Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5R3.922123

Recalling the fiction of Harper Lee and Carson McCullers, here is a funny, poignant, and utterly genuine first novel from a major new talent.
The summer Opal and her father, the preacher, move to Naomi, Florida, Opal goes into the Winn-Dixie supermarket--and comes out with a dog. A big, ugly, suffering dog with a sterling sense of humor. A dog she dubs Winn-Dixie. Because of Winn-Dixie, the preacher tells Opal ten things about her absent mother, one for each year Opal has been alive. Winn-Dixie is better at making friends than anyone Opal has ever known, and together they meet the local librarian, Miss Franny Block, who once fought off a bear with a copy of WAR AND PEACE. They meet Gloria Dump, who is nearly blind but sees with her heart, and Otis, an ex-con who sets the animals in his pet shop loose after hours, then lulls them with his guitar.Opal spends all that sweet summer collecting stories about her new friends and thinking about her mother. But because of Winn-Dixie or perhaps because she has grown, Opal learns to let go, just a little, and that friendship--and forgiveness--can sneak up on you like a sudden summer storm.

Paperback, 160 pages
Published on September 4, 2014 by Walker Books Ltd
ISBN-10: 1406357626
ISBN-13: 9781406357622
274 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • lawalex
    lawalexTuesday, June 18, 2019 at 1:59 pm55 stars
    This story of a young girl named Opal is a really good read, and is very meaningful. Opal meets a dog she names Winn-Dixie, after where she finds him. I strongly recomend this book!
    • inmemoryofcpr
      inmemoryofcprWednesday, May 22, 2019 at 12:35 pm55 stars
      This book was really good and I enjoyed it very well. It is so sad that the store which the dog is named after is going out of business. And yes, there really is a store called Winn-Dixie. Go search it up. If you like dogs and adventure, then I would recommend this book.
      • bfusjn
        bfusjnWednesday, April 10, 2019 at 5:52 am55 stars
        hi everyone guess what i love this book
        • bfusjn
          bfusjnWednesday, April 10, 2019 at 5:42 am55 stars
          this is the best book ever
          • win dixieWednesday, April 10, 2019 at 5:27 am
            I love this authors books so bad that I can't stop reading them I think she should be known for the world best righter. and I had to pick that nickname
            • hiWednesday, April 10, 2019 at 5:24 am
              I think this author is the best she has a newberry award and she rights about animals which I like. and i like she plans to right it out because it turns out so good her books are the in the world
              • hiTuesday, April 9, 2019 at 10:32 am
                this one of my favorite book from kate
                • hiTuesday, April 9, 2019 at 10:30 am
                  I love this book
                  • pumpkin40107
                    pumpkin40107Wednesday, March 20, 2019 at 2:29 pm55 stars
                    I love this book and itโ€™s so good that my teacher cried from reading it.And thereโ€™s a movie about it.๐Ÿ˜ป๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ
                    • sydney mgThursday, February 28, 2019 at 11:13 am
                      i think this book is one of the best! I read it 2019, and... IT'S AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I think kids in 3-6 grade should read this book! # i love it! :) :):):)