Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 4n/a3.737164
Features seven narrators, each with a unique story, and each with a different perspective on what makes their teacher so special.

It’s the start of fifth grade for seven kids at Snow Hill School. There’s . . . Jessica, the new girl, smart and perceptive, who’s having a hard time fitting in; Alexia, a bully, your friend one second, your enemy the next; Peter, class prankster and troublemaker; Luke, the brain; Danielle, who never stands up for herself; shy Anna, whose home situation makes her an outcast; and Jeffrey, who hates school.

Only Mr. Terupt, their new and energetic teacher, seems to know how to deal with them all. He makes the classroom a fun place, even if he doesn’t let them get away with much . . . until the snowy winter day when an accident changes everything—and everyone.

"The characters are authentic and the short chapters are skillfully arranged to keep readers moving headlong toward the satisfying conclusion."--School Library Journal, Starred

"This powerful and emotional story is likely to spur discussion."--Publishers Weekly

"No one is perfect in this feel-good story, but everyone benefits, including sentimentally inclined readers."--Kirkus Reviews

"Compelling. . . . Readers will find much to ponder on the power of forgiveness."--Booklist
Paperback, 304 pages
Published on October 11, 2011 by Yearling
ISBN-10: 0375858245
ISBN-13: 9780375858246
136 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • jasimine209
    jasimine209Monday, December 10, 2018 at 10:48 am55 stars
    the whole class loved it
    • birdwatcher888Thursday, December 6, 2018 at 9:36 am
      we are reading this in our class right now. there is someone in our school that is EXACTLY l like alexia!ugg so annoying!!!!:(
      • garret kitchensWednesday, December 5, 2018 at 8:34 am
        this book was amazing it is very appropriate for kids my teacher read this to me and everybody loved it including me I think that every other kid/adult would love to read the book I can almost guarantee it.
        • sharikaWednesday, November 14, 2018 at 8:21 pm
          love it!!
          • leanecool
            leanecoolMonday, August 20, 2018 at 6:27 pm55 stars
            Because of Mr. Terupt, by Rob Buyea, is a novel about one year in the life of a fifth grade class at Snow Hill School. Told through the eyes of seven students, the class is deeply affected by their new teacher Mr. Terupt and the tragic accident that touches all their lives. As the school year opens, the fifth grade class of Snow Hill School in Connecticut meets the new teacher, Mr. Terupt. Their reactions to him vary. Peter, the class cut-up, tries to see what he can get away with and is impressed when Mr. Terupt is cool about correcting his behavior. Jessica, having just moved from California, appreciates the way he relates to her since he is new also, and Anna, who tries to stay in the background, likes the way he subtly draws her into class discussions. Luke is the most studious, so he appreciates the creative class projects Mr. Terupt devises, while the more morose Jeffrey just hopes to be ignored. Alexia is too concerned with manipulating the other girls to pay much attention to the new teacher and Danielle is too worried about being manipulated by Alexia. Before long, all of the students warm up to Mr. Terupt, who has a way of engaging everyone and making them want to do better. He even gives them a party day as a reward to reaching certain goals and gets Mrs. Williams, the principal, to agree to let the class go outside to play in the snow on their reward day. When a game of roughhousing goes awry, Mr. Terupt is hit with an icy snowball and goes into a coma, having previously sustained a number of concussions as a high school and college wrestler. The accident has a dramatic impact on all the students, who worry about the role they played. However, it soon becomes obvious that the teacher's influence on them continues even when he is unable to interact with them. Jeffrey, who has long felt guilty because his stem cell and bone marrow donations were unable to save his brother's life, finally reaches out to his grieving parents and tries to put his family together again. Danielle approaches her conservative, religious family in the hope of getting them to accept her friendship with Anna, whose single mother has been ostracized since becoming pregnant as a teenager. Alexia comes to terms with the events that have caused her to lie in order to manipulate and control others and learns to be a true friend, and Peter learns that students with learning disabilities are sometimes more wise than those in the school's "regular" classrooms. As the school year draws to a close, the students reflect on how they have benefited from Mr. Terupt's influence and are thrilled when he arrives at school on the last day and the principal announces that he will be their teacher again in sixth grade.
            • grapefruit
              grapefruitWednesday, June 13, 2018 at 12:32 am55 stars
              Kids hate school--what an understatement! So when fifth-graders Jessica, Luke, Peter, Danielle, Alexia and Jeremy start their school year, They're surprised to find that their rookie homeroom teacher, Mr. Terupt, is a fun,cheery, play-with-the-students man. What other teacher plays silly games, makes jokes, and listens to the children's feelings? Mr. Terupt makes the school year so much more interesting (despite the endless arguments between Alexia, Jessica and Danielle) until the snow-day accident that leaves the students' beloved teacher in a serious coma. Praying with all their might, it seems to the children that Mr. Terupt has given his lat lesson--or has he? Read on in this touching, perfectly-crafted novel about how something small can change everything.
              • bookstory13
                bookstory13Tuesday, May 22, 2018 at 4:48 pm55 starsFeatured
                Because of Mr. Terupt was recommended by my brother to me. He finished it while I was near and I heard him say, "I think I'm gonna cry." When I questioned why he responded immediately, "It wasn't sad, I'm just sad that it's over." So, as I had to because what else could you do, I went over and borrowed the book. Although my brother is younger than me, he has read WAY more books than I have and for him to say it's his favorite (which he did) meant that the book just couldn't be ignored. I have a different cover where the hands are wearing mittens and the apple is a snowball. If you have read the book you will know why. Anyway, the main characters come to school expecting a boring, regular teacher. Boy, are they surprised. Enter Mr. Terupt, an enthusiastic teacher who has different ways of teaching. Near the beginning (I think) Mr. Terupt introduces dollar words. Words that add up to make 100 cents. He gets people interested in math and understands them. He doesn't judge them because of their past. (or present for that matter) When the part that makes you *GASP* comes, even though you are not done yet, you will want to read the book again!
                • 5-star ratingWednesday, April 25, 2018 at 8:09 am
                  It was an amazing book it gives the perspective of the kids and what they are feeling it would be a great book to read!
                  • Hawaiian PizzaSunday, April 22, 2018 at 7:09 pm
                    This was one of my favorite books ever. From 1-1,000 I rate it 100,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000!
                    • Cool cupcakesFriday, April 20, 2018 at 7:14 am
                      i love this book everyone i told to read it loved it too i rate it to grades 4-7 i read all of them and LOVED it please read this book!!!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Tess wrote:

                      You should read Ellies story
                      Molly's Story: A Dog's Purpose N...

                      atrama
                      atrama wrote:

                      just read and is just as awesome...
                      The Curious World of Calpurnia Tate

                      #SCHOOLFORGOOD wrote:

                      This book is so good. I picked i...
                      The School for Good and Evil

                      #BOOKWORM wrote:

                      This is the BEST series ever!!! ...
                      Keeper of the Lost Cities

                      Our Apps and Plugins