Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 10U7.068203
The fantasy adventure that launched the international bestselling series, with over 5 million copies sold in the U.S. alone!

They have always scared him in the past—the Rangers, with their dark cloaks and shadowy ways. The villagers believe the Rangers practice magic that makes them invisible to ordinary people. And now 15-year-old Will, always small for his age, has been chosen as a Ranger’s apprentice. What he doesn’t yet realize is that the Rangers are the protectors of the kingdom. Highly trained in the skills of battle and surveillance, they fight the battles before the battles reach the people. And as Will is about to learn, there is a large battle brewing. The exiled Morgarath, Lord of the Mountains of Rain and Night, is gathering his forces for an attack on the kingdom. This time, he will not be denied. . . .

Here is the fantasy adventure that launched the Ranger's Apprentice series, an epic story of heroes and villains that has become an international phenomenon. Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings, T.H. White’s The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon series, and George R. R. Martin’s Game of Thrones / A Song of Ice and Fire series.

Paperback, 272 pages
Published on April 29, 2010 by Puffin
ISBN-10: 0142417440
ISBN-13: 9780142417447
61 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • MiaSunday, December 9, 2018 at 9:36 am
    I found this book series the best one I have ever read! It just draws you in and you can't stop reading. I loved all 12 books but my favorite would have to be the last one. I'm bot saying why because then that would just spoil the book for other people. This was the first book I read in 4th grade I have always been an advanced reader and I love fantasy. The moment I saw that book I knew I was going to read the whole series, and I did! I'm looking for more books by this author. I've also always loved writing and this story has inspired me to make story like this!
    • J.KWednesday, December 5, 2018 at 9:14 am
      I found this book very intriguing. As an 8th grader i found that this book drew me in and i wanted more and more of this series. I fell in love with all of the characters and my favorite character is Halt. I enjoy Halt and his mean behavior, although he really cares about the people he cares about most. Will is interesting because he is just very caring and would do anything for his friends. Will is a great comrade to have in battle. Gilan is very... well let's say that he is very goofy, but he is one of the best trained rangers with amazing talent in not only the ranger field, but in the knight range as well. Horace's behavior at the beginning had me angry at him and my hate blossomed. Then whenever he began to act nicer as Will and him became friends. Then he got a taste of his own medicine in battleschool which made me believe that he would learn from it. I'm very happy that he did. I absolutely love this book and I enjoyed the entire series in general. I'm looking forward to more books coming out to the additional 16.
      • A.RFriday, November 23, 2018 at 7:11 am
        Ranger's Apprentice :THE Ruins of Gorlan by John Flanagan The Ruins of Gorlan is a part fantasy and medieval times book. The story is about 4 main characters named Halt, Will, Gilan, and Horace trying to hunt the Kalkara. Rumors are that the Kalkara may have killed the general of Redmont Castle’s army. The author did a very good job of developing the characters. I felt like the characters were real and I could meet them. The action and story developed at a very good pace. The setting is in medieval times which makes it the best because it all fits together. The story line, weapons and the setting all fit together. I recommend you to be 10 or up to read this book. If you like fantasy, action or Medieval times I know you will like this book.
        • lains24
          lains24Wednesday, October 24, 2018 at 8:05 am55 stars
          Sorry I haven’t been on lately! I was working on a project about this book! The Ruins of Gorlan!
          • kittyreeree
            kittyreereeTuesday, October 16, 2018 at 6:18 pm55 stars
            Amazing! Two people recommended these books to me and I’m not disappointed.
            • freelance15bookTuesday, August 28, 2018 at 9:32 am
              own all the series absolute best ever also recommend body guard series by chris bradford
              • bean_boy
                bean_boyThursday, July 12, 2018 at 9:17 am55 starsFeatured
                Perfectly assembled into a masterpiece from tidbits of stories written for his son, Mr.Flanagan has crafted a story that has the right amount of action, humor, and romance, that will be worth staying up all night reading. The story follows the path of a young boy named Will and his other orphaned friends, who must choose their path of life on Choosing Day. Will like his friend Horace wants to enter Battleschool or Horseschool is denied because of his tiny stature. Later on, however, Will climbs a possible 4-story tower to see what the mysterious Ranger Halt had written about him. In the process, Will is accepted to be trained as Ranger under Halt. Throughout the story, we follow Will's training, the hardships that follow and how he becomes acquainted with his "enemy" Horace. Finally, the story ends with an epic battle with Good v.s the evil Morgarath which continues in Book 2 of the series. 5/5 stars this book is a must-read. Happy Readings! bean_boy
                • ranger51
                  ranger51Tuesday, March 6, 2018 at 7:20 am55 stars
                  BEST BOOK EVER!! This has become my favorite series of ALL time! Summary: At the age of 15, you are chosen for your craft; it's time for Will and the other wards to be chosen for their training. Whatever they are chosen for, they are taught to master that skill which will become their future job. Each of the mentors of each craft from Redmont Fief stand before the 15-year-old wards, including Will. Each of these wards know what they want to be chosen for, and everyone but Will has skill in that area. Will, like most other boys, including Horace, wants to be chosen for Battleschool. However, he isn't necessarily strong or heavily built like Horace. In fact, he's much more skinny and weak than he would like to be and had been teased by Horace himself for this same reason. Beading with sweat, Will watches as each of the wards is gradually chosen. So far, everyone is accepted into the craft that they had dreamed of. When it's Will's turn, he is broken when he isn't accepted into Battleschool. After all, he is an orphan but had heard that his father was a hero and he wanted to be just like him. Of course he had wanted to be in Battleschool! The mysterious Ranger Halt took interest the boy - the Rangers slipped around unseen and mysterious. Some of the villagers believed that they practiced dark magic. Halt accepted him as an apprentice, taking him to his cabin in the woods. Will was nervous, and still slightly disappointed that he wasn't accepted into Battleschool. But as he begins to be trained in the ways of a Ranger, he realizes that Rangers are not what they seem. Yes - they are trained in camouflage and unseen movement. Yes - they are trained to move as silently as possible. Yes - they are trained in archery so well that they can't miss the bullseye. Yes - they were camouflage cloaks that help them to blend into the environment. Yes - they even learn tracking skills in the wild. And yes... they also help protect the kingdom. As Will is going through his first year of training, a war is beginning to form between a former Baron, Morgarath. He was exiled into the mountains years ago and now has risen an army to retake Araluen for himself. One type of creatures in his army, the Kalkara, has made their way into the valley. Now, it is Will and Halt's mission to eliminate them... By the end of his first year in Apprentice training, Will, the Ranger's Apprentice, turns down the offer from the King himself after seeing such skill in battle to join Battleschool. He realizes that being a Ranger has meant more to him than even being just like his father, was. He could be hero without being a Knight.
                  • Ranger51Tuesday, February 27, 2018 at 5:55 am
                    This book is AMAZING!!!! It's my favorite series of all time and is the only one that has combined almost everything I love! (Besides ballet, but you can't really find a stealthy-camouflage-amazing-at-archery book series about a ballerina, can you??? :P) I'm halfway through Book 9 (plz, no spoilers!) and am in 8th grade and absolutely love this!! I shared it with my 7th grade cousin and it has become her favorite series of all time, too!! Please, read!!!
                    • burnstealth
                      burnstealthSaturday, October 7, 2017 at 7:20 pm55 stars
                      great fav series!
                      Where: 
                      Your local Barnes & Noble store
                      When: 
                      2pm on October 20th, 2018
                      Why:
                      Discover exciting new books, win prizes and get your special treat discount coupon HERE
                       
                      Check out books featured at the July, 2018 Hangout
                       

                      Our Apps and Plugins