Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 6 - 12n/a5.846778
The story of The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas is very difficult to describe. Usually we give some clues about the book on the cover, but in this case we think that would spoil the reading of the book. We think it is important that you start to read without knowing what it is about. If you do start to read this book, you will go on a journey with a nine-year-old boy called Bruno. Though this isn't a book for nine-year-olds. And sooner or later you will arrive with Bruno at a fence. We hope you never have to cross such a fence.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on January 5, 2006 by David Fickling Books
ISBN-10: 038560940X
ISBN-13: 9780385609401
66 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • MachopTuesday, January 7, 2020 at 9:22 am
    gosh 5 stars you get this book. His boy goes to the side and no one can tell him. One day, he visit a person with striped pyjamas. Someone's knew the sound of the sheep be a or the cow moo?! Christ of Lord loves to be a tuck everlasting for few minutes. One day, the boy and a person came the Christ sheep's born. Enjoy this book now!
    • addyl97
      addyl97Sunday, January 5, 2020 at 4:00 pm55 starsFeatured
      This book is set in World War ll and is about a young German boy by the name of Bruno. Bruno is forced to leave his home in Berlin for reasons no one will tell him. Bruno is very mad and upset about living somewhere completely different. He decides that he will try to make the best out of this situation. He comes across a boy on the other side of the fence whos name is Shmuel. Bruno doesn't exactly know why Shmuel is on a different side and why he can't come to Bruno's side. John Boyne does an amazing job capturing and displaying the emotions throughout the book. I give this book 5 stars because of the amazing and captivating writing.
      • mg_master_mg
        mg_master_mgThursday, December 19, 2019 at 9:39 am44 stars
        I just started it and Chapters 1-2 are very good and I can't wait to finish the book.
        • sgoiscool
          sgoiscoolSunday, June 2, 2019 at 5:23 pm55 stars
          The Boy In The Striped Pyjamas is hated by some people for some reason. Why do they hate it? because they think it is bad writing! I love how it's the viewpoint of a child living in the day of Hitler's rule.
          • watercolrwonder
            watercolrwonderThursday, May 23, 2019 at 7:49 am44 stars
            This is a sad book. It is based in WWII, but I have to warn you, it doesn't have a happy ending. Still, it was good, and realistic, because a lot of times, those people's stories didn't have a happy ending. It is a pretty short read and I would recommend it if you're into that time period.
            • potterhead838
              potterhead838Tuesday, April 2, 2019 at 11:05 am55 stars
              I read this book in class. I cried but i give this book 100 stars out of 5 though it is very sad.
              • studentsoaring
                studentsoaringTuesday, April 2, 2019 at 9:59 am55 stars
                My grade loves this book and we totally recommend the book and the movie!! :)
                • Anonymous Monday, February 25, 2019 at 9:36 am
                  The book has a light tone from the family element but has a darker undertone that makes the book seem like it has little to offer
                  • Jhonnytest012Friday, February 15, 2019 at 12:50 pm
                    It's was pretty sad time to time and it's kinda hard to read about something you know about through 9 year-old eyes.
                    • tapipodokigohy
                      tapipodokigohyTuesday, November 20, 2018 at 11:28 am33 stars
                      I really haven't been given the chance to get into this. But I have heard many good things about it and can't wait to get farther into it! I watched the movie and it's really heavy.