, November 12, 2018 at 5:18 pm
                  2 boys, Schmuel and Bruno, are on opposite sides of the fence. Bruno wears an armband that is red and white, with a symbol on it. Schmuel wore an armband with a star on it. They meet, and Bruno crosses the fence. Then the last thing they saw was darkness, and the last thing they felt was suffocation.
                  • Gorgeously DarkMonday, November 12, 2018 at 5:11 pm
                    I read this book, and I absolutely loved it. John Boyne had a great effort in making the reader feel empathy for Schmal (Is that how you spell it?) and Bruno was so clueless and naive which just made me sad for him. (HUGE SPOILERS AHEAD) When Bruno and Schmal both died in the gas chamber, I was so tempted to tear the book to shreds. I was so mad that I tossed the book down onto my mattress. But that’s exactly what John Boyne wanted. That’s how moving it is.
                    • bookworm15Monday, July 16, 2018 at 5:06 am
                      I enjoyed this book. It was very sad but it taught me a lot