Download FREE Teacher's Guide

Adventure, danger, and a thrilling global mission await 12-year-old Cruz Coronado as he joins an elite school for explorers.

Cruz leaves his tranquil home in Hawaii to join 23 talented kids from around the globe to train at the Explorer Academy with the world's leading scientists to become the next generation of great explorers. But for Cruz, there's more at stake. No sooner has he arrived at the Academy than he discovers that his family has a mysterious past with the organization that could jeopardize his future. In the midst of codebreaking and cool classes, new friends and augmented reality expeditions, Cruz must tackle the biggest question of all: Who is out to get him, and why?

Readers can get in on the excitement with puzzles and codes embedded throughout.

Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on September 4, 2018 by Under the Stars
ISBN-10: 1426331592
ISBN-13: 9781426331596
46 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Faner2.0Tuesday, September 15, 2020 at 3:29 pm
    It sounds so cool
    • readinglegend
      readinglegendTuesday, September 15, 2020 at 11:58 am55 stars
      I read this and it is amazing!
      • bookfan123
        bookfan123Saturday, August 22, 2020 at 5:15 pm55 stars
        This is an amazing book about a boy named Cruz and his journey so far in Explorer Academy, one of the top-rated schools in the world. When Cruz comes in, an old man´s warning stuck to him like glue: ¨They´re coming to get you.¨ Who is they? But when some mystery attacks are meant for him, the situation gets worse as he is blamed of hacking and making his team win. He must uncover what is being done, and quick, before the Nebula is able to ¨get him¨...
        • squirrelflight
          squirrelflightMonday, July 13, 2020 at 11:21 am44 stars
          An amazing thrill ride...filled with excitement and adventure, this book is perfect for readers who like action, mystery, and a little bit of everything. Twelve-year-old Cruz Coronado is ready for his first day at Explorer Academy, a school for young adventurers who hope to achieve their dreams. He has prepared for this day...now it’s finally here. Everything is quite a surprise at first, from Explorer Academy’s large hallways and rooms, to the explorers’ travel ship, Orion. But not everything is perfect for Cruz. He learns secrets about his long-dead mother...secrets that are best kept hidden, and an enemy lurks nearby—not a person, but a company. One that will do everything to take away the only fragment of his past. As he learns to navigate the halls of Explorer Academy, meeting new friends and enemies alike, he must fight his past—and face his future. Ca he do it? Read this book to find out!
          • swirlycool
            swirlycoolTuesday, June 2, 2020 at 1:16 pm55 stars
            This book is about Cruz. He has left his home in Hawaii to join other kids who are training to be the next generation of great explorers. They are training with the world's leading scientists. However, there is more at stake for Cruz. He soon learns that his family has a mysterious past with the organization that could jeapordize his future. This book has many colorful illustrations. I recommend this book to people who enjoy mystery books. I rate this book 5/5.
            • swirlycool
              swirlycoolMonday, June 1, 2020 at 4:11 pm55 stars
              This book is about Cruz. He has left his home in Hawaii to join other kids who are training to be the next generation of great explorers. They are training with the world's leading scientists. However, there is more at stake for Cruz. He soon learns that his family has a mysterious past with the organization that could jepordize his future. This book has many colorful illustrations. I recommend this book to people who enjoy mystery books. I rate this book 5/5.
              • bookycat
                bookycatThursday, February 27, 2020 at 7:55 pm55 stars
                If you cant find a good book read this!!! This book is great invitation to our world of wonders!!
                • griffindor11
                  griffindor11Wednesday, December 18, 2019 at 9:02 am55 stars
                  this book is the one and only book of the year
                  • h_v2009
                    h_v2009Wednesday, October 9, 2019 at 10:56 am55 stars
                    I was given this book for a book club and first I thought it would be boring but I was so wrong. I suddenly changed my mind when I finished the first chapter because it was already really intresting. You guys should definetly read this book and share it with others. One of the best books! Remember to read it. There is also a full series and I was waiting for a library to have it and if you guys read it then just tell me how it is. I can't wait to read it!
                    • h_v2009
                      h_v2009Tuesday, August 13, 2019 at 8:49 am55 stars
                      This book was incredible. I loved the book so much because I have a great intrest in mystery's

                      Why Join:

                      National Geographic Kids Book Club Badge Every month is an adventure with new books, fun activities, and cool prizes.  So claim your official badge and start exploring!

                      FREE Book Club Giveaway:

                      Recent Members
                      CLICK to PLAY