Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 6Grades 3 - 6S5.334792
The Clock family--Pod, Homily, and Arrietty--live beneath the floor of a country house in a home furnished with objects they have borrowed from the humans who live above them.
Hardcover
Published on November 1, 1997 by Puffin Books
ISBN-10: 014901709X
ISBN-13: 9780149017091
11 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Shannon HollickMonday, September 16, 2019 at 4:37 am
    I think this book was really interesting. It had lots of challenging words though!
    • sports_star
      sports_starMonday, September 2, 2019 at 3:01 pm44 stars
      This book is about little people who live under the floorboards. They call themselves "borrowers" because they take things from the house above to use in their house. The family of borrowers this book is about is the last one in the whole house. One day, when Arriety ventures out into the big house alone, she gets caught. The rest of the book is about the adventures she and her families have. I had to read this book for school, and I was surprised by how good it was.
      • reader2009
        reader2009Sunday, September 1, 2019 at 5:10 pm44 stars
        This is a great book to read when you are bored. It is very captivating and over all it is an enjoyable read.
        • teddybear7
          teddybear7Monday, September 26, 2016 at 7:19 pm
          I would love to get a chance to share about this book. The movie was funny and outstanding with jokes for all audiences. The author I am unfamiliar with, but I have heard good things.
          • summerlover
            summerloverThursday, June 16, 2016 at 12:32 pm55 stars
            I love this book so much! Definitely one of the best books I have evr read!
            • cheekymonkey
              cheekymonkeySaturday, June 4, 2016 at 4:52 pm44 stars
              I really liked the The Borrowers because it was very interesting and filled with imagination.
              • 14bigbenny
                14bigbennyWednesday, October 24, 2012 at 6:01 am
                I thought this book was ok
                • 20avamenta
                  20avamentaTuesday, October 23, 2012 at 1:05 pm
                  This book is about the little people who live under the floor boards of a house. They "borrow" the things they need to survive such as buttons, needles, sugar cubes, and matchboxes. While the daughter, Arrietty, becomes friends with the human boy who lives in the house and she knows she's not supposed to... Read the book to find out what happens next!
                  • cat loverThursday, October 11, 2012 at 1:45 pm
                    im reading this for reading olympics.thought it was lame. finished it.then......sorry it was awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!
                    • 20tkustwan
                      20tkustwanMonday, October 1, 2012 at 1:02 pm
                      This book is really good! It's really good if you like fantasy and fairies.