The Novice: Summoner: Book One (The Summoner Trilogy)

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grade 7n/a6.599996

He can summon demons. But can he win a war?
Fletcher is working as a blacksmith's apprentice when he discovers he has the rare ability to summon demons from another world. Chased from his village for a crime he did not commit, Fletcher must travel with his demon, Ignatius, to an academy for adepts, where the gifted are taught the art of summoning.
Along with nobles and commoners, Fletcher endures grueling lessons that will prepare him to serve as a Battlemage in the Empire's war against the savage Orcs. But sinister forces infect new friendships and rivalries grow. With no one but Ignatius by his side, Fletcher must decide where his loyalties lie. The fate of the Empire is in his hands.

Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on May 5, 2015 by Feiwel & Friends
ISBN-10: 125006712X
ISBN-13: 9781250067128
13 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • HILLLBILLYTuesday, January 24, 2017 at 9:44 am
    what is the book called again?? i forgot :(
    • pharlandeFriday, January 20, 2017 at 2:47 pm
      I love it
      • addisonaddie
        addisonaddieFriday, January 6, 2017 at 1:08 pm
        I'm going to check out this book right away!
        • pandabubbletea
          pandabubbleteaThursday, December 1, 2016 at 9:35 am
          Sounds like a book that I would read, maybe when they sell the book, i'll go to Barnes and Nobles! Ha! Funny!
          • Hermoione GMonday, November 28, 2016 at 12:38 pm
            I love it
            • mayhem
              mayhemThursday, November 10, 2016 at 3:05 pm55 stars
              awesome book
              • auriba
                auribaFriday, November 4, 2016 at 2:55 pm
                This is the best book I've ever read, you guys should really read it
                • mayhem
                  mayhemThursday, November 10, 2016 at 2:55 pm55 stars
                  Agreed
                • AngelSaturday, August 20, 2016 at 1:29 pm
                  I saw this book in my local bookshop and it caught my eye straight away. I bought it and the second I started reading I was totally hooked and I couldn't put the book down. I've read the second and its just as good as the first. I love this book series and I cant wait for the next book to come out.
                  • GicaldoSaturday, August 20, 2016 at 7:25 am
                    This book is just great. It's a little like Harry Potter, but way more mature (not Game-Of-Thrones-mature; this one is still for teens). It has lots of characters we just can't help but to deeply love or to hate so much we'd like to just put our hands through the book and strangle them. Of course, that means this book has exceptional antagonists, conspiracys, secrets... heck, even the obligatory magical tournament at the end of the year, which is, as in many books about schools of some sort, the climax of the book, has more to it than meets the eyes, and the protagonist's victory becomes more important than ever in books like this one (thus adding extra tension). The setting is described in a very rich way, putting in just enough details to leave us with a very good idea of the surroundings, but without getting boring. The various characters, both the goodies and the baddies, are interesting and well developed. I honestly can't think of anything bad to say about the book. Perhaps only that the final showdown is a little short for the huge amount of time spent building it up, but it still almost makes up for it in suspense, still delivering a finale I always like to read again. And of course, there's the twist in the end that'll make you run to the next library and buy its sequel, The Inquisition. Lucky you who read the book after its sequel coming out... Of course, after the way The Inquisition ends, I just can't wait for book 3!
                    • Tif Thordal Friday, August 19, 2016 at 8:58 am
                      This series is this generation's Harry Potter. The story and characters are so vivid and amazing. I read book one and two in three days, as did my husband.
                       
                      Why Join:
                      The Mac Kids Book Club is home of the latest and greatest books, activities, and prizes. Claim your badge now to join the coolest club around!