Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7n/a5.248818
After Hattie and her three best friends watch one of their classmates publicly defriended in the school cafeteria, they make a loyalty pact promising never to mistreat each other. But after Hattie unwittingly breaks the pact, her friends begin ignoring her. In fact, they literally don't even know who she is anymore! Can Hattie figure out how to break the spell and make things right again?
Acclaimed author Adrienne Vrettos brings poignancy and gentle humor to this magical story of friendship and loyalty.
Hardcover, 229 pages
Published on May 10, 2016 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545561493
ISBN-13: 9780545561495
27 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • emmie25
    emmie25Friday, January 20, 2017 at 5:34 am55 stars
    AMAZING AMAZING AND EVEN MORE AMAZING
    • lucyThursday, January 19, 2017 at 3:47 pm
      I like this book that is how i feel when I am with my friends too
      • snicker9
        snicker9Friday, September 16, 2016 at 4:59 pm44 stars
        Hattie has only recently moved to Trepan Grove from New York this summer. Right away she made 3 new friends. Hattie hides part of herself, her cat t-shirts and love of fantasy books, so she can fit in. Everything seems to be great. Then school starts. After seeing popular girl Zooey being publicly de-popularized and humiliated, Hattie and her friends sign a friendship pact. But when Hattie unwillingly breaks the pact, her friends forget her. At first she thinks they are mad at her and are just ignoring her. But then she realizes it is part of the Harvest Festival curse, and they literally can't remember her. And everyday they forget again. How can Hattie break the curse? I think this book was an interesting twist on middle school popularity, and all the dramas with friendship and being true to yourself. I especially like how this book is clear in it's recurring theme against bullying. I recommend this book to elementary and middle grade girls. I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars.
        • 400bella
          400bellaFriday, September 16, 2016 at 1:48 pm
          Best friends for never is a book about three best friends who leave out one girl this book is such a good adventure can not wait to read it again
          • jb_penguin12
            jb_penguin12Thursday, September 1, 2016 at 1:17 pm55 stars
            Hattie made a pact with her friends that no one would lie to each other and if they did they would forget about whoever lied but there was a myth that on the day that they made the pact you could be jinxed. Before Hattie realized she just lied none of her friends knew who she was and when she told them what happened it made it worse. To figure out how to stop the jinx Hattie had to find the part of the poem that said how to stop the jinx.
            • memoiloveit
              memoiloveitWednesday, August 24, 2016 at 7:03 am55 stars
              I like Best Friends for Never because it is written very realistically. This book also teaches a lesson about how friendship should be and how people should treat each other.
              • taylor02
                taylor02Saturday, July 30, 2016 at 5:05 pm
                I really love this book so much they never get a along because the book called best friends for never I love this book so much
                • strawberry1234
                  strawberry1234Tuesday, July 26, 2016 at 7:28 pm44 stars
                  I enjoyed this book it taught me a little about best friends and bullies i now what to do now that i have read this book.
                  • coolgirlintown
                    coolgirlintownThursday, July 14, 2016 at 8:09 am55 stars
                    I loved this book so so so so so so so so so much!!! It was really really good. And I totally recommend this book to any one.
                    • pjsweet
                      pjsweetMonday, July 11, 2016 at 12:20 pm44 stars
                      Hattie is excited to attend the Harvest Festival with her three new best friends in her new town, but when she accidentally triggers a decades old jinx, she must find a way to break it to restore her friendships, and maybe just be herself once again. A cute friendship story with a dash of magical realism and a nice small town setting. Each character is not super well-developed, but they serve their purpose in Hattie's life in this MG.