Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 3n/a2.810933
Cardinal rule #1 for surviving school: Don't get noticed by the mean kids.

Cardinal rule #2 for surviving school: Seek out groups with similar interests and join them.

On her first day at her new school, Penelope--Peppi--Torres reminds herself of these basics. But when she trips into a quiet boy in the hall, Jaime Thompson, she's already broken the first rule, and the mean kids start calling her the "nerder girlfriend." How does she handle this crisis? By shoving poor Jaime and running away!

Falling back on rule two and surrounding herself with new friends in the art club, Peppi still can't help feeling ashamed about the way she treated Jaime. Things are already awkward enough between the two, but to make matters worse, he's a member of her own club's archrivals--the science club! And when the two clubs go to war, Peppi realizes that sometimes you have to break the rules to survive middle school!
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on July 21, 2015 by Yen Press
ISBN-10: 0316381322
ISBN-13: 9780316381321
38 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • getitgirl
    getitgirlWednesday, February 12, 2020 at 4:42 am55 stars
    This is a very good comic
    • AnastaciaMonday, January 6, 2020 at 3:20 pm
      I think jamie was the best character because he had a really good personality and a really good sense in humor and he's not that mean like all of the other students in the science team. Penelope(peppi) also had a really good personality and sense of humor but wasn't always nice at all times. I knew from the start the bullies had nice in them they just didn't want t show it because they thought was cool and "rad" of them to do it ( bully).
      • tenrenWednesday, November 13, 2019 at 2:53 pm
        is this a good book?
        • TytySaturday, October 12, 2019 at 2:08 pm
          I loved this book when I read it
          • kawaiiunipuppy
            kawaiiunipuppyFriday, October 11, 2019 at 6:07 am
            its a great book really it does not change the chapter book.
            • jini0710
              jini0710Saturday, June 29, 2019 at 2:55 pm
              This is a comic if you don't know. This book is recommended to ESL students in my town. It is about building friendship and giving and idea to people so they can work together to make a difference. I think this book is really good. This book is a series of Brave and Crush. They are all different characters though. It is just a same author and thats all. However, this book is really good. Try reading it!
              • mushroomcet
                mushroomcetSaturday, June 1, 2019 at 9:50 pm55 stars
                I think this is a lovely book. At first, Peppi pushes down a boy who was helping her collect her books after she tried on her first day of school. Then, Peppi's other friends steals a remote control of Jamie and tells her to give it back. But, when she tries, they get mad at each other and then they get mad at each other; which makes things "awkward ." Later, things work out!!!
                • inmemoryofcpr
                  inmemoryofcprSaturday, June 1, 2019 at 2:08 pm55 stars
                  Penelope, also known as Peppi, has gone down to disaster when she accidentally trips on the first day of school. Then a nerdy kid, called Jaime, assists her and she is noticed by the bullies. So Peppi pushes him away and every time she sees him she just feels bad and awkward.
                  • shootingstars
                    shootingstarsThursday, May 23, 2019 at 6:48 pm55 stars
                    It’s Penolopes first day at her new school... Will she make friends? Will she get bullied? She gets super worried and doesn’t pay attention to where she is walking! Penolope accidentally bumps into the “nerd”, and the both fall down. Other kids start laughing, and she gets really embarrassed. After she gets up, she shoves Jamie to the ground. What does she do next? Join Peppi in her School Adventure! This is definitely a book you should check out! I would give this one five stars, and a high-five! Definitely one of my favorites! -Star
                    • cookie1001
                      cookie1001Friday, November 9, 2018 at 3:10 pm55 stars
                      I had to pick a graphic novel this looked interesting.It was pretty good.I recommend this book if you like graphic novels.