Kids Weird But True: 300 Outrageous Facts

Book 1 of 13 in the Weird But True Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7Grades 3 - 5n/an/an/a
At last, all those weird but true facts that readers of National Geographic Kids love so much are collected into a fun-filled book that you’ll come back to again and again!

Weird But True is based on the hugely popular magazine page of quirky, fun facts that many readers of National Geographic Kids magazine turn to first. Why? Well did you know that... Peanut butter can be converted into a diamond? The world’s oldest pet goldfish lived to be 43 years old? The world’s longest soap bubble was as long as four school buses? On Neptune, the wind blows up to 1,243 miles an hour? An elephant’s tooth can weigh as much as a bowling ball?

All of the facts in this handy book will amaze friends and family: Animals Superpowers...Chills and Thrills...Eat or Be Eaten...Mini and Mega...Wild and Crazy, and much, much more. Adjacent pages for such facts present a one-paragraph explanation of how that fact is possible or why it is so.

Wacky facts, fascinating information, and lively art combine in this easy-to-browse, casual reference book that is sure to give young readers hours of fun.
Paperback, 208 pages
Published on March 19, 2019 by National Geographic Children's Books
ISBN-10: 1426333714
ISBN-13: 9781426333712
30 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • She she 24Sunday, September 15, 2019 at 11:49 am
    Looooooooove it
    • agocowgirl
      agocowgirlTuesday, August 27, 2019 at 7:47 pm55 stars
      I didn’t know Montana had more cows 🐄 than people..that’s crazy 😜 but super cool... and believable!
      • inmemoryofcpr
        inmemoryofcprSunday, June 30, 2019 at 12:43 pm33 stars
        Usually I would rate Nat Geo books 4 stars and above, but for this book I will rate it 3 stars because I was very disappointed in it. So the facts did not appeal to me, only one did. It was, in San Francisco, people call the fog, "Karl." The rest of the facts weren't really interesting. They were just talking about what people did. Like a man ate __ hot dogs in __ seconds. But I want to read about naturey stuff. Real stuff. That is what fascinates me. Not what people do. Because I don't care about records or stuff. I only like animals and historic event facts and etc. Sorry but I did not like this book as much as the other Weird But True books.
        • habi
          habiMonday, May 13, 2019 at 11:08 am
          love it
          • SweetLemmonMonday, April 22, 2019 at 8:12 pm
            Very interesting, I didn’t know that there are more cows than people in Montana!
            • guytftyTuesday, March 19, 2019 at 3:06 pm
              i love book
              • TEACHERTuesday, March 19, 2019 at 12:43 pm
                THE KIDS LOVED THIS BOOK...
                • OOFTuesday, March 19, 2019 at 7:03 am
                  This book is fun and interesting because I love learning fun facts
                  • booklover20
                    booklover20Thursday, March 14, 2019 at 1:08 pm
                    Fun Fact of New Jersey: New Jersey has the most diners in the US.
                    • johnaaaaaWednesday, December 5, 2018 at 10:07 am
                      Weird But True Weird But True is by National Geographic kids,and the published date for the first Weird But True book was in December of 2009. It is about fun and weird facts that not that many people know. I really like these types of of books because I like learning new things. The reading levels are 3rd through 5th grade. I think girls and boys 8-10 would like these type of books.

                      Why Join:

                      National Geographic Kids Book Club Badge Every month is an adventure with new books, fun activities, and cool prizes.  So claim your official badge and start exploring!

                      FREE Book Club Giveaway:

                      Recent Members
                      CLICK to PLAY
                      CLICK to PLAY