Book Scavenger (The Book Scavenger series)

Book 1 of 3 in the Book Scavenger Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.568016

A New York Times-Bestseller!

For twelve-year-old Emily, the best thing about moving to San Francisco is that it's the home city of her literary idol: Garrison Griswold, book publisher and creator of the online sensation Book Scavenger (a game where books are hidden in cities all over the country and clues to find them are revealed through puzzles). Upon her arrival, however, Emily learns that Griswold has been attacked and is now in a coma, and no one knows anything about the epic new game he had been poised to launch. Then Emily and her new friend James discover an odd book, which they come to believe is from Griswold himself, and might contain the only copy of his mysterious new game.

Racing against time, Emily and James rush from clue to clue, desperate to figure out the secret at the heart of Griswold's new game―before those who attacked Griswold come after them too.

This title has Common Core connections.

Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on June 2, 2015 by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
ISBN-10: 1627791159
ISBN-13: 9781627791151
92 Book Reviews
  • unipug2
    unipug2Thursday, February 4, 2021 at 5:33 pm44 stars
    Good so far. Emily makes a Chinese friend named James. Her bro is named Matthew. She plays a game called Book Scavenger. She learns clues. I have only read a few chapters.her family's goal is to live in all fifty States. They are fairly close.
    • sharkfun123
      sharkfun123Monday, October 12, 2020 at 3:39 pm55 stars
      I like how there are puzzles, it was really interesting. I totally recommend you reading this if you like puzzles and mystery.
      • soccergirl23
        soccergirl23Friday, September 25, 2020 at 11:47 am55 stars
        My brother recommended this series and so far I love it and cannot put it down! If you have read the Lemoncello series you will like this series too. You get to meet Emily Crane (the main character) and her journey in San Francisco with her friend James.
        • glitterclaws
          glitterclawsWednesday, July 1, 2020 at 2:49 pm33 stars
          Great book with lots of twists and turns. She thinks she found the next Griswold game but did she really. I really liked but it did get slow at times and hard to read.
          • maiz
            maizMonday, December 9, 2019 at 10:34 am55 stars
            I just started today and it is AMAIZING. If you like scavngers or mysteries you will like this book.
            • inmemoryofcpr
              inmemoryofcprSaturday, May 25, 2019 at 10:21 am33 stars
              I think this author sort of copied Chris Grabenstein because what basically happens is that a rich guy will host a big event where you have to find books and figure out codes but then he is sabotaged by some robbers(?). Now as Emily and her new friend, James, race to the finish of the game, they find the book where, Griswold, the rich man, hid the book for a big event that will be the key to success.
              • miniongirlFriday, December 28, 2018 at 5:54 pm
                OMgoodness! i love it!
                • abcdefg1234567Tuesday, October 16, 2018 at 8:38 pm
                  great book. everyone should read it.
                  • readytoread
                    readytoreadFriday, August 31, 2018 at 7:52 am55 stars
                    This book is really great! It is soo interesting, with great puzzles and surprises. These kids are GREAT puzzle solvers. It is about a girl named Emily who is 12 years old, whose family moves almost every year, in the hops of fulfilling their parent's dream- living once in all 50 states. She finds Griswold's newest game at a BART station, and really wants to solve it with her new friend, James. It is sort of a disappointment though, that starts off with the shooting of Mr. Griswold. At first, I thought it would be REALLY boring since it was soo long, but I really actually enjoyed it.
                    • unicornbrain
                      unicornbrainSaturday, August 25, 2018 at 5:41 pm44 stars
                      Two thumbs up, but beware. I like the book because it has puzzles, ciphers and other detective clues to keep the story moving. But I didn't like that the Emily's favorite author is attacked very early in the book, and I won't say how or why here. That made me put the book down for a few weeks. I finally finished it. The book is about a book worm and I think I am a book worm, too. Emily gets caught up in the stories and I enjoyed working with her to solve codes and puzzles. She meets a new friend when she and her family moves to California, where the story takes place and their adventure is worth reading. This is a one of three book series. Wondering should I read the next one or not.