“A fully realized fantasy world complete with dragons, treachery, and flawed characters discovering their courage. I couldn’t put it down!” —C. J. Redwine, New York Times bestselling author of The Shadow Queen

From the New York Times bestselling co-author of My Lady Jane comes a smoldering new fantasy trilogy perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Kristin Cashore about a girl condemned for defending dragons and the inner fire that may be her only chance of escape.

Mira has always been a symbol of hope for the Fallen Isles, perfect and beautiful—or at least that’s how she’s forced to appear. But when she uncovers a dangerous secret, Mira is betrayed by those closest to her and sentenced to the deadliest prison in the Fallen Isles.

Except Mira is over being a pawn. Fighting to survive against outer threats and inner demons of mental illness, Mira must find her inner fire and the scorching truth about her own endangered magic—before her very world collapses.

And that’s all before she ignites.

Hardcover, 496 pages
Published on September 12, 2017 by Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN-10: 0062469401
ISBN-13: 9780062469403
1 Book Review
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • queen_luna
    queen_lunaMonday, November 26, 2018 at 3:57 pm55 starsFeatured
    I have been looking for some fresh YA books to read and ended up finding this as a recommended book for people that read Mary Weber's Storm Siren. I loved Storm Siren so I was excited to try something that would be similar in theme but a unique book. First off, I am obsessed with the title. As soon as I saw it, it took my breath away. I'm not sure what it is about it, but it is probably one of the most captivating titles I have ever seen. What ends up happening when I see a book with a really good title or cover is that I then set my expectations very high. This lived up to all my expectations. It was exciting and emotional at the same time. I loved the main character. She was truly the perfect mix of goodness and imperfections. I loved the realness of her anxiety and all her struggles that she had to deal with. I loved her immediately. The whole idea of the gods and the isles was really intriguing to me also, and I loved how different and unique each island's culture was portrayed as being. I immediately liked Aaru! He is probably one of my favorite male characters of all time. And also....DRAGONS? Need I say more?

    Recent Kids Book Reviews

    olliebob
    olliebob wrote:

    Once is a heartbreaking, beautif...
    Once (Once Series)

    Racer95 wrote:

    OMG THIS IS SO AWESOME!!
    Diary of a Wimpy Kid - Double Down

    rainawave
    rainawave wrote:

    When I read an amazing book, the...
    One White Dolphin

    Tess wrote:

    You should read Ellies story
    Molly's Story: A Dog's Purpose N...

    Our Apps and Plugins