Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 3n/a2.810933
Cardinal rule #1 for surviving school: Don't get noticed by the mean kids.

Cardinal rule #2 for surviving school: Seek out groups with similar interests and join them.

On her first day at her new school, Penelope--Peppi--Torres reminds herself of these basics. But when she trips into a quiet boy in the hall, Jaime Thompson, she's already broken the first rule, and the mean kids start calling her the "nerder girlfriend." How does she handle this crisis? By shoving poor Jaime and running away!

Falling back on rule two and surrounding herself with new friends in the art club, Peppi still can't help feeling ashamed about the way she treated Jaime. Things are already awkward enough between the two, but to make matters worse, he's a member of her own club's archrivals--the science club! And when the two clubs go to war, Peppi realizes that sometimes you have to break the rules to survive middle school!
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on July 21, 2015 by Yen Press
ISBN-10: 0316381322
ISBN-13: 9780316381321
42 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • sunshine2010
    sunshine2010Sunday, June 28, 2020 at 3:46 am44 stars
    Good book. I don't spoil so ya I want say
    • hiThursday, June 25, 2020 at 11:53 am
      i want to read this boook sooooooo bad!!!!!!!!
      • bookfan2008
        bookfan2008Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 8:01 am55 stars
        Good! A new girl named Peppi is going too a new school. When she gets in the new hallway she bumps into this boy and drops all of her stuff. Now, that's akward! This boy causes many emabarassing and akward moments. Then there becomes this big problem with her art club and this new boy get's involved. Also, he's kind of a ner.d and still pretty made at Peppi. Will Peppi face this embarasment and get over this problem? Read this book to find out!
        • getitgirl
          getitgirlWednesday, February 12, 2020 at 4:42 am55 stars
          This is a very good comic
          • AnastaciaMonday, January 6, 2020 at 3:20 pm
            I think jamie was the best character because he had a really good personality and a really good sense in humor and he's not that mean like all of the other students in the science team. Penelope(peppi) also had a really good personality and sense of humor but wasn't always nice at all times. I knew from the start the bullies had nice in them they just didn't want t show it because they thought was cool and "rad" of them to do it ( bully).
            • bribat1920
              bribat1920Monday, May 11, 2020 at 3:01 am
              I agree jamie was a really good character because he stayed true to himself and penelope knew she did wrong so i really did respect her, it made it better when she apologized because we got to see deeper into jamies personality and his life.
            • tenrenWednesday, November 13, 2019 at 2:53 pm
              is this a good book?
              • TytySaturday, October 12, 2019 at 2:08 pm
                I loved this book when I read it
                • kawaiiunipuppy
                  kawaiiunipuppyFriday, October 11, 2019 at 6:07 am
                  its a great book really it does not change the chapter book.
                  • lime_skater0707
                    lime_skater0707Saturday, June 29, 2019 at 2:55 pm
                    This is a comic if you don't know. This book is recommended to ESL students in my town. It is about building friendship and giving and idea to people so they can work together to make a difference. I think this book is really good. This book is a series of Brave and Crush. They are all different characters though. It is just a same author and thats all. However, this book is really good. Try reading it!
                    • mushroomcet
                      mushroomcetSaturday, June 1, 2019 at 9:50 pm55 stars
                      I think this is a lovely book. At first, Peppi pushes down a boy who was helping her collect her books after she tried on her first day of school. Then, Peppi's other friends steals a remote control of Jamie and tells her to give it back. But, when she tries, they get mad at each other and then they get mad at each other; which makes things "awkward ." Later, things work out!!!