Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 3n/a2.814013

Big Nate is funny, big time.”—Jeff Kinney, author of Diary of a Wimpy Kid

The fifth Big Nate novel in the New York Times bestselling series by Lincoln Peirce, all about king of detention and cartooning genius Nate Wright!

Everyone knows N-A-T-E does not equal N-E-A-T!

And when Nate’s sloppiness gets out of hand, his best friend, Francis, is in serious trouble.

Can Nate clean up his act, or will he flip out first?

For fans of the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series: Meet Big Nate, world-class boredom buster and definitely NOT the teacher’s pet.

Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on February 5, 2013 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0061996637
ISBN-13: 9780061996634
44 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bookworms4ever
    bookworms4everWednesday, September 9, 2020 at 11:01 am55 stars
    This is the best Big Nate book! I hope you read it!
    • hedgeguin2
      hedgeguin2Wednesday, June 17, 2020 at 7:50 pm44 stars
      Big Nate is always there for a good laugh, and I would totally recommend the series! It’s about Nate and his friends, who are in middle school. It follows their daily life, with bunches of humor packed inside. And, Nate is a total slob, which can lead to some very bad problems, like in their graphic novel. I hope you guys enjoy/have enjoyed this book/series! :)
      • brawlstarschamp
        brawlstarschampMonday, June 3, 2019 at 4:03 pm55 stars
        This is an AWESOME book for any Big Nate fan. If you know Big Nate, you know he's not the neatest kid in the world. But what would happen if this turned around?
        • NATE REATERFriday, September 14, 2018 at 7:01 pm
          This 📖 ROCKS Lincoln Peirce is the BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!
          • lycanroc9
            lycanroc9Saturday, March 10, 2018 at 10:30 pm44 stars
            Big Nate is cool, I guess. But there's something in the book that bothers me... But never mind. Let's get started...So, "you're such a slob." said Francis, Nate's best friend. Nate looks at him like his locker wasn't the messiest thing he's ever seen. "Are you talking to me?" Nate asks. So that goes to say that Nate is clueless that he was a pig. At science class, Francis gets an A for his quiz so Nate thinks he's getting an A too. But Mr Galvin calls him over to his desk instead. He failed his Quiz because of his sloppiness. He really doesn't know this messiness could lead to big problems...after class, they went to the yearbook meeting. Last year's yearbook stank on ice because it was being run by Nick Blondsky. So the new editor was bound to be an improvement...But...GINA ended up as editor so Nate nominates FRANCIS as editor when he realizes Gina would make the yearbook all about herself. In doing so, he also asks Francis to ask Mrs Godfrey for the camera. So Francis gives the camera to Nate...but who KNOWS what Nate could do to the camera with his sloppines...But when things go bad, its Nate's job to fix everything...
            • iliketrains21
              iliketrains21Monday, October 9, 2017 at 5:59 pm55 stars
              This book is my favorite "Big Nate" book Lincoln Pierce made so far. It has so many different events going on at once, and it's super funny.
              • mastercash101
                mastercash101Friday, October 7, 2016 at 12:10 pm
                AWESOME BOOK LOVED IT!!!!!!!
                • mastercash101
                  mastercash101Sunday, August 7, 2016 at 3:52 pm
                  big nate is awesome my sister has some books i've read them so good i wanna get some myself
                  • cimmie
                    cimmieThursday, May 19, 2016 at 11:59 pm55 stars
                    Big Nate is so funny! Teddy, and Francis are his two best friends. Francis is proper, spoiled, and perfect. (he also never gets detention unlike Nate) Teddy is funny, witty, and a jokester. and we all know Nate is messy, when his sloppiness get's out of control it gets Francis in a lot of trouble. will Nate "clean" up his act? or will he flip out first? I suggest you find out in: Big Nate Flips Out.
                    • kcc1
                      kcc1Thursday, May 19, 2016 at 6:09 am
                      DIS BOOK AWESOME BRUUUU