Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8W5.3n/a
Twelve-year-old Samuel Collier is a lowly commoner on the streets of London. So when he becomes the page of Captain John Smith and boards the ship the Susan Constant, bound for the New World, he can’t believe his good fortune. He’s heard that gold washes ashore with every tide. But beginning with the stormy journey and his first contact with the native people, he realizes that the New World is nothing like he had ever imagined.The lush Virginia shore where they establish the colony of James Town is both beautiful and forbidding, and it’s hard to know who’s a friend or foe. As he learns the language of the Algonquin Indians and observes Captain Smith’s wise diplomacy, Samuel begins to see that he can be whomever he wants to be in this new land.
Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on May 4, 2006 by Viking Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0670060607
ISBN-13: 9780670060603
14 Book Reviews
  • harper611
    harper611Thursday, November 5, 2020 at 8:29 am55 stars
    This book is the best book I have ever read in my life! It is so funny and exciting. My favorite character is Captain John Smith, he is strong. I love his butt-kicking attitude. He is a complicated character. I love how in the beginning Samuel doesn’t trust anyone. I recommend it to anyone in the world.
    • LThursday, July 19, 2018 at 3:23 pm
      This was probably one of the best books I have ever read in my life
      • anajas1
        anajas1Sunday, November 5, 2017 at 11:48 am55 stars
        This is probably one of the bet books i've ever read. My teacher read this to us when I was in fifth grades and I loved it. It is about a commoner named Samuel Collin and it is A TRUE STORY! I absolutely loved this book!
        • harper611
          harper611Thursday, November 5, 2020 at 8:34 am55 stars
          I totally agree with you its the best!
        • CeceFriday, November 3, 2017 at 9:58 am
          Awesome book
          • springchick114
            springchick114Wednesday, November 1, 2017 at 2:36 pm55 stars
            This is one of the most interesting books I have ever read! There are some innapropriate parts, like in page 198 and 199, but besides that, I REALLY RECCOMEND!
            • naomi adachieTuesday, March 21, 2017 at 11:49 am
              my teacher made us read this book it is so interesting omg
              • kitten7260
                kitten7260Friday, December 2, 2016 at 4:13 am44 stars
                This book is good but also a little gory. It makes you feel uncomfortable a little but overall it is really great when you read this book.
                • kitten7260
                  kitten7260Friday, December 2, 2016 at 4:14 am44 stars
                  I would give four stars
                • tatiannacreager
                  tatiannacreagerFriday, December 11, 2015 at 9:40 am33 stars
                  very nice book lets you know about jamestown and how they surived
                  • kitten7260
                    kitten7260Friday, December 2, 2016 at 4:14 am44 stars
                    Why only three stars?
                  • danoobking
                    danoobkingFriday, June 13, 2014 at 9:14 am55 stars
                    awesome book
                    • partygirlxxSaturday, May 17, 2014 at 10:59 am
                      love this book but a little awkward