Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5R3.922123

Recalling the fiction of Harper Lee and Carson McCullers, here is a funny, poignant, and utterly genuine first novel from a major new talent.
The summer Opal and her father, the preacher, move to Naomi, Florida, Opal goes into the Winn-Dixie supermarket--and comes out with a dog. A big, ugly, suffering dog with a sterling sense of humor. A dog she dubs Winn-Dixie. Because of Winn-Dixie, the preacher tells Opal ten things about her absent mother, one for each year Opal has been alive. Winn-Dixie is better at making friends than anyone Opal has ever known, and together they meet the local librarian, Miss Franny Block, who once fought off a bear with a copy of WAR AND PEACE. They meet Gloria Dump, who is nearly blind but sees with her heart, and Otis, an ex-con who sets the animals in his pet shop loose after hours, then lulls them with his guitar.Opal spends all that sweet summer collecting stories about her new friends and thinking about her mother. But because of Winn-Dixie or perhaps because she has grown, Opal learns to let go, just a little, and that friendship--and forgiveness--can sneak up on you like a sudden summer storm.

Paperback, 208 pages
Published on December 8, 2015 by Candlewick
ISBN-10: 0763680869
ISBN-13: 9780763680862
276 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • REVIEWER Wednesday, September 11, 2019 at 6:11 pm
    This book is about a girl named Opal I'm not really a dog person but my teacher loves the book I was Like it's OKAY
    • borupyhy-156623588802
      borupyhy-156623588802Wednesday, September 11, 2019 at 8:58 am55 stars
      Because f Winn-Dixie is a good book I decided to read it because me and my aunt started reading it together.
      • lawalex
        lawalexTuesday, June 18, 2019 at 1:59 pm55 stars
        This story of a young girl named Opal is a really good read, and is very meaningful. Opal meets a dog she names Winn-Dixie, after where she finds him. I strongly recomend this book!
        • inmemoryofcpr
          inmemoryofcprWednesday, May 22, 2019 at 12:35 pm55 stars
          This book was really good and I enjoyed it very well. It is so sad that the store which the dog is named after is going out of business. And yes, there really is a store called Winn-Dixie. Go search it up. If you like dogs and adventure, then I would recommend this book.
          • bfusjn
            bfusjnWednesday, April 10, 2019 at 5:52 am55 stars
            hi everyone guess what i love this book
            • bfusjn
              bfusjnWednesday, April 10, 2019 at 5:42 am55 stars
              this is the best book ever
              • win dixieWednesday, April 10, 2019 at 5:27 am
                I love this authors books so bad that I can't stop reading them I think she should be known for the world best righter. and I had to pick that nickname
                • hiWednesday, April 10, 2019 at 5:24 am
                  I think this author is the best she has a newberry award and she rights about animals which I like. and i like she plans to right it out because it turns out so good her books are the in the world
                  • hiTuesday, April 9, 2019 at 10:32 am
                    this one of my favorite book from kate
                    • hiTuesday, April 9, 2019 at 10:30 am
                      I love this book