“A book for anyone mending from childhood wounds.”—Sandra Cisneros, author of The House on Mango Street

In this unforgettable multicultural coming-of-age narrative—based on the author’s childhood in the 1960s—a young Cuban-Jewish immigrant girl is adjusting to her new life in New York City when her American dream is suddenly derailed. Ruthie’s plight will intrigue readers, and her powerful story of strength and resilience, full of color, light, and poignancy, will stay with them for a long time.

Ruthie Mizrahi and her family recently emigrated from Castro’s Cuba to New York City. Just when she’s finally beginning to gain confidence in her mastery of English—and enjoying her reign as her neighborhood’s hopscotch queen—a horrific car accident leaves her in a body cast and confined her to her bed for a long recovery. As Ruthie’s world shrinks because of her inability to move, her powers of observation and her heart grow larger and she comes to understand how fragile life is, how vulnerable we all are as human beings, and how friends, neighbors, and the power of the arts can sweeten even the worst of times.

Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on April 11, 2017 by Nancy Paulsen Books
ISBN-10: 0399546448
ISBN-13: 9780399546440
8 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • lizzybeemar
    lizzybeemarFriday, May 26, 2017 at 12:56 pm55 stars
    This is a great story, about a girl named Ruthie and her family, who recently emigrated from Cuba to New York City. Ruthie struggles to learn English and become comfortable living in a new country, then tragedy strikes in the form of a car accident that leaves her in a full body cast, unable to get out and enjoy the things she has grown to love. She eventually learns to love other aspects of life that she had previously taken for granted.
    • The rockster Sunday, May 21, 2017 at 9:30 am
      I have this book, you should definitely get this book.
      • Goodgirl758536Saturday, May 20, 2017 at 12:16 am
        I totally love this book
        • #imthebestFriday, May 19, 2017 at 2:04 pm
          soo good the best book ever
          • piekola
            piekolaWednesday, May 17, 2017 at 5:17 pm55 stars
            This book was about a girl named Ruthie. She was involved in a tragic car accident. The tragedy left one innocent woman paralyzed, five young men dead, and Ruthie in a body cast for months after months after months! Will Ruthie be "broken" physically, mentally and emotionally forever?
            • piekola
              piekolaWednesday, May 17, 2017 at 5:10 pm55 stars
              This book is my second favorite book, besides 'I Am Malala"! This book is filled with many unexpected twists! The book is about an girl named Ruthie. She was involved in a tragic car accident. The tragedy left one women paralyzed, five young men dead and Ruthie in a body cast! Will Ruthie be "broken" physically, mentally, and emotionally forever or will time heal her?
              • mybooksandi
                mybooksandiThursday, April 20, 2017 at 4:19 pm55 starsFeatured
                Well this book left me completely satisfied! Makes you feel refreshed, like you just drank a gallon of water after a long hot day. The long hot day are the other books. Lucky Broken Girl= Cool gallon of water. ( I love that metaphor) I loved how Behar told a story in a complete awesome, diverse way. I liked Ruthie, she was pretty sweet and caring. She loves her mother, father, and brother all the same. In all, I really loved this one, I thought it introduced a new side of contemporary❤️ I received an Advanced Reader's Copy from Penguin, this has not influenced my opinion in any way.
                • llpanda
                  llpandaWednesday, April 19, 2017 at 8:27 am
                  I really like books that make me think from a different perspective. This book looks like one of them that would be really good.
                  Members (482)
                  READ IT - LOVE IT - REVIEW IT
                   
                  Join Penguin Rookie Reviewers and get the best books and authors before anyone else. 
                  Read, review and share with your friends.

                  GET IN THE GAME!
                   
                  This Month’s Pick