Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.121916

"Terrifyingly fun! Delivers big thrills and even bigger laughs."--Jeff Kinney, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller Diary of a Wimpy Kid

Diary of a Wimpy Kid meets The Walking Dead in this very funny post-apocalyptic graphic novel for middle-grade readers.


Ever since the monster apocalypse hit town, average thirteen year old Jack Sullivan has been living in his tree house, which he's armed to the teeth with catapults and a moat, not to mention video games and an endless supply of Oreos and Mountain Dew scavenged from abandoned stores. But Jack alone is no match for the hordes of Zombies and Winged Wretches and Vine Thingies, and especially not for the eerily intelligent monster known only as Blarg. So Jack builds a team: his dorky best friend, Quint; the reformed middle school bully, Dirk; Jack's loyal pet monster, Rover; and Jack's crush, June. With their help, Jack is going to slay Blarg, achieve the ultimate Feat of Apocalyptic Success, and be average no longer! Can he do it?

Told in a mixture of text and black-and-white illustration, this is the perfect book for any kid who's ever dreamed of starring in his or her own comic book or video game. And then grab the sequel, The Last Kids on Earth and the Zombie Parade, now a New York Times bestseller!

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on October 13, 2015 by Viking Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0670016616
ISBN-13: 9780670016617
107 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • LKOE76Wednesday, May 16, 2018 at 6:03 pm
    this book is awesome the fourth book has come out im thrilled to read it
    • lovekitty
      lovekittyMonday, April 30, 2018 at 8:04 pm55 stars
      U guys this book is amazing if you are in to juicy stuff than get all three. Make sure to read it twice then get the other books yo are gonna love this
      • xavierThursday, March 15, 2018 at 7:38 am
        the book was awesome and once you read one you get hooked
        • Si-Fi_FanFriday, March 2, 2018 at 6:39 pm
          OK, I read this book a while ago like in December. And when I was done with the first one, I immediately came to my computer and searched up the second and I recently finished that one. So I came to the computer today and searched up "The last kids on earth book 3" and when I saw The Last Kids on Earth and The Nightmare King. I SCREAMED, my mom walked in and asked "What happened?!" then I said "THERE'S A THIRD LAST KIDS ON EARTH!!! A THIRD!!"
          • mooncat
            mooncatWednesday, February 28, 2018 at 1:28 pm55 stars
            I hope that I can read it because i heard that it was funny and wonderful! i also hope that i can find it in the library. Have a nice day!
            • shinnymaster
              shinnymasterWednesday, February 28, 2018 at 11:00 am
              Its a good book i read it its great im in 4th grade
              • shazabi
                shazabiMonday, February 12, 2018 at 7:14 am55 stars
                If you like the zombie apocalypse and adventure you should try reading " The Last Kids On Earth " book ,so far Max Brallier the author of this book has released 3 books from the same series which talk about an orphan kid called called Jack Sulliavan that has been "the worlds punching bag " for a while that was lately adopted by unloving family that used him and when the zombie apocalypse happened they left him all alone so he lived in his scummy not real brother tree house trying to survive the zombies and monsters especially the " Blarg " and has seat a goal for him self to save his crush June Delarosa and slowly he finds other kids and he makes friends . This book was very interesting and has attracted readers in all ages that love adventure even Jeff Kinney the author of the best seller book in New York " Diary of the Wimpy Kid " had a positive comment after reading this book . In my opinion this book was the best book I have ever read and believe me I have read a lot of books and if I would rate this book out of a five it would be 5/5 because it was full of adventure and thrills As Jeff Kinney also stated and it is so funny the best part for me is when he slayed the nasty dirty old monster the "Blarg " with his baseball bat that he added a little adjustments to with his friend and also one of the reasons that made me full in love with this book was how it made my imagination work I kept thinking of if I was put in zombie apocalypse and I started drawing my own tree house and defenses .
                • ms marshWednesday, January 24, 2018 at 10:57 am
                  eh i read the two books its AWESOME
                  • lutupilykemele
                    lutupilykemeleMonday, December 18, 2017 at 12:08 pm
                    The lesson is that things don’t always go according to plan.Jack is doing good surviving until a gargantuan beast named Blarg comes along.Also, to solve his problems he has to find other kids and survivers.In addition, Jack has an armored tree fort with a moat, two catapults, and a mountain dew maker.His post apocalyptic ride is a van with arrow launchers, butter slicks, and bottle rocket launchers.With these tools he sets out to find Blarg.Finally, Jack stays a night in Parker Middle School.Instead of them finding Blarg, Blarg finds them. I would rate this book “ten out of ten.” I would rate the illustrations “ten out of ten.” I would reccomend this book because it is long and hilarious. One unanswered question is,”why do people think the west is safer?”
                    • Beast Mode 100Wednesday, December 6, 2017 at 9:33 am
                      Awesome book Jack is a monster slayer
                      Recent Members
                      READ IT - LOVE IT - REVIEW IT
                       
                      Join Penguin Rookie Reviewers and get the best books and authors before anyone else. 
                      Read, review and share with your friends.

                      GET IN THE GAME!
                       
                       
                      This Month’s Pick