Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5R3.922123

Recalling the fiction of Harper Lee and Carson McCullers, here is a funny, poignant, and utterly genuine first novel from a major new talent.
The summer Opal and her father, the preacher, move to Naomi, Florida, Opal goes into the Winn-Dixie supermarket--and comes out with a dog. A big, ugly, suffering dog with a sterling sense of humor. A dog she dubs Winn-Dixie. Because of Winn-Dixie, the preacher tells Opal ten things about her absent mother, one for each year Opal has been alive. Winn-Dixie is better at making friends than anyone Opal has ever known, and together they meet the local librarian, Miss Franny Block, who once fought off a bear with a copy of WAR AND PEACE. They meet Gloria Dump, who is nearly blind but sees with her heart, and Otis, an ex-con who sets the animals in his pet shop loose after hours, then lulls them with his guitar.Opal spends all that sweet summer collecting stories about her new friends and thinking about her mother. But because of Winn-Dixie or perhaps because she has grown, Opal learns to let go, just a little, and that friendship--and forgiveness--can sneak up on you like a sudden summer storm.

Hardcover
ISBN-10: 0307257541
ISBN-13: 9780307257543
289 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • messiactualface
    messiactualfaceThursday, August 27, 2020 at 12:09 pm
    i want to read it again in la
    • Agent ReaderTuesday, April 14, 2020 at 3:45 pm
      It’s interesting, sad and fun. I really like it.
      • cbear165
        cbear165Tuesday, March 17, 2020 at 10:06 am55 stars
        I loved this book. It is the type of book you would keep on reading on and on
        • russellolchawa
          russellolchawaTuesday, March 10, 2020 at 11:18 am55 stars
          Abandoned by her mother years ago Opal , a 10-year-old girl, moves with her preacher father Jeff Daniels to a small town in Florida. Lonely and missing her old friends, Opal is exited to find companionship with a rambunctious little dog she names Winn-Dixie, after the store where she found the pup. I made a connection to this book by also liking dogs. I gave this book a 5 star because about the hard life of a young child.
          • jelwell
            jelwellMonday, February 10, 2020 at 4:00 pm55 stars
            I really enjoyed the book Because of Winn-Dixie. I thought the characters were interesting and I liked how they interacted with each other. Opal, the main character, was without a mother and the people she encountered throughout the story kind of became her family. I liked that she was able to adopt the dog and those two went through the story together counting on each other. This was a very entertaining and heartwarming book.
            • batdad
              batdadFriday, February 7, 2020 at 12:02 pm55 stars
              this is a good book it's funny it's sad and it has a good ending.
              • batdad
                batdadFriday, February 7, 2020 at 12:01 pm55 stars
                this is a good book it's funny it's sad and it has a good ending
                • Corgi girl Saturday, February 1, 2020 at 10:11 pm
                  I💜this although there was water part that I was pretty sad about. It was near the end( just so you know)!!!
                  • hahahaju-sksksk
                    hahahaju-skskskThursday, January 30, 2020 at 8:07 am44 starsFeatured
                    I thought this book was good but not usually the type of book I would read. It has good storytelling but doesn't have a lot of action scenes. When I was reading it I felt bored sometimes because nothing excited was happening in that part. I liked this book because it always had questions running wild in my head. It is a book about a girl named Opal that just moved to a new town with her father. She feels very alone because she has no friends and her father is spending to much time on his job and not enough on her. Then she encounters a dog named Winn-Dixie and he changes her life. One of the things I most disliked about this book is I felt it took too long to get the climax and that the climax was really the only part with a lot of action and was exciting. The book itself is more intriguing than excited. One of the things I liked most about the book was how it always made me guess if something were to happen next or what was happing with a character that made him/her the way they are. I also liked how they kept teasing the return of a certain character and the result of the tease. All things considered, I would say the good thing outweighs the bad and it wasn't perfect so I think a 4-star rating if fair.
                    • worldwar17
                      worldwar17Wednesday, January 29, 2020 at 8:03 pm55 stars
                      THIS BOOK IS AWESOME!!! The main character is about a girl named Opal, who gets a dog named Winn Dixie, who tries to fit in a new neighborhood. Her life changes because of her new dog, and experiences what life throws at her.