Best-selling author Rick Riordan introduces this adventure by Roshani Chokshi about twelve-year-old Aru Shah, who has a tendency to stretch the truth in order to fit in at school. While her classmates are jetting off to family vacations in exotic locales, she'll be spending her autumn break at home, in the Museum of Ancient Indian Art and Culture, waiting for her mom to return from her latest archeological trip. Is it any wonder that Aru makes up stories about being royalty, traveling to Paris, and having a chauffeur?
One day, three schoolmates show up at Aru's doorstep to catch her in a lie. They don't believe her claim that the museum's Lamp of Bharata is cursed, and they dare Aru to prove it. Just a quick light, Aru thinks. Then she can get herself out of this mess and never ever fib again.
But lighting the lamp has dire consequences. She unwittingly frees the Sleeper, an ancient demon whose duty it is to awaken the God of Destruction. Her classmates and beloved mother are frozen in time, and it's up to Aru to save them.
The only way to stop the demon is to find the reincarnations of the five legendary Pandava brothers, protagonists of the Hindu epic poem, the Mahabharata, and journey through the Kingdom of Death. But how is one girl in Spider-Man pajamas supposed to do all that?

Download FREE Educator’s Guide

Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on March 27, 2018 by Rick Riordan Presents
ISBN-10: 1368012353
ISBN-13: 9781368012355
51 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bookstory13
    bookstory13Sunday, December 9, 2018 at 5:37 pm55 starsFeatured
    THANK YOU DOGO! I saw this book in my school library and tried it because of you! Thanks so much! I literally read this book one day because it was so good. So, anyway, to the review! Aru Shah is a liar. Well....not exactly. She tells everyone what she wants to be real, not what is real. One day a couple of mean classmates who she thought were her friends come to her house during break. "You were supposed to be in Paris!!" they say. Aru realizes they are recording her, and she has no other choice but to do what they say....light the lamp in order to prove that it's not another lie. The lamp is cursed. So of course Aru does it because she wants to fit in. Only problem is: a demon is released that's going to end time...forever! Aru must set out on a quest to stop the demon with a pigeon, (Boo, who apparently is actually a powerful eagle) her "sister", (Mini, who knows thousands of everyday ways to die) and no knowledge of how to fight. She travels though the world of the dead and flees across the world of the living. Can Aru escape fate? Can she beat the odds? Can she save time and the world? --BKS reviews
    • ajg15
      ajg15Friday, November 30, 2018 at 1:04 pm44 stars
      Aru Shah loves with her mother in the museum of ancient Indian art and culture her mother is a curator there. Aru is always fibbing about being royalty or going on exotic vacations to Paris but when 3 class mates show up to catch her in the middle of a lie she lights a cursed lamp and her class mates and mom are frozen in time. But her mom fails to mention that she's this generations pandava and she has a pandava sister? Yes a pandava sister name Mini. So the girls to on a huge quest (why do quest ALWAYS have time limits?) And have to fight The Sleeper (mwahaha). The book has so many good parts, recommended to mythology lovers (like myself) Also The book has hilarious, sad, cute, sometimes frustrating (😉) parts and Roshani did in absolute amazing job on the book I look forward to part 2! P.S. Read the glossary I swear you won't regret it!) Thanks for reading -Ajg15's Reviews
      • pumpkin40107
        pumpkin40107Friday, October 5, 2018 at 4:45 pm55 stars
        Love the book it reminds me of Percy Jackson and the lightning thief and it talks about the Indian gods just like Percy Jackson learning about the gods and who his father was.BEST BOOK EVER!!!😍😻👍🏻❤️
        • cookieplayer
          cookieplayerWednesday, November 21, 2018 at 5:33 am55 stars
          AGREED! :D
        • raspberri
          raspberriWednesday, September 26, 2018 at 6:00 pm55 starsFeatured
          I loved this book! This is a story about Aru Shah, who can´t seem to fit in with other kinds in her 7th-grade class. She has a natural talent; Making up things. One day, the kids don´t believe what she says about the cursed lamp in the museum that her mom apparently owns. She sets out to prove that it is cursed, and the curiosity of hers is what leads to the adventure of life, destiny, humor, and hope. I recommend this book for people who are indeed interested in Rick Riordan´s Percy Jackson´s series and The Kane Chronicles. I got hooked up with this amazing tale, and I loved. I think you will, too!
          • slytherinfan
            slytherinfanThursday, September 13, 2018 at 5:30 pm55 stars
            This was a hilarious book! For people who Rick Riodan's books.
            • cookieplayer
              cookieplayerThursday, September 13, 2018 at 5:23 pm55 stars
              Aru Shah is a normal 7th grader who lives with her mother in a ancient Indian museum. Aru has a humorous personality and dreams of going to Paris. But, when she meets these kids who tell her these Indian stories that are not true, Aru wanted to prove it to them, so she brought to her museum. There, she lit a magical lamp, BUT......this was a very special lamp that would curse Aru. Now, Aru has to face these CRAZY adventures to save her frozen mother and classmates! Read Aru Shah to find out more in this suspenseful book!
              • ajg15
                ajg15Sunday, August 26, 2018 at 3:50 pm44 stars
                Are Shah lives with her mother in the museum of ancient Indian art and culture and her mother is the curator there. Aru is always fibbing about being royalty or going on exotic factions to Paris but when there class mates show up to catch her in the middle of a lie and gets dared to light a cursed lamp and now her mom and class mates are frozen in time. But her mom fails to mention that she is this generations pandava and... she has a pandava sister? Yes a pandava sister named Mimi. So the girls go on a huge quest (why do quest ALWAYS have time limits?) And have to fight 'The Sleeper' (Mwahahaha). The book has so many good parts, recommended to mythology (like myself) Also the book has hilarious, sad, cute, sometimes frustrating (😉) parts and Roshani did an amazing job on the book and look forward to part 2! Thanks for reading -Ajg15's Reviews (P.S. Read the glossary I swear you won't regret it!)
                • auntieb
                  auntiebTuesday, August 21, 2018 at 12:30 pm55 stars
                  Aru Shah and the End of Time is such a good book! So it's about a girl named Aru Shah who doesn't really fit in at her school.......So she lies, they're not all lies some are just half-truths. But as her classmates start to think she's lying they come to the museum where she and her mother live. And they dare her to light a lamp.........A lamp she's been told is very dangerous. Now she must race to undo what she's done! In only nine mortal days!
                  • demigod3000
                    demigod3000Thursday, August 16, 2018 at 4:24 pm55 stars
                    This book is super great if you have read any of the Rick Riordan books or just like Indian myths. When I started reading it I had a limited expanse of knowledge for Indian myths and knew a couple gods and monsters. But this book does a great job of weaving the modern world with Indian heritage and stories.
                    • heghog
                      heghogWednesday, August 15, 2018 at 9:22 am
                      this book was super good i could not stop reading it! it was pretty funny and entertaining to read my favorite part was when they were in the palace of illusions

                      Our Apps and Plugins