Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 9n/an/an/an/a

"Beautifully drawn, brutally funny, brilliantly honest. Vera is such a good cartoonist I almost can’t stand it.” ―Raina Telgemeier, author of Smile

All Vera wants to do is fit in―but that’s not easy for a Russian girl in the suburbs. Her friends live in fancy houses and their parents can afford to send them to the best summer camps. Vera’s single mother can’t afford that sort of luxury, but there's one summer camp in her price range―Russian summer camp.

Vera is sure she's found the one place she can fit in, but camp is far from what she imagined. And nothing could prepare her for all the "cool girl" drama, endless Russian history lessons, and outhouses straight out of nightmares!

Paperback, 256 pages
Published on April 24, 2018 by First Second
ISBN-10: 1626724458
ISBN-13: 9781626724457
20 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bsc
    bscThursday, June 11, 2020 at 8:21 am33 stars
    I liked this book. Vera tries to be like all the other girls. She wants a normal birthday party, and to go in camp in the summer. But she is Russian, and all the other girls act weird around her. So when she finds out about this Russian camp, she is thrilled. Except, the camp isn't like how she wanted it to be. I give this book 3 stars.
    • c0okie
      c0okieThursday, June 4, 2020 at 12:30 pm55 starsFeatured
      Vera has always wanted to fit in. One day, she learns about a Russian Camp and wants to go. She's Russian, and the other kids at the camp will be too! At the Russian Camp she will fit in perfectly. Or so she thought. The day arrives and she is assigned a tent with two older girls. When the girls she shares a tent with are 5 years older than her, it's hard to fit in. All they do is sneak candy into their tent (which isn't allowed at the Camp), talk about a boys they think are cute, and have other conversations. The girls are best friends and find Vera weird. Vera tries to win their friendship and attention with her incredible drawings, and the girls soon become "friends". The girls start using her and blaming her for anything they do wrong. Vera hates it at the camp and she desperately wants to return home. She starts to learn that it's better to make friends then try and buy them. I absolutely love the drawings and color in this book! The story line is great and I also loved how this book is actually based on the author's experience in camp. There is more to the book than I explained, so go read it! I think this is one of the better graphic novels you could read. If you do read this book, enjoy!
      • zojo456
        zojo456Thursday, June 4, 2020 at 12:04 pm55 stars
        This book is a really interesting story about Vera's camping trip when she was young. And how she was the youngest one in her group.
        • willow123goma
          willow123gomaWednesday, June 3, 2020 at 1:57 pm33 stars
          This is about a Russian-American girl who never feels like she fits in. One summer, while her mother tries to find a better job, she and her brother go to a Russian-American only summer camp. I think although the ending was not a very settling ending, I liked it overall because it showed me that it might hurt real bad to not be accepted, but it hurts even more to act like someone you aren't and try to be accepted.
          • mhkgc235
            mhkgc235Tuesday, June 2, 2020 at 2:27 pm55 stars
            It's really good. It's about the author going to a horrible Russian camp. It reminds me of a bad horse riding camp me and cutiecat3000 went to.
            • pizzagirl7
              pizzagirl7Wednesday, May 27, 2020 at 11:33 am55 stars
              Vera has always wanted to fit in but never had seemed to . She is Russian . And the other kids didn't get along with her . They thought she was different . Now Every One is going off to camp . Vera finds out there is a Russian camp. ANd wants to go very very badly . When she gets there she realizes it isn't as good as she originally thought it would be. You will have to read the book to find out what happens next .I recommend this for all ages and I rate this book 5/5 stars thank you for reading my review!📚📚-Pizzagirl7
              • bookfan2008
                bookfan2008Sunday, May 3, 2020 at 7:01 pm55 stars
                I really liked this book! It's good! It's about a girl that's russian and she goes to camp. She faces a lot of problems and some embarassment. Also she feels out of place. Sometimes her friends don't really want to be with her. Read this book to find out more!
                • imabookworm3
                  imabookworm3Friday, August 2, 2019 at 8:09 am33 stars
                  I decided to read this book because I love comic books. I thought this book was pretty good because she to go to a camp. When she gets there she realized that the camp is harder than she thought.
                  • inmemoryofcpr
                    inmemoryofcprTuesday, June 4, 2019 at 5:30 pm55 stars
                    So when Vera goes to a camp just for Russians, she is very excited because Vera is Russian and it is hard for her to fit in with her other friends. But when her expectations are not fulfilled, camp drama, finding friends, and adventures overwhelm her and Vera now realizes how unprepared she is and must find a way to survive camp. I would recommend this for ages 9+ I just LOVED this book. There was 0% drag and everything was super interesting. I would recommend this to fans of Raina Telgeimer and Terri Libenson.
                    • ajg16
                      ajg16Friday, May 17, 2019 at 11:22 am44 stars
                      Vera is a 9 year old girl who moved to America when she was 5 years old from Russia. At home she is different from the other girls and they treat her differently and think she is weird. When she finds out about a Russian camp she just has to go!! But it's not all she thought it to be the two girls she is sharing a tent with are older and mean. she doesn't really know how to read Russian and she just isn't having fun.. Good thing she is only staying for two weeks. Oh wait her mom says she has to stay two more weeks! How is she going to survive two more weeks at this Camp!? Read the book to find out! Recommended for 9+ Thanks for reading -Ajg16's reviews