Best-selling author Rick Riordan introduces this adventure by Roshani Chokshi about twelve-year-old Aru Shah, who has a tendency to stretch the truth in order to fit in at school. While her classmates are jetting off to family vacations in exotic locales, she'll be spending her autumn break at home, in the Museum of Ancient Indian Art and Culture, waiting for her mom to return from her latest archeological trip. Is it any wonder that Aru makes up stories about being royalty, traveling to Paris, and having a chauffeur?
One day, three schoolmates show up at Aru's doorstep to catch her in a lie. They don't believe her claim that the museum's Lamp of Bharata is cursed, and they dare Aru to prove it. Just a quick light, Aru thinks. Then she can get herself out of this mess and never ever fib again.
But lighting the lamp has dire consequences. She unwittingly frees the Sleeper, an ancient demon whose duty it is to awaken the God of Destruction. Her classmates and beloved mother are frozen in time, and it's up to Aru to save them.
The only way to stop the demon is to find the reincarnations of the five legendary Pandava brothers, protagonists of the Hindu epic poem, the Mahabharata, and journey through the Kingdom of Death. But how is one girl in Spider-Man pajamas supposed to do all that?

Download FREE Educator’s Guide

Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on March 27, 2018 by Rick Riordan Presents
ISBN-10: 1368012353
ISBN-13: 9781368012355
48 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • pumpkin40107
    pumpkin40107Friday, October 5, 2018 at 4:45 pm55 stars
    Love the book it reminds me of Percy Jackson and the lightning thief and it talks about the Indian gods just like Percy Jackson learning about the gods and who his father was.BEST BOOK EVER!!!๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜ป๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿปโค๏ธ
    • raspberri
      raspberriWednesday, September 26, 2018 at 6:00 pm55 starsFeatured
      I loved this book! This is a story about Aru Shah, who canยดt seem to fit in with other kinds in her 7th-grade class. She has a natural talent; Making up things. One day, the kids donยดt believe what she says about the cursed lamp in the museum that her mom apparently owns. She sets out to prove that it is cursed, and the curiosity of hers is what leads to the adventure of life, destiny, humor, and hope. I recommend this book for people who are indeed interested in Rick Riordanยดs Percy Jacksonยดs series and The Kane Chronicles. I got hooked up with this amazing tale, and I loved. I think you will, too!
      • slytherinfan
        slytherinfanThursday, September 13, 2018 at 5:30 pm55 stars
        This was a hilarious book! For people who Rick Riodan's books.
        • cookieplayer
          cookieplayerThursday, September 13, 2018 at 5:23 pm44 stars
          Aru Shah is a normal 7th grader who lives with her mother in a ancient Indian museum. Aru has a humorous personality and dreams of going to Paris. But, when she meets these kids who tell her these Indian stories that are not true, Aru wanted to prove it to them, so she brought to her museum. There, she lit a magical lamp, BUT......this was a very special lamp that would curse Aru. Now, Aru has to face these CRAZY adventures to save her frozen mother and classmates! Read Aru Shah to find out more in this suspenseful book!
          • ajg15
            ajg15Sunday, August 26, 2018 at 3:50 pm55 stars
            Are Shah lives with her mother in the museum of ancient Indian art and culture and her mother is the curator there. Aru is always fibbing about being royalty or going on exotic factions to Paris but when there class mates show up to catch her in the middle of a lie and gets dared to light a cursed lamp and now her mom and class mates are frozen in time. But her mom fails to mention that she is this generations pandava and... she has a pandava sister? Yes a pandava sister named Mimi. So the girls go on a huge quest (why do quest ALWAYS have time limits?) And have to fight 'The Sleeper' (Mwahahaha). The book has so many good parts, recommended to mythology (like myself) Also the book has hilarious, sad, cute, sometimes frustrating (๐Ÿ˜‰) parts and Roshani did an amazing job on the book and look forward to part 2! Thanks for reading -Ajg15's Reviews (P.S. Read the glossary I swear you won't regret it!)
            • auntieb
              auntiebTuesday, August 21, 2018 at 12:30 pm55 stars
              Aru Shah and the End of Time is such a good book! So it's about a girl named Aru Shah who doesn't really fit in at her school.......So she lies, they're not all lies some are just half-truths. But as her classmates start to think she's lying they come to the museum where she and her mother live. And they dare her to light a lamp.........A lamp she's been told is very dangerous. Now she must race to undo what she's done! In only nine mortal days!
              • demigod3000
                demigod3000Thursday, August 16, 2018 at 4:24 pm55 stars
                This book is super great if you have read any of the Rick Riordan books or just like Indian myths. When I started reading it I had a limited expanse of knowledge for Indian myths and knew a couple gods and monsters. But this book does a great job of weaving the modern world with Indian heritage and stories.
                • heghog
                  heghogWednesday, August 15, 2018 at 9:22 am
                  this book was super good i could not stop reading it! it was pretty funny and entertaining to read my favorite part was when they were in the palace of illusions
                  • jwarne
                    jwarneMonday, August 6, 2018 at 1:40 pm33 stars
                    Ok, after reading this book I have to say: don't do what people dare you to do! She didn't think lighting the lamp would do anything, but it seriously made so much trouble.
                    • girlpower4ever
                      girlpower4everSunday, August 5, 2018 at 10:30 am55 stars
                      Rick Riordan Presents presents (oh, I see, haha!) Aru Shah and the End of Time by Roshani Chokshi. Aru lives in a museum and her "only" strength is lying. She lies to fit in at school, but they're only white lies, right? Won't hurt anybody. Actually, they can. After Aru lights a lamp to please her schoolmates, she accidentally releases the Sleeper, who after 8 days will reach Shiva, Lord of Destruction. The end of the world is near just because of one tiny little flame. Aru must prove herself to be a true Pandava, the daughter of the majestic Lord Indra, and save the end of time from happening with sidekick Mini, who's also a Daughter of Death (daughter of Dharma Raja).

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Huffypuf wrote:

                      Wow, this is an awesome book!
                      Squirm

                      Huffypuf wrote:

                      Wow, this is a super awesome book!
                      Squirm

                      Nathan wrote:

                      The book is amazing after i read...
                      Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's ...

                      not that cool wrote:

                      i would not by this it will be s...
                      Weird But True Christmas: 300 Fe...

                      Our Apps and Plugins