Aru Shah – Teacher Giveaway
To win a FREE copy of this book, email editor@dogonews.com with your name, school mailing address and grade you teach.
10 copies will be awarded on a first come, first serve basis
Best-selling author Rick Riordan introduces this adventure by Roshani Chokshi about twelve-year-old Aru Shah, who has a tendency to stretch the truth in order to fit in at school. While her classmates are jetting off to family vacations in exotic locales, she'll be spending her autumn break at home, in the Museum of Ancient Indian Art and Culture, waiting for her mom to return from her latest archeological trip. Is it any wonder that Aru makes up stories about being royalty, traveling to Paris, and having a chauffeur?
One day, three schoolmates show up at Aru's doorstep to catch her in a lie. They don't believe her claim that the museum's Lamp of Bharata is cursed, and they dare Aru to prove it. Just a quick light, Aru thinks. Then she can get herself out of this mess and never ever fib again.
But lighting the lamp has dire consequences. She unwittingly frees the Sleeper, an ancient demon whose duty it is to awaken the God of Destruction. Her classmates and beloved mother are frozen in time, and it's up to Aru to save them.
The only way to stop the demon is to find the reincarnations of the five legendary Pandava brothers, protagonists of the Hindu epic poem, the Mahabharata, and journey through the Kingdom of Death. But how is one girl in Spider-Man pajamas supposed to do all that?

Download FREE Educator’s Guide

Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on March 27, 2018 by Rick Riordan Presents
ISBN-10: 1368012353
ISBN-13: 9781368012355
14 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • selina
    selinaTuesday, April 17, 2018 at 10:25 am55 stars
    Aru sometimes stretched the truth so she can fit into her private middle school. When three of her classmates show up on her doorstep they catch her in her lie. They wound't believe that the Lamp of Bharata was cursed and they dared her to light it. Aru never understood lighting the lamp would destroy her world. She accidentally frees the Sleeper, the one who is determined to awaken the God of Destruction. The only way to stop the demon is find the five mythical Pandava brothers in the kingdom of death. How a teenage girl in spider-man jammies supposed to do all of that?
    • DERPY_GIRL!!!!!Tuesday, April 17, 2018 at 4:24 am
      i read all of the percy jackson series rick is the best!!!!!!!!!
      • lillypad904
        lillypad904Monday, April 16, 2018 at 7:52 pm
        i just ordered it
        • Cake 666Saturday, April 7, 2018 at 2:44 pm
          I am Hindu so this makes perfect sense to me. It sounds so cool.
          • AnnaSaturday, April 7, 2018 at 6:19 am
            I wanna see it!
            • jazleyThursday, April 5, 2018 at 9:44 am
              I love Rick he is so good at his books like books my fav was Magnus chase and the sword of summer.
              • mybooksandi
                mybooksandiTuesday, March 27, 2018 at 2:19 pm33 stars
                I love mythology. To be honest, Rick Riordan’s book made me love it. So when I saw this new “Rick Riordan Presents” ARC I had to request it. And based on the high demand on this particular ARC, I would say I got pretty lucky. ASATEOF was beautiful in many different ways. I was so excited to see that a middle grade mythology novel is based on Hindu mythology. #WENEEDMOREDIVERSEBOOKSINOURLIVES But, Aru Shah maybe, kind of had a bit of flaws. I shall now arrange this in a pros and cons order- PROS- What I really liked about this novel is the mythology. The Hindu mythology was something new to find in middle grade novels, AND I LOVED IT. The humor in Aru Shah was HILARIOUS! (Wow Lana, the humor was hilarious) There is something though….we’ll just leave it for the cons. The characters were really interesting. I l oved how Roshani Chokshi gave them different personalities. I loved them so much, I wished that I can just hop in and join them on their adventure. I really liked Aru. I loved how she was smart and adventurous. For a girl like Mini, Aru Shah was a perfect sister. Mini was so adorable. Her personality stood out from all the other characters from different books. Mini was truly special! CONS- This is going to be a really short list, so listen carefully… The jokes and references in this book were a bit exaggerated. Ok, I laughed at most of them, but in the middle of a fight, a joke irritates me. Oh! Another thing, the author says that Aru is feeling mad or sad, but she says something a mad person wouldn’t say. When you feel mad, do you usually crack a joke? I don’t think so. In all, I liked this book. There were a few “things” that really upset me. ASATEOF had a bright future, but had a bit of a rough trip. 3 stars from me! Not bad! I received an ARC from DogoBooks; this has not influenced my opinion.
                • zingisme213
                  zingisme213Wednesday, April 18, 2018 at 8:29 am44 stars
                  This is the longest book review I've ever seen. LOL
                • maddyp18
                  maddyp18Monday, March 26, 2018 at 9:11 pmFeatured
                  Although Aru Shah goes to a private middle school, she doesn't fit in with all of her snobby rich classmates. Instead of flying to a far away vacation home for break, Aru is spending her break at the Museum of Ancient Indian Art and Culture, which her mom curates. As an attempt to fit in, Aru constantly tells lies to impress people, about the clothes she wears, or where she is going for vacation. When three of Aru's classmates arrive at the museum to catch her in a lie about the cursed Lamp of Bharata, Aru had to either light the lamp, or face humiliation in front of her entire school. So she lights the lamp. But lighting the lamp unleashes the Sleeper, a demon who is determined to end all time. In order to stop the world from ending, Aru, her sister Mini, and a talking pigeon named Boo have to go on a wild journey through the Kingdom of Death. Will these heroes stop the Sleeper, or will everything they know and love disappear? Read this inspirational book to find out. I really enjoyed this book, and I would recommend it to older elementary school age kids. This book has a great twist on Hindu mythology, and you learn a lot while reading it. It also conveys great themes, about friendship and makng the right choices. If you want to read an exciting and interesting fantasy story, this is the book for you!
                  • jchen
                    jchenMonday, March 26, 2018 at 10:19 am
                    Looks cool. I want to read it.
                    • inh8
                      inh8Sunday, March 25, 2018 at 5:59 pm55 starsFeatured
                      If you are even a little bit of a fan of mythology, this is made for YOU. Aru shah, twelve-year-old girl, never fit in, so she had always wanted to. She lives in the Museum Of Indian Art and Culture, so her whole life, she has heard stories, and warnings on "Do's" and "Don't's." Espeeeecialy that one about not lighting the "cursed lamp" of Bharata. Definitely a Don't. But none of this stops her from lying to her fellow classmates about being royalty, and about always jetting off to luxurious islands like them. Or from lighting the cursed lamp that she had literally been told a thousand time not to lamp when three of her classmates show up to catch her in a lie. So she lights it, and in doing so, unwillingly awakens the Sleeper, a demon who will freeze everyone in time, and awaken Lord Shiva, the God of Destruction, who will end the world. Yikes. Suddenly, she is whisked away to "The Otherworld,'' the realm of the gods, where she will team up with Boo the pigeon, and her sister to get to the celestial weapons before the sleeper, and save the world. Introduced by legendary mythology writer Rick Riordan, Readers are bound to be hooked after page one, to excited to stop reading for a single second!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      zingisme213

                      loved this book! Got it for my b...
                      The Tales of Beedle the Bard, St...

                      Camryn Tatum wrote:

                      I LOVE this book! It was awesome!
                      Girls Rule! (Boy/Girl Battle)

                      lol2000
                      lol2000 wrote:

                      very funny i recommend it
                      The BFG

                      Samantha Madden wrote:

                      this book is so mysterious and a...
                      Frozen Charlotte