Best-selling author Rick Riordan introduces this adventure by Roshani Chokshi about twelve-year-old Aru Shah, who has a tendency to stretch the truth in order to fit in at school. While her classmates are jetting off to family vacations in exotic locales, she'll be spending her autumn break at home, in the Museum of Ancient Indian Art and Culture, waiting for her mom to return from her latest archeological trip. Is it any wonder that Aru makes up stories about being royalty, traveling to Paris, and having a chauffeur?
One day, three schoolmates show up at Aru's doorstep to catch her in a lie. They don't believe her claim that the museum's Lamp of Bharata is cursed, and they dare Aru to prove it. Just a quick light, Aru thinks. Then she can get herself out of this mess and never ever fib again.
But lighting the lamp has dire consequences. She unwittingly frees the Sleeper, an ancient demon whose duty it is to awaken the God of Destruction. Her classmates and beloved mother are frozen in time, and it's up to Aru to save them.
The only way to stop the demon is to find the reincarnations of the five legendary Pandava brothers, protagonists of the Hindu epic poem, the Mahabharata, and journey through the Kingdom of Death. But how is one girl in Spider-Man pajamas supposed to do all that?

Download FREE Educator’s Guide

Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on March 27, 2018 by Rick Riordan Presents
ISBN-10: 1368012353
ISBN-13: 9781368012355
62 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • JM The GreatFriday, June 7, 2019 at 11:39 am
    Amazing
    • marshmallow21
      marshmallow21Wednesday, June 5, 2019 at 8:00 pm55 stars
      AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
      • Derpy Girl 13Tuesday, June 4, 2019 at 3:48 pm
        O M G !Rick Riordan is one of my all time favorite authors and if you loved this book I totally recommend Percy Jackson, Heros of Olympus,and basically all of his other books.
        • mysteryturtle24
          mysteryturtle24Tuesday, June 4, 2019 at 5:09 am55 stars
          I read this book because I heard from somebody about the Rick Riordan Presents Series, and I couldn't wait to see how the books were. When I finally found this, I was not disappointed in the least. I loved how the author kept the same style of humor that Rick Riordan usually injects into his books, and that it was still solid with tons of information about the culture and mythology. This is a great book to read if you liked anything by Rick Riordan, which is kind of hard not to. So what are you waiting for? Go read this book!
          • hiWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 3:08 pm
            This book is amazing. It's hilarious and when I read it I couldn't stop. I would definitely recommend it. The book had everything!!
            • athlete08
              athlete08Tuesday, May 28, 2019 at 7:09 am
              OHHHHHHHHHHHH, this looks so GOOD!! Thanks for telling me which grade it should be rated monstergalaxy! Really Helpful.
              • watercolrwonder
                watercolrwonderTuesday, May 28, 2019 at 4:46 am44 stars
                If you liked Percy Jackson, you will love this new story by Roshani Chokshi! It is all adventure, humor, and action as Aru and her "sister" race to stop the Sleeper.
                • monstergalaxy
                  monstergalaxyMonday, May 27, 2019 at 6:22 pm55 stars
                  This book is really good! The author is a really good one. I would recommend this to kids 3rd grade and up to 6th!
                  • im-riddikulus
                    im-riddikulusMonday, May 20, 2019 at 4:18 am55 stars
                    Get ready for the adventure of a lifetime! Venture into Aru's world! This book is based on Hindu mythology and it is absolutely wonderful! It's one of the funniest books I've ever read and I absolutely adored it. I recommend this book to grades 4th and up.
                    • bookstory13
                      bookstory13Wednesday, May 15, 2019 at 6:29 pm55 stars
                      Aru Shah is a book about a girl who has to fulfill a destiny that she knows nothing about. Aru is pressured to light a lamp (one that she knows she's not supposed to light) and released a demon (one that she thought was there). Suddenly, the lives of everyone in the WHOLE WORLD are on the line. Aru must defeat the demon to save everyone she has every loved, everyone in the world....and time itself.