Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 5n/a5.0106028

One choice can destroy you. Veronica Roth's second #1 New York Times bestseller continues the dystopian thrill ride that began in Divergent.

A hit with both teen and adult readers, Insurgent is the action-packed, emotional adventure that inspired the major motion picture starring Shailene Woodley, Theo James, Ansel Elgort, and Octavia Spencer.

As war surges in the factions of dystopian Chicago all around her, Tris attempts to save those she loves—and herself—while grappling with haunting questions of grief and forgiveness, identity and loyalty, politics and love.

Plus don't miss Veronica Roth’s thrilling novel Carve the Mark .

Paperback, 592 pages
Published on January 20, 2015 by Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN-10: 0062024051
ISBN-13: 9780062024053
190 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Yeet, Boi!Tuesday, January 15, 2019 at 8:26 am
    AMAZING!
    • shawty2233
      shawty2233Tuesday, December 18, 2018 at 11:53 am
      i love this book omg i love them all
      • olliebob
        olliebobTuesday, October 16, 2018 at 12:00 pm55 stars
        This sequel to Divergent is so amazing. It reminds a lot of The Hunger Games, as far as similarities in action, romance, and plot. You know, society separated into several parts, an overthrow of government, they even take over minds like the tracker jacker venom did to Peeta. I like the way that there is no gap in time between the books. Anyway, those Dauntless who did not betray their faction are now on the run, refugees in their own society. Meanwhile, guilt eats away at Tris about killing her friend. She hasn't told anyone yet and she is scared that they will treat her differently. So finally, when she is forced to take truth serum and tells everyone about what happened, they feel angry and disappointed with her. Her relationship with Tobias is at a standstill and they don't trust each other, which is sad because they are SUCH a great couple! The Dauntless join the factionless and plan to attack the Erudite, while Tris is busy making her own plans. She's working with Tobias' abusive father, Marcus. Not because she want's to, but because she needs to know the truth about what's "outside the fence". What's in the outside world and why was it hidden, and, will Tris get to Jeanine in time to get the information?
        • supTuesday, October 2, 2018 at 6:06 pm
          OMG the worlds best book
          • septembergirl
            septembergirlSunday, July 22, 2018 at 12:26 pm55 stars
            These books are amazing. I loved them so much I finished them in like a week. The movies are awful tho.
            • ccplayzofficial
              ccplayzofficialMonday, April 30, 2018 at 12:47 pm55 stars
              This is a very good book Love it so muuuuuuchhhhh
              • picklesWednesday, January 17, 2018 at 5:51 am
                i love the book
                • rosewire
                  rosewireMonday, November 20, 2017 at 6:51 am44 stars
                  BEST BOOK EVER! I really hop that is you got this book you'll read it! The reason why I gave 4 stars is because It should be only read by children 10 years old or older. Highly would recommend to be read!!!
                  • din10
                    din10Thursday, October 19, 2017 at 8:13 am55 stars
                    i have read Divergent, and it was great i've seen all of the movies but i haven't finished this book i hope it is just as good as the first one
                    • duncanthedog516
                      duncanthedog516Saturday, August 5, 2017 at 7:33 am55 stars
                      In my opinion this is an amazing sequel to Divergent, written by Veronica Roth. This book is full of unexpected plot twists (especially at the end). Insurgent demonstrates just how dangerous being a divergent is.

                      Our Apps and Plugins