Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grade 5n/a4.577480
You stop fearing the Devil when you're holding his hand...

Nothing much exciting rolls through Violet White's sleepy, seaside town...until River West comes along. River rents the guesthouse behind Violet's crumbling estate, and as eerie, grim things start to happen, Violet begins to wonder about the boy living in her backyard. Is River just a crooked-smiling liar with pretty eyes and a mysterious past? Or could he be something more? Violet's grandmother always warned her about the Devil, but she never said he could be a dark-haired boy who takes naps in the sun, who likes coffee, who kisses you in a cemetery...who makes you want to kiss back. Violet's already so knee-deep in love, she can't see straight. And that's just how River likes it.

A gothic thriller romance with shades of Stephen King and F. Scott Fitzgerald, set against a creepy summertime backdrop--a must-read for fans of Beautiful Creatures, The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, and Anna Dressed in Blood.
Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on August 15, 2013 by Dial Books
ISBN-10: 0803738897
ISBN-13: 9780803738898
1 Book Review
  • ebenitez
    ebenitezover 6 years
    it sounds awesome and be awesome reading it