Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5T3.826941
Jill goes along with the rest of the fifth-grade class in tormenting a classmate and then finds out what it's like when she, too, becomes a target.
Hardcover, 160 pages
Published on December 1, 1982 by Atheneum/Richard Jackson Books
ISBN-10: 0027110109
ISBN-13: 9780027110104
29 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • inmemoryofcpr
    inmemoryofcprTuesday, June 11, 2019 at 8:19 am22 stars
    So i read this book because i and nothing else to read and it was super weird and confusing. The characters feelings were hard to really depict and i wouldnt recommend this unless you have nothing else to read.
    • The ReviewerSunday, May 19, 2019 at 11:49 am
      This book would be great for children who are becoming older and need to learn how it feels to be bullied wich Judy describes quite well though the consequences the children serve after the alults find out are very unrealistic. It is about a girl named Jill Brenner who bullies an obeice child in her class. This bullying turns very serious from calling her names to hurting her. But eventually Jill stands up for (this is very realistic) Linda (Blubber)and the bullies start targeting Jill. And Linda joins in! I think this is good because we get to see how it feels to bully someone and how it feels to be bullied. This book is good but not amazing. I'm going to say it is for ages 10 plus because it is very sad there is some swearing which was totally unnecessary.
      • deweyduck
        deweyduckMonday, October 15, 2018 at 7:15 pm55 stars
        Great book, Great humor, Great fun!!!! I highly roc mend this book, it's amazingly written, and amazingly funny!!!! Judy Blume is definitely going on my favorites list!!!
        • AwesomecupcakeFriday, June 15, 2018 at 7:58 pm
          The book was very good it was nice and inspiring,but i think judy should have an ending because when i finished the book i was like “it cant be like this!maybe the book missed a page”
          • catslovewaffles
            catslovewafflesThursday, February 8, 2018 at 11:22 am55 stars
            This book was really good! It's soo... good. I really recomend this book for Judy Blume book lovers
            • sunshinediver
              sunshinediverThursday, June 9, 2016 at 1:55 pm33 stars
              It is mean but the main character learns a very valuable lesson. The main character is a follower until one day she stands up for someone and everything is different.
              • myabuggy
                myabuggyFriday, October 23, 2015 at 10:04 am
                i decided to pick this book because my class had this more program and i read like 2 or more books and i got two books for free that we can keep
                • jalissia
                  jalissiaWednesday, October 21, 2015 at 7:12 pm55 stars
                  It was very good.
                  • bookworm890
                    bookworm890Friday, September 13, 2013 at 8:46 pm55 stars
                    This book puts bullying in perspective. It's not like the movies where the bully and the victim become best friends, it's about the importance of belonging, peer pressure, and real life. More swearing than I cared for, but very realistic and relatable.
                    • lily h 4aThursday, August 29, 2013 at 6:19 pm
                      this book was the best I have ever read