Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 4n/a3.113810

Big Nate is funny, big time.”--Jeff Kinney, author of Diary of a Wimpy Kid

For fans of the hilarious Diary of a Wimpy Kid series: Get ready to meet Big Nate! In the first novel in the New York Times bestselling series, Big Nate is in a class by himself!

Nate knows he’s meant for big things. REALLY big things. But things don’t always go your way just because you’re awesome. Nate barely survives his dad’s toxic oatmeal before rushing off to school—minus his lunch. He body slams the no-nonsense principal. He accidentally insults his least favorite teacher, the horrifying Mrs. Godfrey (aka Godzilla). And school has barely started!

Trouble always seems to find him, but Nate keeps his cool. He knows he’s destined for greatness. A fortune cookie told him so.

Here comes BIG NATE, accidental mischief maker and definitely NOT the teacher’s pet.

Get your reader into this beloved series with Big Nate: In a Class by Himself, the perfect book for anyone who's ever been to middle school.

Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on March 1, 2010 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0061944343
ISBN-13: 9780061944345
33 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • IRIS.Friday, May 22, 2020 at 10:35 pm
    this book really makes me laugh
    • Diary of a wimpMonday, March 2, 2020 at 6:34 pm
      Amazing and creative
      • dcofc
        dcofcMonday, September 9, 2019 at 6:07 am55 stars
        The book is good to read
        • alejo
          alejoMonday, July 15, 2019 at 5:14 pm33 stars
          This book is funny, the caricatures are good and I like graphic novels. The reason I gave this book 3 stars is because the story was too predictable. It is a good choice for readers that are into graphic novels and that like to read Diary of a Wimpy Kid.
          • alejo
            alejoMonday, July 15, 2019 at 3:22 pm33 stars
            This book is funny, the caricatures are good , and I like graphic novels. The reason gave this book three stars is because the story was too short and predictable. It is a good choice for readers that are into graphic novels, and that like to read Diary of Wimpy Kid.
            • fill54Monday, June 4, 2018 at 7:20 pm
              this is very good
              • love219
                love219Monday, June 4, 2018 at 6:30 pm55 stars
                Big Nate In A Class By Himself is a very good book. It's about how Nate "thinks" he is destined for greatness just because he got it out of a fortune cookie.
                • lycanroc9
                  lycanroc9Saturday, February 10, 2018 at 10:05 pm55 starsFeatured
                  I really liked this book. It was awesome! ok...let's get started...So its about this boy named Nate Wright. He faces off Mrs. Godfrey, the social studies teacher, in hopes of skipping the quiz he THINKS he has. But then he learns that he DOESN'T have the quiz and ends up biffing Francis in the head when he says he actually LIKES tests. But when he gets to school, he realizes he forgot his lunch at home: "Its not here! You've gotta be KIDDING me!" I recall him saying, so Teddy shares some of his lunch, which includes a fortune cookie. Nate eats the fortune cookie during class, which causes the class pet, Gina, to call on Mrs. Godfrey who walks up to Nate's desk in order to scold him. Luckily, Nate manages to swallow it before she peeks into his mouth. And guess what fortune he gets out of the cookie? 'YOU WILL SURPASS ALL OTHERS' Says the little slip of paper. Nate was delighted! So he keeps trying in vain to make it happen. You will have to read it yourself to find out if it will or not. I recommend this book for people who enjoy comics.
                  • intelligence7
                    intelligence7Monday, February 8, 2016 at 11:15 am55 stars
                    I love this book, it made me laugh a lot...
                    • kidMonday, February 8, 2016 at 8:57 am
                      This one of my favorite big Nate book it is rally funny and i recommend this book.