Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 3n/a2.814013

Big Nate is funny, big time.”—Jeff Kinney, author of Diary of a Wimpy Kid

The fifth Big Nate novel in the New York Times bestselling series by Lincoln Peirce, all about king of detention and cartooning genius Nate Wright!

Everyone knows N-A-T-E does not equal N-E-A-T!

And when Nate’s sloppiness gets out of hand, his best friend, Francis, is in serious trouble.

Can Nate clean up his act, or will he flip out first?

For fans of the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series: Meet Big Nate, world-class boredom buster and definitely NOT the teacher’s pet.

Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on February 5, 2013 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0061996637
ISBN-13: 9780061996634
42 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • brawlstarschamp
    brawlstarschampMonday, June 3, 2019 at 4:03 pm55 stars
    This is an AWESOME book for any Big Nate fan. If you know Big Nate, you know he's not the neatest kid in the world. But what would happen if this turned around?
    • NATE REATERFriday, September 14, 2018 at 7:01 pm
      This 📖 ROCKS Lincoln Peirce is the BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!
      • lycanroc9
        lycanroc9Saturday, March 10, 2018 at 10:30 pm44 stars
        Big Nate is cool, I guess. But there's something in the book that bothers me... But never mind. Let's get started...So, "you're such a slob." said Francis, Nate's best friend. Nate looks at him like his locker wasn't the messiest thing he's ever seen. "Are you talking to me?" Nate asks. So that goes to say that Nate is clueless that he was a pig. At science class, Francis gets an A for his quiz so Nate thinks he's getting an A too. But Mr Galvin calls him over to his desk instead. He failed his Quiz because of his sloppiness. He really doesn't know this messiness could lead to big problems...after class, they went to the yearbook meeting. Last year's yearbook stank on ice because it was being run by Nick Blondsky. So the new editor was bound to be an improvement...But...GINA ended up as editor so Nate nominates FRANCIS as editor when he realizes Gina would make the yearbook all about herself. In doing so, he also asks Francis to ask Mrs Godfrey for the camera. So Francis gives the camera to Nate...but who KNOWS what Nate could do to the camera with his sloppines...But when things go bad, its Nate's job to fix everything...
        • iliketrains21
          iliketrains21Monday, October 9, 2017 at 5:59 pm55 stars
          This book is my favorite "Big Nate" book Lincoln Pierce made so far. It has so many different events going on at once, and it's super funny.
          • mastercash101
            mastercash101Friday, October 7, 2016 at 12:10 pm
            AWESOME BOOK LOVED IT!!!!!!!
            • mastercash101
              mastercash101Sunday, August 7, 2016 at 3:52 pm
              big nate is awesome my sister has some books i've read them so good i wanna get some myself
              • cimmie
                cimmieThursday, May 19, 2016 at 11:59 pm55 stars
                Big Nate is so funny! Teddy, and Francis are his two best friends. Francis is proper, spoiled, and perfect. (he also never gets detention unlike Nate) Teddy is funny, witty, and a jokester. and we all know Nate is messy, when his sloppiness get's out of control it gets Francis in a lot of trouble. will Nate "clean" up his act? or will he flip out first? I suggest you find out in: Big Nate Flips Out.
                • kcc1
                  kcc1Thursday, May 19, 2016 at 6:09 am
                  DIS BOOK AWESOME BRUUUU
                  • Nate lover 2000Tuesday, May 17, 2016 at 4:11 pm
                    Nice book
                    • David_BandzMonday, May 9, 2016 at 11:04 am
                      cool book