Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5R3.922123

Recalling the fiction of Harper Lee and Carson McCullers, here is a funny, poignant, and utterly genuine first novel from a major new talent.
The summer Opal and her father, the preacher, move to Naomi, Florida, Opal goes into the Winn-Dixie supermarket--and comes out with a dog. A big, ugly, suffering dog with a sterling sense of humor. A dog she dubs Winn-Dixie. Because of Winn-Dixie, the preacher tells Opal ten things about her absent mother, one for each year Opal has been alive. Winn-Dixie is better at making friends than anyone Opal has ever known, and together they meet the local librarian, Miss Franny Block, who once fought off a bear with a copy of WAR AND PEACE. They meet Gloria Dump, who is nearly blind but sees with her heart, and Otis, an ex-con who sets the animals in his pet shop loose after hours, then lulls them with his guitar.Opal spends all that sweet summer collecting stories about her new friends and thinking about her mother. But because of Winn-Dixie or perhaps because she has grown, Opal learns to let go, just a little, and that friendship--and forgiveness--can sneak up on you like a sudden summer storm.

Paperback, 192 pages
Published on August 1, 2005 by Walker Books Ltd
ISBN-10: 0744583497
ISBN-13: 9780744583496
279 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • swirlyyu
    swirlyyuThursday, December 19, 2019 at 3:35 pm55 stars
    This book is about a girl and a dog. The dog is at the market messing with the manager. And opal comes to buy some mac and cheese. But then in the market, right there, she decided to adopt the dog. The dog has taught her about friendship and other stuff
    • swirlyyu
      swirlyyuThursday, December 19, 2019 at 10:42 am55 stars
      This book is about India Opal. She lives in the camper park. One day, she goes to the Winn-Dixie market and goes to buy some mac n' cheese. In the store, The managers go kookoo. But then Opal decides to adopt the dog. From then on, the dog has lead her into lessons, friends and more.
      • taraschultzTuesday, October 15, 2019 at 11:38 am
        Has anyone ever thought that this could affect a child who has been adopted and they may see this in a more negative way than a positive way. That it hurt them and confuse them?
        • REVIEWER Wednesday, September 11, 2019 at 6:11 pm
          This book is about a girl named Opal I'm not really a dog person but my teacher loves the book I was Like it's OKAY
          • borupyhy-156623588802
            borupyhy-156623588802Wednesday, September 11, 2019 at 8:58 am55 stars
            Because f Winn-Dixie is a good book I decided to read it because me and my aunt started reading it together.
            • lawalex
              lawalexTuesday, June 18, 2019 at 1:59 pm55 stars
              This story of a young girl named Opal is a really good read, and is very meaningful. Opal meets a dog she names Winn-Dixie, after where she finds him. I strongly recomend this book!
              • inmemoryofcpr
                inmemoryofcprWednesday, May 22, 2019 at 12:35 pm55 stars
                This book was really good and I enjoyed it very well. It is so sad that the store which the dog is named after is going out of business. And yes, there really is a store called Winn-Dixie. Go search it up. If you like dogs and adventure, then I would recommend this book.
                • bfusjn
                  bfusjnWednesday, April 10, 2019 at 5:52 am55 stars
                  hi everyone guess what i love this book
                  • bfusjn
                    bfusjnWednesday, April 10, 2019 at 5:42 am55 stars
                    this is the best book ever
                    • win dixieWednesday, April 10, 2019 at 5:27 am
                      I love this authors books so bad that I can't stop reading them I think she should be known for the world best righter. and I had to pick that nickname