"Terrifyingly fun! Delivers big thrills and even bigger laughs."--Jeff Kinney, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller Diary of a Wimpy Kid

Diary of a Wimpy Kid meets The Walking Dead in this very funny post-apocalyptic graphic novel for middle-grade readers.


Ever since the monster apocalypse hit town, average thirteen year old Jack Sullivan has been living in his tree house, which he's armed to the teeth with catapults and a moat, not to mention video games and an endless supply of Oreos and Mountain Dew scavenged from abandoned stores. But Jack alone is no match for the hordes of Zombies and Winged Wretches and Vine Thingies, and especially not for the eerily intelligent monster known only as Blarg. So Jack builds a team: his dorky best friend, Quint; the reformed middle school bully, Dirk; Jack's loyal pet monster, Rover; and Jack's crush, June. With their help, Jack is going to slay Blarg, achieve the ultimate Feat of Apocalyptic Success, and be average no longer! Can he do it?

Told in a mixture of text and black-and-white illustration, this is the perfect book for any kid who's ever dreamed of starring in his or her own comic book or video game. And then grab the sequel, The Last Kids on Earth and the Zombie Parade, now a New York Times bestseller!

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on October 13, 2015 by Viking Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0670016616
ISBN-13: 9780670016617
101 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • shazabi
    shazabiMonday, February 12, 2018 at 7:14 am55 stars
    If you like the zombie apocalypse and adventure you should try reading " The Last Kids On Earth " book ,so far Max Brallier the author of this book has released 3 books from the same series which talk about an orphan kid called called Jack Sulliavan that has been "the worlds punching bag " for a while that was lately adopted by unloving family that used him and when the zombie apocalypse happened they left him all alone so he lived in his scummy not real brother tree house trying to survive the zombies and monsters especially the " Blarg " and has seat a goal for him self to save his crush June Delarosa and slowly he finds other kids and he makes friends . This book was very interesting and has attracted readers in all ages that love adventure even Jeff Kinney the author of the best seller book in New York " Diary of the Wimpy Kid " had a positive comment after reading this book . In my opinion this book was the best book I have ever read and believe me I have read a lot of books and if I would rate this book out of a five it would be 5/5 because it was full of adventure and thrills As Jeff Kinney also stated and it is so funny the best part for me is when he slayed the nasty dirty old monster the "Blarg " with his baseball bat that he added a little adjustments to with his friend and also one of the reasons that made me full in love with this book was how it made my imagination work I kept thinking of if I was put in zombie apocalypse and I started drawing my own tree house and defenses .
    • ms marshWednesday, January 24, 2018 at 10:57 am
      eh i read the two books its AWESOME
      • lutupilykemele
        lutupilykemeleMonday, December 18, 2017 at 12:08 pm
        The lesson is that things don’t always go according to plan.Jack is doing good surviving until a gargantuan beast named Blarg comes along.Also, to solve his problems he has to find other kids and survivers.In addition, Jack has an armored tree fort with a moat, two catapults, and a mountain dew maker.His post apocalyptic ride is a van with arrow launchers, butter slicks, and bottle rocket launchers.With these tools he sets out to find Blarg.Finally, Jack stays a night in Parker Middle School.Instead of them finding Blarg, Blarg finds them. I would rate this book “ten out of ten.” I would rate the illustrations “ten out of ten.” I would reccomend this book because it is long and hilarious. One unanswered question is,”why do people think the west is safer?”
        • Beast Mode 100Wednesday, December 6, 2017 at 9:33 am
          Awesome book Jack is a monster slayer
          • BanditevanFriday, October 13, 2017 at 7:45 pm
            My rate is 5 stars. I have the full series. They are really fun. I am also making a trailer of the first book. I am doing great. love this book!!!
            • annette
              annetteMonday, September 4, 2017 at 1:34 pm33 stars
              This graphic novel is crazy and hilarious. The story line is very, very interesting and captivating. I like the idea of having a funny end of world novel but the story line could have been elaborated with more action and twists in the plot.
              • beast2323
                beast2323Friday, August 25, 2017 at 2:57 pm55 stars
                This book is action-packed! It is about kids who are among the last people in Earth and have to fight zombies and other monsters. I like how it is part of a series. I would definitely read the second book!!
                • 30057
                  30057Friday, August 25, 2017 at 8:21 am44 stars
                  This book is about kids that fight these monsters that are trying to take over the world. I rated this book 4 stars because I liked it. It's like one of those funny books that you want to keep reading over and over again. There are zombies and huge creatures that want to eat them. It is such a hilarious story that i would recommend people to read it.
                  • howlergirl
                    howlergirlMonday, August 21, 2017 at 5:37 pm55 stars
                    I had already wrote a review but I forgot to save it..... so I'm re-writing it. This book was really interesting and I loved it! Basically it's about these 4 kids that that are the last kids on Earth (and a pet monster named Rover) fighting a monster / zombie apocalypse. Jack, the hero and 13 year old boy makes a group including a middle school bully and a science know it all friend. This group is on a quest to slay a monster named the Blarg and to rescue Jack's crush, June, the "damsel in distress". As I said in the beginning this was a very interesting book and in some parts it even made me laugh! I would definitely recommend this book.
                    • ThuFriday, July 21, 2017 at 4:41 pm
                      I love to read nat geo
                      Recent Members
                      READ IT - LOVE IT - REVIEW IT
                       
                      Join Penguin Rookie Reviewers and get the best books and authors before anyone else. 
                      Read, review and share with your friends.

                      GET IN THE GAME!
                       
                       
                      This Month’s Pick