Best-selling author Rick Riordan introduces this adventure by Roshani Chokshi about twelve-year-old Aru Shah, who has a tendency to stretch the truth in order to fit in at school. While her classmates are jetting off to family vacations in exotic locales, she'll be spending her autumn break at home, in the Museum of Ancient Indian Art and Culture, waiting for her mom to return from her latest archeological trip. Is it any wonder that Aru makes up stories about being royalty, traveling to Paris, and having a chauffeur?
One day, three schoolmates show up at Aru's doorstep to catch her in a lie. They don't believe her claim that the museum's Lamp of Bharata is cursed, and they dare Aru to prove it. Just a quick light, Aru thinks. Then she can get herself out of this mess and never ever fib again.
But lighting the lamp has dire consequences. She unwittingly frees the Sleeper, an ancient demon whose duty it is to awaken the God of Destruction. Her classmates and beloved mother are frozen in time, and it's up to Aru to save them.
The only way to stop the demon is to find the reincarnations of the five legendary Pandava brothers, protagonists of the Hindu epic poem, the Mahabharata, and journey through the Kingdom of Death. But how is one girl in Spider-Man pajamas supposed to do all that?

Download FREE Educator’s Guide

Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on March 27, 2018 by Rick Riordan Presents
ISBN-10: 1368012353
ISBN-13: 9781368012355
36 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • selina
    selinaWednesday, July 18, 2018 at 7:12 pm55 stars
    Aru sometimes stretched the truth so she can fit into her private middle school. When three of her classmates show up on her doorstep they catch her in her lie. They wound't believe that the Lamp of Bharata was cursed and they dared her to light it. Aru never understood lighting the lamp would destroy her world. She accidentally frees the Sleeper, the one who is determined to awaken the God of Destruction. The only way to stop the demon is find the five mythical Pandava brothers in the kingdom of death. How a teenage girl in spider-man jammies supposed to do all of that?
    • soyster
      soysterWednesday, July 11, 2018 at 5:07 pm33 stars
      This guess I liked this book. It revolves around a character named Aru Shah. Caught in a lie, she had to light a cursed lamp to prove herself. The lamp released someone named the Sleeper who was determined to find the God of Destruction. On a journey to save Earth along with another girl named Mini, they get caught up in a universe of gods and demons. One thing I didn't really like about the book was that the main character has the tendency to lie a lot, and although I know that it was an intended part of her character, I still didn't enjoy it. Other than that though, it was decent enough
      • dreambig100
        dreambig100Sunday, July 8, 2018 at 8:32 pm44 stars
        Aru Shah and the End of Time was a wonderful book. I recommend it to grades 5 and up. I was clinging to my seat waiting to find out what would happen next.
        • extrememsb
          extrememsbTuesday, July 3, 2018 at 3:28 pm44 starsFeatured
          Ever wondered about time? Follow Aru Shaw, the pandava of her generation. The pandavas are suppose to be famous in Hindu mythology. They each like different things. For example Arjuna likes to battle. Their soul gets passed down from generation to generation. There is this lamp that is cursed. If you light it then an evil demon comes out. Aru is usually a liar so her classmates don't believe her when she says that the lamp is cursed. They dare her to light the lamp. Just one quick light and I will blow it out, she thinks. But, lighting the lamp has bad consequences. She apparently releases the Sleeper. The Sleeper plans to wake up Lord Shiva( the god of destruction) and destroy the world. Aru meets this other pandava named Mini. They soon figure out that Aru is the daughter of Lord Indra( the god of gods) and Mini is the daughter of Dharma Raja( the god of death). The keys unlock an entrance to the Kingdom of Death without dying. They have to get into the Kingdom of Death to know how to stop the sleeper. Follow Aru and Mini's adventure to save the world and a quest for the three keys! This book was very exciting! It also has a lot of Hindu mythology. It can teach a lot about culture. It was also very informational. I would recommend this book for grades 3 and up. I think you should read this book!
          • eybook2018
            eybook2018Saturday, June 30, 2018 at 4:55 pm
            Aru Shah and the End of Time (A Pandava Novel Book 1) (Pandava Series)This book is part of Rick Riordan presents, a foundation dedicated to authors from different cultures and background. And is a good book to read.
            • msbanana
              msbananaSunday, June 24, 2018 at 10:57 am55 stars
              This book is part of Rick Riordan presents, a foundation dedicated to authors from different cultures and background. This boom, Aru Shah and the End Of Time, focuses on Hindu myths. While I was never really into that, (I liked my Greek myths) I love this book. Everyone should read it!
              • unicorn992
                unicorn992Tuesday, June 19, 2018 at 6:04 pm55 stars
                magical. i love it! this book is one of my favorites. i recommend it to others. it is an easy read and good for when you just want to relax.
                • applemango
                  applemangoSunday, June 17, 2018 at 8:17 pm55 stars
                  When I read this book as one of the tops in the N.Y times paper I instantly begged my mom to by it for although she didn't buy it for me she still borrowed it from the library! This story has a fantastic base and really intriguers you to read on it is one of the most wispy book I have read!!
                  • npstation
                    npstationMonday, June 11, 2018 at 8:17 am55 stars
                    I loved this book from start to end and I highly recommend to all kids who love stories about mythology. Roshani Chokshi is my favorite author now after reading this book and I cant wait for her upcoming book in 2019. Read through this book to learn more about the adventures of a 12 year old girl Aru and her sister Mini and the talking pigeon - Boo.
                    • npstation
                      npstationMonday, June 11, 2018 at 8:13 am55 stars
                      This is a wonderful book of mystery and suspense and I loved the characters Aru & Mini through their journey to save the world from end of time.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      hopes
                      hopes wrote:

                      I loved this book because it was...
                      Mustaches for Maddie

                      spykitten
                      spykitten wrote:

                      I am reading the Land Of Stories...
                      The Curvy Tree: A Tale from the ...

                      jso6
                      jso6 wrote:

                      Zach King lives in a family that...
                      Zach King: My Magical Life

                      jso6
                      jso6 wrote:

                      Rump is a boy with half of a nam...
                      Rump: The True Story of Rumpelst...