Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 5n/a4.6116991
"Remarkable, not-to-be-missed-under-any-circumstances."β€”Entertainment Weekly (Grade A)

The Passage meets Ender's Game in an epic new series from award-winning author Rick Yancey.

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it's the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth's last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie's only hope for rescuing her brother--or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

"Wildly entertaining . . . I couldn't turn the pages fast enough."β€”Justin Cronin, The New York Times Book Review

"A modern sci-fi masterpiece . . . should do for aliens what Twilight did for vampires."β€”USAToday.com
Paperback
Published on October 3, 2017 by Speak
ISBN-10: 0425290328
ISBN-13: 9780425290323
64 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • clit05
    clit05Thursday, April 19, 2018 at 1:22 pm55 stars
    Overall I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a good book. The story is nothing short of absolutely spectacular, and the way the author writes and develops the plot is enthralling. The twist on "alien attack" scenarios is great, too. Definitely recommend to anyone.
    • AustinWednesday, February 14, 2018 at 2:03 pm
      I really enjoyed reading this book.
      • kuo
        kuoSaturday, July 15, 2017 at 1:25 pm55 stars
        my friend read this book
        • jjWednesday, March 1, 2017 at 6:08 am
          I love the movie so i think i will like Book.
          • teencalum13
            teencalum13Wednesday, November 30, 2016 at 3:31 pm
            REALLY WANT TO READ!!!!!!!!!!!!!
            • jsuper_0727Wednesday, November 30, 2016 at 8:24 am
              The 5th Wave first book in a 3 book series by Rick Yancey. Cassie and her family, were living there normal life in Los Angeles in modern times when the aliens came. Cassie, her family, and the entire human race are the protagonists. The aliens are the antagonists and they want to wipe out mankind so they decimated the human race in a series of coordinated attacks call waves. The first wave wiped out all communications, engines, anything that relies on electricity. the second was an earthquake that shook the entire planet. The third wave was a disease that the death toll rivaled the black plague. The fourth wave was a gigantic rod that did not neutralize, did not destroy but obliterated all major cities to their foundations. By the the fifth wave the Aliens were among the humans. They could disguise themselves to look like human beings and they could carry out killings without anyone knowing. By then 97% of the human population was gone and among the 3% was Cassie. Things get worse as another conflict sets in because the aliens captured her brother. The turning point was when Cassie and her family meets this boy who knows a lot about the aliens their strengths and more importantly their weaknesses. Will the human race bounce back from the Aliens’ rampage or will the last of mankind vanish? Read the Fifth Wave to find out. I would recommend this book to middle and high school readers who like science fiction books with lots of action.
              • demosthenes
                demosthenesSaturday, November 19, 2016 at 7:10 pm55 stars
                YASS! this book is so good...though i haven't seen the movie yet...
                • RyanThursday, November 17, 2016 at 10:55 am
                  This book is so awesome and fun to read
                  • ajawesomegirl
                    ajawesomegirlThursday, November 17, 2016 at 10:19 am
                    Sounds like a good Book
                    • Pinkspark1200Thursday, September 29, 2016 at 5:32 pm
                      I love the movie and I want to read the books to.πŸ˜ŽπŸ˜ŽπŸ˜ŽπŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ‘πŸ»πŸ‘πŸ»πŸ˜„β˜€οΈπŸ˜‰βœ‹πŸ»πŸ‘½