This collection of heartwarming and surprising true tales celebrate heroic animals who saved the day, impart important lessons, and can inspire us to help change the world.

Heroes come in all shapes and sizes -- and many hail from the animal kingdom! Get ready to meet animals that made significant contributions to mankind and accomplished great things in their lifetimes. From top dog Sergeant Stubby, who earned a medal for his brave actions in World War I, to Winter, the courageous dolphin who received a prosthetic tail, this collection of short stories is inspirational, hilarious, and action-packed. Each tale is paired with amazing National Geographic photos and loads of animal facts to offer tons of fuzzy, furry, feathery fun on every page.

Paperback, 112 pages
Published on May 28, 2019 by National Geographic Children's Books
ISBN-10: 1426332777
ISBN-13: 9781426332777
19 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • meisdancer
    meisdancerWednesday, May 27, 2020 at 10:35 am55 stars
    This book is so good. It's so cute the stories of the animals I love animals they are so cool. In this book it tells you stories about animals I think it is really interesting. Also animals DO change the world! I couldn't live in a world without animals. They are really WORLD changers.
    • octopus1234
      octopus1234Saturday, May 9, 2020 at 2:00 pm55 stars
      It sounds so fun! I can't wait to read it! I think I will cry if I read this book, just the cover sounds so touching!
      • octopus1234
        octopus1234Saturday, May 9, 2020 at 1:58 pm55 stars
        It sounds so fun! I can't wait to read it!
        • octopus1234
          octopus1234Saturday, May 9, 2020 at 1:57 pm55 stars
          Looks fun.
          • lawalex
            lawalexThursday, March 19, 2020 at 9:33 am55 starsFeatured
            I actually won this book from DOGO, and I read it over and over! There are so many cool stories! My favorite is when someone left a cat in a library drop-box and the librarian took it in as the library’s mascot. (It is on the last page you can turn to, bottom left) I TOTALLY recommend this book!
            • me book fanWednesday, December 4, 2019 at 11:47 am
              its so intresting and fun
              • ryanzgamingzyt2
                ryanzgamingzyt2Tuesday, November 12, 2019 at 3:37 pm44 stars
                penguins need respect STOP OIL SPILLS!!! who is with me?
                • Super dogSunday, August 4, 2019 at 1:49 pm
                  Why did there hamsters turn super hamster? These animal books are so crazy! What happens at the end and the start is your flying dolphin power!
                  • wolfdog
                    wolfdogSunday, August 4, 2019 at 12:03 pm55 stars
                    I think this is really great, I mean try it. It should have 5 stars not 4! WHO IS WITH ME
                    • AnnemijnMonday, July 29, 2019 at 9:00 am
                      This is good

                      Why Join:

                      National Geographic Kids Book Club Badge Every month is an adventure with new books, fun activities, and cool prizes.  So claim your official badge and start exploring!

                      FREE Book Club Giveaway:

                      Recent Members
                      CLICK to PLAY