Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 3n/a2.810933
Cardinal rule #1 for surviving school: Don't get noticed by the mean kids.

Cardinal rule #2 for surviving school: Seek out groups with similar interests and join them.

On her first day at her new school, Penelope--Peppi--Torres reminds herself of these basics. But when she trips into a quiet boy in the hall, Jaime Thompson, she's already broken the first rule, and the mean kids start calling her the "nerder girlfriend." How does she handle this crisis? By shoving poor Jaime and running away!

Falling back on rule two and surrounding herself with new friends in the art club, Peppi still can't help feeling ashamed about the way she treated Jaime. Things are already awkward enough between the two, but to make matters worse, he's a member of her own club's archrivals--the science club! And when the two clubs go to war, Peppi realizes that sometimes you have to break the rules to survive middle school!
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on July 21, 2015 by Yen Press
ISBN-10: 0316381322
ISBN-13: 9780316381321
45 Book Reviews
  • ninjanugget
    ninjanuggetMonday, June 21, 2021 at 5:21 pm55 stars
    This book is a part of a series. The series has 3 books named,awkward,brave,and crush.They are all very good books and I have read all three!I recommend this book for all ages 10- and up.And I rate this a 5\5 stars.
    • vdamze
      vdamzeThursday, June 17, 2021 at 5:35 pm55 stars
      This book surprised me I thought Peppi (Penelope) would never apologize to Jamie but they turned out to be really good friends maybe if I read the next book they might be more than friends like bffs 😉 I hope you enjoy the book as much as me!
      • ochaco
        ochacoWednesday, December 23, 2020 at 2:08 pm44 stars
        ⚠ SPOILERS ⚠ It's such a good book, it's got a nice plot and I like how she put in a character who got around on a wheelchair it just makes the book seem inclusive to everyone disabled, having divorced parents, ECT it's about one girl and one boy who meet on the first day and the boy get's teased about dating the girl, so she pushes him down and runs but then she feels bad for doing it and there separated by clubs ''Art" and "Tech" at the end they all come together and make one big astronomy project and get along.
        • sunshine2010
          sunshine2010Sunday, June 28, 2020 at 3:46 am44 stars
          Good book. I don't spoil so ya I want say
          • hiThursday, June 25, 2020 at 11:53 am
            i want to read this boook sooooooo bad!!!!!!!!
            • bookfan2008
              bookfan2008Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 8:01 am55 stars
              Good! A new girl named Peppi is going too a new school. When she gets in the new hallway she bumps into this boy and drops all of her stuff. Now, that's akward! This boy causes many emabarassing and akward moments. Then there becomes this big problem with her art club and this new boy get's involved. Also, he's kind of a ner.d and still pretty made at Peppi. Will Peppi face this embarasment and get over this problem? Read this book to find out!
              • getitgirl
                getitgirlWednesday, February 12, 2020 at 4:42 am55 stars
                This is a very good comic
                • AnastaciaMonday, January 6, 2020 at 3:20 pm
                  I think jamie was the best character because he had a really good personality and a really good sense in humor and he's not that mean like all of the other students in the science team. Penelope(peppi) also had a really good personality and sense of humor but wasn't always nice at all times. I knew from the start the bullies had nice in them they just didn't want t show it because they thought was cool and "rad" of them to do it ( bully).
                  • bribat1920
                    bribat1920Monday, May 11, 2020 at 3:01 am
                    I agree jamie was a really good character because he stayed true to himself and penelope knew she did wrong so i really did respect her, it made it better when she apologized because we got to see deeper into jamies personality and his life.
                  • tenrenWednesday, November 13, 2019 at 2:53 pm
                    is this a good book?
                    • TytySaturday, October 12, 2019 at 2:08 pm
                      I loved this book when I read it