"Terrifyingly fun! Delivers big thrills and even bigger laughs."--Jeff Kinney, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller Diary of a Wimpy Kid

Diary of a Wimpy Kid meets The Walking Dead in this very funny post-apocalyptic graphic novel for middle-grade readers.


Ever since the monster apocalypse hit town, average thirteen year old Jack Sullivan has been living in his tree house, which he's armed to the teeth with catapults and a moat, not to mention video games and an endless supply of Oreos and Mountain Dew scavenged from abandoned stores. But Jack alone is no match for the hordes of Zombies and Winged Wretches and Vine Thingies, and especially not for the eerily intelligent monster known only as Blarg. So Jack builds a team: his dorky best friend, Quint; the reformed middle school bully, Dirk; Jack's loyal pet monster, Rover; and Jack's crush, June. With their help, Jack is going to slay Blarg, achieve the ultimate Feat of Apocalyptic Success, and be average no longer! Can he do it?

Told in a mixture of text and black-and-white illustration, this is the perfect book for any kid who's ever dreamed of starring in his or her own comic book or video game. And then grab the sequel, The Last Kids on Earth and the Zombie Parade, now a New York Times bestseller!

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on October 13, 2015 by Viking Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0670016616
ISBN-13: 9780670016617
93 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • din10
    din10Friday, July 28, 2017 at 1:32 pm11 star
    Terrifyingly fun! Delivers big thrills and even bigger laughs."--Jeff Kinney, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller Diary of a Wimpy its like he meets the walking dead thanks for read this review
    • ThuFriday, July 21, 2017 at 4:41 pm
      I love to read nat geo
      • luna83281
        luna83281Monday, July 17, 2017 at 8:48 pm44 stars
        i have a copy of the book.i brought it at my school's book fair.it was okay, definitely funny but i sorta feel a little let down.i felt the story could have been a little longer,elaborate.have a little more detail,you know? .other then that its a good book and i recommend it.if you are a zombie fan and what a little laughter,this book is for you!
        • thekid1
          thekid1Friday, July 14, 2017 at 10:47 am
          This book is about a zombies taking over the world. The main character Jack lives in a tree house and builds up an army with a bunch of kids from around the nieghbor hood to defeat the zombies. I loved it and I think there are more coming in this series!
          • rainkit309
            rainkit309Sunday, July 9, 2017 at 4:59 pm55 stars
            I love how this book is a mixture of a graphic novel and normal chapter book. This has a great plot that made me want to keep reading and this book has never been on my read list. I'm really glad I picked it up.
            • pizzagirl7
              pizzagirl7Tuesday, July 4, 2017 at 4:00 pm55 stars
              Blarg a monster was attacking town (with zombies) jack was trying to survive with a broken base ball bat! I highly recommend this book!5/5🌟 🎊 🎁 🐱 💩 😏 😂 😘 💜 😍 😝 😃 😄 🎆 😁 🎈 😝😝😝😝 sorry if this is not a good review....
              • jo13
                jo13Monday, June 19, 2017 at 11:14 am55 stars
                Its a awesome book for kids of all ages! The cartoons in it are really good and its a well made and interesting book for video gamers!
                • unicorn992
                  unicorn992Monday, June 12, 2017 at 8:09 pm55 stars
                  This book is about a world taken over by monsters. Zombies and many others. There is only one kid left.... THE LAST KID ON EARTH!!!!!!! or so he thinks. It is a really good book and I recommend it to anyone who likes books.
                  • deimos
                    deimosMonday, June 5, 2017 at 11:37 am
                    real good book
                    • strawberry1234
                      strawberry1234Sunday, June 4, 2017 at 11:54 am44 stars
                      This is a amazing book. It is so crazy and fun at the same time its like I imagined the book to be. Hope you read this book
                      Members (620)
                      READ IT - LOVE IT - REVIEW IT
                       
                      Join Penguin Rookie Reviewers and get the best books and authors before anyone else. 
                      Read, review and share with your friends.

                      GET IN THE GAME!
                       
                       
                      This Month’s Pick