Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 3n/a2.810933
Cardinal rule #1 for surviving school: Don't get noticed by the mean kids.

Cardinal rule #2 for surviving school: Seek out groups with similar interests and join them.

On her first day at her new school, Penelope--Peppi--Torres reminds herself of these basics. But when she trips into a quiet boy in the hall, Jaime Thompson, she's already broken the first rule, and the mean kids start calling her the "nerder girlfriend." How does she handle this crisis? By shoving poor Jaime and running away!

Falling back on rule two and surrounding herself with new friends in the art club, Peppi still can't help feeling ashamed about the way she treated Jaime. Things are already awkward enough between the two, but to make matters worse, he's a member of her own club's archrivals--the science club! And when the two clubs go to war, Peppi realizes that sometimes you have to break the rules to survive middle school!
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on July 21, 2015 by Yen Press
ISBN-10: 0316381322
ISBN-13: 9780316381321
33 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • jini0710
    jini0710Saturday, June 29, 2019 at 2:55 pm
    This is a comic if you don't know. This book is recommended to ESL students in my town. It is about building friendship and giving and idea to people so they can work together to make a difference. I think this book is really good. This book is a series of Brave and Crush. They are all different characters though. It is just a same author and thats all. However, this book is really good. Try reading it!
    • mushroomcet
      mushroomcetSaturday, June 1, 2019 at 9:50 pm55 stars
      I think this is a lovely book. At first, Peppi pushes down a boy who was helping her collect her books after she tried on her first day of school. Then, Peppi's other friends steals a remote control of Jamie and tells her to give it back. But, when she tries, they get mad at each other and then they get mad at each other; which makes things "awkward ." Later, things work out!!!
      • inmemoryofcpr
        inmemoryofcprSaturday, June 1, 2019 at 2:08 pm55 stars
        Penelope, also known as Peppi, has gone down to disaster when she accidentally trips on the first day of school. Then a nerdy kid, called Jaime, assists her and she is noticed by the bullies. So Peppi pushes him away and every time she sees him she just feels bad and awkward.
        • shootingstars
          shootingstarsThursday, May 23, 2019 at 6:48 pm55 stars
          It’s Penolopes first day at her new school... Will she make friends? Will she get bullied? She gets super worried and doesn’t pay attention to where she is walking! Penolope accidentally bumps into the “nerd”, and the both fall down. Other kids start laughing, and she gets really embarrassed. After she gets up, she shoves Jamie to the ground. What does she do next? Join Peppi in her School Adventure! This is definitely a book you should check out! I would give this one five stars, and a high-five! Definitely one of my favorites! -Star
          • cookie1001
            cookie1001Friday, November 9, 2018 at 3:10 pm55 stars
            I had to pick a graphic novel this looked interesting.It was pretty good.I recommend this book if you like graphic novels.
            • starfish112
              starfish112Saturday, August 25, 2018 at 5:26 pm55 stars
              it is a comic book so good
              • bookstory13
                bookstory13Wednesday, June 27, 2018 at 11:18 am55 starsFeatured
                Gosh, I REALLY love this book! I don't usually read comic books....I'm more of a scifi and fantasy person. But Awkward, well, the title drew me in and I thought why not give it a shot. TURNS OUT I LOVE LOVE LOVE IT! I checked it out from my amazing local library and read it like five times in three days and then kept visiting my favorite parts. I think why I really like it is because Peppi's emotions are so dramatic but it also is like a regular middle school. There are rival clubs, fairs, sweet field trips, and friends! Even if you don't like comic books, I would TOTALLY give this one a try! --BKS reviews
                • spykitten
                  spykittenThursday, September 27, 2018 at 6:47 am55 stars
                  Thank you so much bookstory13! I love it!
                  • kittensarecute
                    kittensarecuteSunday, August 26, 2018 at 1:33 pm55 stars
                    i also loved this back
                  • watermelooon
                    watermelooonSunday, April 29, 2018 at 1:10 pm55 stars
                    It is a really good book .It is about a girl named Penelope,Peppi for short,that moved from a new town , trying to survive middle school.
                    • hjkdklopikfmf
                      hjkdklopikfmfWednesday, February 21, 2018 at 3:25 pm
                      i here this book is good
                      • vivisawesome
                        vivisawesomeTuesday, February 6, 2018 at 3:50 pm55 stars
                        It is the most awesome graphic novel in the world!!!!!!!!!