Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5R3.922123
Recalling the fiction of Harper Lee and Carson McCullers, here is a funny, poignant, and utterly genuine first novel from a major new talent.

The summer Opal and her father, the preacher, move to Naomi, Florida, Opal goes into the Winn-Dixie supermarket--and comes out with a dog. A big, ugly, suffering dog with a sterling sense of humor. A dog she dubs Winn-Dixie. Because of Winn-Dixie, the preacher tells Opal ten things about her absent mother, one for each year Opal has been alive. Winn-Dixie is better at making friends than anyone Opal has ever known, and together they meet the local librarian, Miss Franny Block, who once fought off a bear with a copy of WAR AND PEACE. They meet Gloria Dump, who is nearly blind but sees with her heart, and Otis, an ex-con who sets the animals in his pet shop loose after hours, then lulls them with his guitar.Opal spends all that sweet summer collecting stories about her new friends and thinking about her mother. But because of Winn-Dixie or perhaps because she has grown, Opal learns to let go, just a little, and that friendship--and forgiveness--can sneak up on you like a sudden summer storm.
Paperback, 160 pages
Published on September 4, 2014 by Walker Books Ltd
ISBN-10: 1406357626
ISBN-13: 9781406357622
9 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • kmoney123123
    kmoney123123Saturday, July 28, 2018 at 9:17 am55 stars
    I like this book I had it in 3rd grade in a book club a few years ago I love it and i recommend it
    • ...Friday, May 25, 2018 at 7:35 am
      This book is amazing. This helped me read way more than usual and I loved it. It is a book of humor,memories,and is very heartful.
      • NinjashyperTuesday, May 15, 2018 at 10:43 am
        This book is so inspiring to me by Kate DiCamillo it is the best book ever this will get your day going if your down.
        • mrskTuesday, May 15, 2018 at 10:24 am
          I highly recommend this book by Kate DiCamillo. In this inspiring book, a little girl named Opal whose mom abandoned her early in life, becomes best friends with a dog named Winn Dixie. A lonely little girl in a little town in Florida, branches out and makes many surprising friends thanks to this special dog. Read it to find out if Opal ever finds her mom. I give this book 5 out of 5 stars!
          • x_r0bby_x
            x_r0bby_xWednesday, May 2, 2018 at 8:12 am55 stars
            I've Read The Book And I Saw The Movie It Was Amazing!
            • scarletnews101
              scarletnews101Monday, January 22, 2018 at 5:17 pm55 stars
              I loved this book. I would give it a 5 star and recommend it. It has a lot of meaning and it is sad in a way.
              • panda_17
                panda_17Monday, January 22, 2018 at 4:37 pm55 stars
                This was the best book I have ever read in my whole life! It was about this girl who went to the store to get some food and comes back with a dog. The 2 friends have a lot of exiting adventures together!
                • wifafotaki
                  wifafotakiTuesday, December 19, 2017 at 7:58 am
                  this book is about a girl who finds a dog and she meets all of these new people and she has a party and its starts to rain and everyone went inside and missed someone
                  • saseceluve
                    saseceluveWednesday, November 29, 2017 at 6:17 am
                    this book had a lot of meaning in it and it was very interesting

                    Recent Kids Book Reviews

                    Neal wrote:

                    Rick Riordan Number 1 fan. Loved...
                    Weird But True Know-It-All: Gree...

                    soyster
                    soyster wrote:

                    I found the story really intrigu...
                    Rump: The True Story of Rumpelst...

                    no name wrote:

                    the book is not scary
                    The Slender Man

                    Our Apps and Plugins