"Terrifyingly fun! Delivers big thrills and even bigger laughs."--Jeff Kinney, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller Diary of a Wimpy Kid

Diary of a Wimpy Kid meets The Walking Dead in this very funny post-apocalyptic graphic novel for middle-grade readers.


Ever since the monster apocalypse hit town, average thirteen year old Jack Sullivan has been living in his tree house, which he's armed to the teeth with catapults and a moat, not to mention video games and an endless supply of Oreos and Mountain Dew scavenged from abandoned stores. But Jack alone is no match for the hordes of Zombies and Winged Wretches and Vine Thingies, and especially not for the eerily intelligent monster known only as Blarg. So Jack builds a team: his dorky best friend, Quint; the reformed middle school bully, Dirk; Jack's loyal pet monster, Rover; and Jack's crush, June. With their help, Jack is going to slay Blarg, achieve the ultimate Feat of Apocalyptic Success, and be average no longer! Can he do it?

Told in a mixture of text and black-and-white illustration, this is the perfect book for any kid who's ever dreamed of starring in his or her own comic book or video game. And then grab the sequel, The Last Kids on Earth and the Zombie Parade, now a New York Times bestseller!

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on October 13, 2015 by Viking Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0670016616
ISBN-13: 9780670016617
98 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • Beast Mode 100Wednesday, December 6, 2017 at 9:33 am
    Awesome book Jack is a monster slayer
    • BanditevanFriday, October 13, 2017 at 7:45 pm
      My rate is 5 stars. I have the full series. They are really fun. I am also making a trailer of the first book. I am doing great. love this book!!!
      • annette
        annetteMonday, September 4, 2017 at 1:34 pm33 stars
        This graphic novel is crazy and hilarious. The story line is very, very interesting and captivating. I like the idea of having a funny end of world novel but the story line could have been elaborated with more action and twists in the plot.
        • beast2323
          beast2323Friday, August 25, 2017 at 2:57 pm55 stars
          This book is action-packed! It is about kids who are among the last people in Earth and have to fight zombies and other monsters. I like how it is part of a series. I would definitely read the second book!!
          • 30057
            30057Friday, August 25, 2017 at 8:21 am44 stars
            This book is about kids that fight these monsters that are trying to take over the world. I rated this book 4 stars because I liked it. It's like one of those funny books that you want to keep reading over and over again. There are zombies and huge creatures that want to eat them. It is such a hilarious story that i would recommend people to read it.
            • howlergirl
              howlergirlMonday, August 21, 2017 at 5:37 pm55 stars
              I had already wrote a review but I forgot to save it..... so I'm re-writing it. This book was really interesting and I loved it! Basically it's about these 4 kids that that are the last kids on Earth (and a pet monster named Rover) fighting a monster / zombie apocalypse. Jack, the hero and 13 year old boy makes a group including a middle school bully and a science know it all friend. This group is on a quest to slay a monster named the Blarg and to rescue Jack's crush, June, the "damsel in distress". As I said in the beginning this was a very interesting book and in some parts it even made me laugh! I would definitely recommend this book.
              • ThuFriday, July 21, 2017 at 4:41 pm
                I love to read nat geo
                • luna83281
                  luna83281Monday, July 17, 2017 at 8:48 pm44 stars
                  i have a copy of the book.i brought it at my school's book fair.it was okay, definitely funny but i sorta feel a little let down.i felt the story could have been a little longer,elaborate.have a little more detail,you know? .other then that its a good book and i recommend it.if you are a zombie fan and what a little laughter,this book is for you!
                  • thekid1
                    thekid1Friday, July 14, 2017 at 10:47 am
                    This book is about a zombies taking over the world. The main character Jack lives in a tree house and builds up an army with a bunch of kids from around the nieghbor hood to defeat the zombies. I loved it and I think there are more coming in this series!
                    • rainkit309
                      rainkit309Sunday, July 9, 2017 at 4:59 pm55 stars
                      I love how this book is a mixture of a graphic novel and normal chapter book. This has a great plot that made me want to keep reading and this book has never been on my read list. I'm really glad I picked it up.
                      Recent Members
                      READ IT - LOVE IT - REVIEW IT
                       
                      Join Penguin Rookie Reviewers and get the best books and authors before anyone else. 
                      Read, review and share with your friends.

                      GET IN THE GAME!
                       
                       
                      This Month’s Pick