Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 4n/a3.737164
Features seven narrators, each with a unique story, and each with a different perspective on what makes their teacher so special.

It’s the start of fifth grade for seven kids at Snow Hill School. There’s . . . Jessica, the new girl, smart and perceptive, who’s having a hard time fitting in; Alexia, a bully, your friend one second, your enemy the next; Peter, class prankster and troublemaker; Luke, the brain; Danielle, who never stands up for herself; shy Anna, whose home situation makes her an outcast; and Jeffrey, who hates school.

Only Mr. Terupt, their new and energetic teacher, seems to know how to deal with them all. He makes the classroom a fun place, even if he doesn’t let them get away with much . . . until the snowy winter day when an accident changes everything—and everyone.

"The characters are authentic and the short chapters are skillfully arranged to keep readers moving headlong toward the satisfying conclusion."--School Library Journal, Starred

"This powerful and emotional story is likely to spur discussion."--Publishers Weekly

"No one is perfect in this feel-good story, but everyone benefits, including sentimentally inclined readers."--Kirkus Reviews

"Compelling. . . . Readers will find much to ponder on the power of forgiveness."--Booklist
Paperback, 304 pages
Published on October 11, 2011 by Yearling
ISBN-10: 0375858245
ISBN-13: 9780375858246
131 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • grapefruit
    grapefruitWednesday, June 13, 2018 at 12:32 am55 stars
    Kids hate school--what an understatement! So when fifth-graders Jessica, Luke, Peter, Danielle, Alexia and Jeremy start their school year, They're surprised to find that their rookie homeroom teacher, Mr. Terupt, is a fun,cheery, play-with-the-students man. What other teacher plays silly games, makes jokes, and listens to the children's feelings? Mr. Terupt makes the school year so much more interesting (despite the endless arguments between Alexia, Jessica and Danielle) until the snow-day accident that leaves the students' beloved teacher in a serious coma. Praying with all their might, it seems to the children that Mr. Terupt has given his lat lesson--or has he? Read on in this touching, perfectly-crafted novel about how something small can change everything.
    • bookstory13
      bookstory13Tuesday, May 22, 2018 at 4:48 pm55 starsFeatured
      Because of Mr. Terupt was recommended by my brother to me. He finished it while I was near and I heard him say, "I think I'm gonna cry." When I questioned why he responded immediately, "It wasn't sad, I'm just sad that it's over." So, as I had to because what else could you do, I went over and borrowed the book. Although my brother is younger than me, he has read WAY more books than I have and for him to say it's his favorite (which he did) meant that the book just couldn't be ignored. I have a different cover where the hands are wearing mittens and the apple is a snowball. If you have read the book you will know why. Anyway, the main characters come to school expecting a boring, regular teacher. Boy, are they surprised. Enter Mr. Terupt, an enthusiastic teacher who has different ways of teaching. Near the beginning (I think) Mr. Terupt introduces dollar words. Words that add up to make 100 cents. He gets people interested in math and understands them. He doesn't judge them because of their past. (or present for that matter) When the part that makes you *GASP* comes, even though you are not done yet, you will want to read the book again!
      • 5-star ratingWednesday, April 25, 2018 at 8:09 am
        It was an amazing book it gives the perspective of the kids and what they are feeling it would be a great book to read!
        • Hawaiian PizzaSunday, April 22, 2018 at 7:09 pm
          This was one of my favorite books ever. From 1-1,000 I rate it 100,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000!
          • Cool cupcakesFriday, April 20, 2018 at 7:14 am
            i love this book everyone i told to read it loved it too i rate it to grades 4-7 i read all of them and LOVED it please read this book!!!
            • pinehill
              pinehillWednesday, April 11, 2018 at 9:05 am55 stars
              This is a great book for people who love storys about friendship. I would recomend this book for grades 4-7 . READ THIS BOOK!:)
              • CJTuesday, January 16, 2018 at 12:05 pm
                This is the best book I have ever read!!!!!
                • lllllllMonday, September 4, 2017 at 1:58 pm
                  awesome book
                  • VeronicaWednesday, January 18, 2017 at 5:01 pm
                    Irohne2005, Ive read the book and your summary. Im making a book report about this story and your summary was the best ever!!!!! I loved it! My sister read your summary and got the book right away. She just got it yesterday and she finished it. SHE LOVED IT!!! Thanks to you for encouraging her to get it with your AWESOME summary.
                    • VeronicaWednesday, January 18, 2017 at 4:55 pm
                      I love this book SOOOO MUCH. Its kinda sad at the end. EVERYONE GO GET IT AT THE LIBRARY. Not gonna spoil anything, but it has a really good moral. And i couldnt stop reading it once I got it. I finished in 2 days

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      unicorn992
                      unicorn992 wrote:

                      this novel is like a game....it ...
                      Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Lib...

                      unicorn992
                      unicorn992 wrote:

                      this is very good, especially if...
                      The Fourteenth Goldfish

                      unicorn992
                      unicorn992 wrote:

                      sooooooo good. my favorite book ...
                      The Unwanteds

                      unicorn992
                      unicorn992 wrote:

                      this was ok. it was really good ...
                      The Red Pyramid (The Kane Chroni...