Aru Shah and the End of Time (A Pandava Novel Book 1) (Pandava Series)

Best-selling author Rick Riordan introduces this adventure by Roshani Chokshi about twelve-year-old Aru Shah, who has a tendency to stretch the truth in order to fit in at school. While her classmates are jetting off to family vacations in exotic locales, she'll be spending her autumn break at home, in the Museum of Ancient Indian Art and Culture, waiting for her mom to return from her latest archeological trip. Is it any wonder that Aru makes up stories about being royalty, traveling to Paris, and having a chauffeur?
One day, three schoolmates show up at Aru's doorstep to catch her in a lie. They don't believe her claim that the museum's Lamp of Bharata is cursed, and they dare Aru to prove it. Just a quick light, Aru thinks. Then she can get herself out of this mess and never ever fib again.
But lighting the lamp has dire consequences. She unwittingly frees the Sleeper, an ancient demon whose duty it is to awaken the God of Destruction. Her classmates and beloved mother are frozen in time, and it's up to Aru to save them.
The only way to stop the demon is to find the reincarnations of the five legendary Pandava brothers, protagonists of the Hindu epic poem, the Mahabharata, and journey through the Kingdom of Death. But how is one girl in Spider-Man pajamas supposed to do all that?

Download FREE Educator’s Guide

Paperback, 368 pages
Published on March 19, 2019 by Rick Riordan Presents
ISBN-10: 1368023568
ISBN-13: 9781368023566
68 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • beachbreeze14
    beachbreeze14Friday, October 4, 2019 at 7:25 am55 stars
    This amazing twist off of Hindu Mythology is worthy of Rick Riorden himself! Written by Roshani Chokshi, The End of Time follows the journey of the main character, Aru Shah, after her so-called friends accused her of lying (she may have stretched the truth a 'little' bit) and dared her to light a cursed lamp that was on display in her "home", the Museum of Ancient Indian Art and Culture. Suddenly, she finds out that she unleashed an ancient demon known as the Sleeper, and she has 9 days before he awakens the god of destruction. In addition, everywhere the Sleeper goes, time is frozen! Guided by a talking pigeon she nicknamed Boo, Aru quickly embarked to find her Pandava (hero reincarnate) sister, Mini, and defeat the sleeper once and for all, even if it means they have to deal with demons and gods and travel through the Kingdom of Death!
    • 13iamgroot
      13iamgrootFriday, August 30, 2019 at 3:40 pm55 starsFeatured
      In this wonderful novel on Hindu mythology, Aru Shah just wants to fit in with everyone at her school. In order to do this, she sometimes lies (just a tiny bit) and sometimes gets busted (hopefully just a tiny bit). So when the most popular kids in her class visit the museum that she lives in with her mom, and she answers the door in Spiderman pajamas, Aru kinda sorta has to accept their dare . They dare her to light the cursed lamp in the museum that her mother has always told her not to light, and they are recording the whole thing. After lighting the lamp, all time is frozen for everyone except her and Mini. Aru finds out that she has the soul of a Pandava and so does Mini and so, of course, she has to go on a quest (still in her Spiderman pajamas). I would definitely recommend this for fans of any Rick Riordan book.
      • SAYANFriday, August 16, 2019 at 7:11 am
        l think this book is very very nice and cool
        • imabookworm3
          imabookworm3Friday, August 9, 2019 at 8:24 am55 stars
          I decided to read this book because it is about a different culture. I thought it was pretty good because she has to save the world and she meets friends along the way and there is a lot of suspense. Overall this book was really good.
          • kitkat4
            kitkat4Wednesday, July 10, 2019 at 5:11 pm33 stars
            Exciting, funny.
            • JoliaSunday, June 23, 2019 at 1:39 am
              I bet it's cool super cool right eveyone?
              • JM The GreatFriday, June 7, 2019 at 11:39 am
                Amazing
                • marshmallow21
                  marshmallow21Wednesday, June 5, 2019 at 8:00 pm55 stars
                  AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                  • Derpy Girl 13Tuesday, June 4, 2019 at 3:48 pm
                    O M G !Rick Riordan is one of my all time favorite authors and if you loved this book I totally recommend Percy Jackson, Heros of Olympus,and basically all of his other books.
                    • mysteryturtle24
                      mysteryturtle24Tuesday, June 4, 2019 at 5:09 am55 stars
                      I read this book because I heard from somebody about the Rick Riordan Presents Series, and I couldn't wait to see how the books were. When I finally found this, I was not disappointed in the least. I loved how the author kept the same style of humor that Rick Riordan usually injects into his books, and that it was still solid with tons of information about the culture and mythology. This is a great book to read if you liked anything by Rick Riordan, which is kind of hard not to. So what are you waiting for? Go read this book!