Becoming Naomi Leon (Americas Award for Children's and Young Adult Literature. Commended)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8V5.441686
The highly anticipated new novel from the Pura Belpre and Jane Addams Peace Award-winning author of ESPERANZA RISING.

Naomi Soledad León Outlaw has had a lot to contend with in her young life, her name for one. Then there are her clothes (sewn in polyester by Gram), her difficulty speaking up, & her status at school as "nobody special." But according to Gram's self-prophecies, most problems can be overcome with positive thinking. Luckily, Naomi also has her carving to strengthen her spirit. And life with Gram & her little brother, Owen, is happy & peaceful. That is, until their mother reappears after 7 years of being gone, stirring up all sorts of questions & challenging Naomi to discover who she really is.
Hardcover, 246 pages
Published on September 1, 2004 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439269695
ISBN-13: 9780439269698
9 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • applemango
    applemangoFriday, May 22, 2020 at 6:19 pm55 stars
    Naomi lives in Avocado Acres Trailer Rancho. Her trailer park is surrounded by the largest avocado ranch in California. She likes making lists. Right now her biggest problem is her last name, Outlaw because people make fun of it...little does she know she will become proud of her name later. Then, Skyla comes. Her birth mother. She is an alcoholic, she has been in and out of rehab and she now has a relationship with Clive(a tattoo artist), her boyfriend. Whisking into their trailer one day she plans to keep Naomi and leave Owen, Naomi's little brother, behind. Now, thhe matter get's serious but, in the end...Naomi finds her light, with Owen.
    • reader_red
      reader_redFriday, May 17, 2019 at 6:37 am55 stars
      Naomi, and her brother, have lived with their Grandma for as long as they can remember. However When Naomi's crazy mother visits and threatens to tear Naomi away from Grandma and her brother. Naomi's fate may rest on her father, who is living somewhere in Mexico.
      • lionsrcute1
        lionsrcute1Monday, March 17, 2014 at 3:36 pm55 starsFeatured
        I loved this book! It was about an girl called Naomi and her brother Owen, who was born crippled. They were raised by their grandmother, since Naomi's mom took them away, but then ditched them and gave them to their grandmother. One day, their mother comes and interrupts their peaceful life (well, sort of) and tries to get Naomi back, but not Owen. At first, Their real mom, Skye is very nice. She bribes them with gifts, and she pretends to be nice. But still, she was never a good mom, and started to lose her temper and not care about them. Naomi learns that her mom never did care about them from her heart, but was just using gifts to make them like her. Naomi also finds out, while waiting at school for her mom that she was at an rehab center multiple times, and started drinking AGAIN. When Skye goes to court, saying she wants to keep Naomi, Naomi's closest family and friends go with her to Mexico to seek help from her dad. This was an one of a kind book that you MUST read! If you like my reviews, please follow me.
        • lionsrcute1
          lionsrcute1Thursday, March 13, 2014 at 2:12 pm55 stars
          I loved this book! It was about an girl called Naomi and her brother Owen, who was born crippled. They were raised by their grandmother, since Naomi's mom took them away, but then ditched them and gave them to their grandmother. One day, their mother comes and interrupts their peaceful life (well, sort of) and tries to get Naomi back, but not Owen. At first, Their real mom, Skye is very nice. She bribes them with gifts, and she pretends to be nice. But still, she was never a good mom, and started to lose her temper and not care about them. Naomi learns that her mom never did care about them from her heart, but was just using gifts to make them like her. Naomi also finds out, while waiting at school for her mom that she was at an rehab center multiple times, and started drinking AGAIN. When Skye goes to court, saying she wants to keep Naomi, Naomi's closest family and friends go with her to Mexico to seek help from her dad. This was an one of a kind book that you MUST read! If you like my reviews, please follow me.
          • dashao
            dashaoThursday, November 14, 2013 at 9:04 am
            This book is good and interesting. Her mom was not with them with several years. The book is very heart warming too. Naomi got hurt by the mean things that the mean people said because of her last name outlaw.
            • astraccia9
              astraccia9Friday, March 22, 2013 at 11:14 am
              Believe me, the begining of this book is very slow. The only reason I kept reading was because it was for school. I soon read more and it became VERY interesting. The characters came out more and we finally met their personalities. The plot became really high speed, and I LITERALLY couldn't put it down. For all of you who have read the first chapter and fell asleep, KEEP READING! I becomes really good. You'll be glad you didn't stop at the first page. I am still reading this book and can't wait to see what happens!
              • jentry
                jentryThursday, February 7, 2013 at 6:43 am
                i like this book
                • 24wg24
                  24wg24Wednesday, February 6, 2013 at 5:02 pm55 starsFeatured
                  This book is about a girl named Niomi Leon.It all starts when her mother shows up.She has been gone for 7 years.Niomi and her younger brother Owen have been living with their Great -Grandma, Mrs.Outlaw.But,her mother wants to take Niomi to Hollywood,California.That would mean leaving her Grandmother and Owen behind.They end up going to Mexico in search of her long-lost father.To see how the story ends,you'll have to read it.'Cause I'm not giving it away!
                  • volvo_girl
                    volvo_girlSunday, April 15, 2012 at 8:13 am22 stars
                    I had to read this book for school. It's not horrible, but I didn't really enjoy it. There is not much action, so it is pretty boring.