Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 8Y5.056684

Join the world of "Artemis Fowl", the number one bestseller by Eoin Colfer. Rumour has it Artemis Fowl is responsible for every major crime of the new century. Just twelve years old and already he's a criminal genius, plotting to restore his family's fortune with a spot of corruption and kidnapping. Kidnapping a fairy for ransom, to be precise. Artemis Fowl has discovered a world below ground of armed and dangerous - and extremely high-tech - fairies. But he may have underestimated their powers. They will fight back. Is the boy about to trigger a cross-species war? Let the misadventure begin. "Fast-paced, tongue in cheek ...laugh-out-loud". ("Sunday Times"). "A huge hit". ("The Guardian"). "Artemis is a brilliant creation". (Anthony Horowitz). Winner of the WHSmith Children's Book of the Year Award and Children's Book of the Year at the Children's Book Awards. It is shortlisted for the Whitbread Children's Book of the Year Award. Eoin Colfer was born and raised in Wexford in the south-east of Ireland. He began writing plays at an early age and, as an adult, continued to write. "Artemis Fowl", his first book featuring the brilliant young anti-hero, was an immediate international bestseller and won several prestigious awards.

Hardcover, 277 pages
Published on April 16, 2001 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 0786808012
ISBN-13: 9780786808014
105 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • pinkmonkey9
    pinkmonkey9Saturday, July 25, 2020 at 10:20 pm22 stars
    Okay so I read this book a week ago it's just Okay to me. It had a slow start but after a while it got more interesting but it still isn't really my type of book. Also my favorite Character is Holly, Artemis Fowl is kind of mean sometimes I know that he is trying to be nice but He is still mean. I'm not really going to Recommend this book Cause I didn't like it but if you do that's fine it just means that we thing of some things differently.
    • nac
      nacThursday, July 23, 2020 at 4:25 pm55 stars
      Artemis Fowl is a criminal genius out to get big money. And he's found the perfect way to get it- fairies. Holly Short is the first female fairy to be a member of LEPrecon. And she, like every other LEP officer, has a ransom fund. In gold. When Artemis Kidnaps Captain Short, he realizes that he has delved into something that he might not fully understand, and he the cause of a possible fairy-human war. Is Artemis really willing to go to such great lengths to steal fair gold? Especially when the fairies, and most especially Captain Short, are more human than he ever imagined. Will Artemis risk everything, including his only friends, to get this gold?
      • waterdroplet
        waterdropletMonday, July 20, 2020 at 10:08 am55 stars
        This book is about a boy who wants to restore his family's fortune. So he kidnaps Holly who is an elf officer of the police company called LEPrecon. In the process of doing so his mother is living in the past and he wants her to move forward.
        • blossomreader
          blossomreaderThursday, May 14, 2020 at 2:30 pm44 stars
          I really liked this book as well as the rest of the series because of the intellect of young Artemis Fowl and his intentions. Fowl is a billionaire, and a criminal mastermind. He is super smart, but most importantly, he wants to prove that fairies are real and he wants to steal their gold. The problem is, the fairies are smart too, and it might be hard for Arty to win, but that changes when his butler joins in too. His name is, , well, Butler, at least that's what we think. Will Artemis defeat the fairies and get his gold, or will Holly Short, a LEPrecon fairy, and her team destroy Artemis?
          • little_demon727
            little_demon727Monday, May 11, 2020 at 9:48 pm55 stars
            This book is better than the hunger games! I love the way Artemis almost always outsmart people and the fairies are so funny! Although I wish Artemis didn't kidnap, the book is great, I like Butler and Juliet, so how about 4.9?
            • loveroflegos
              loveroflegosMonday, March 9, 2020 at 11:29 am55 stars
              awesome there is also a comic
              • HiTuesday, December 10, 2019 at 5:33 pm
                I've read all of the Artemis Fowl books and the first Fowl Twins Book.
                • wildbill08
                  wildbill08Tuesday, December 10, 2019 at 9:19 am55 stars
                  i love the book and i can't wait for the movie.
                  • artyboifowl1
                    artyboifowl1Thursday, November 7, 2019 at 2:08 pm55 stars
                    Artemis Fowl is a book for friends, family, classmates, teachers, doctors, anybody. A great read that deserves more than five stars
                    • glitterclaws
                      glitterclawsSunday, July 14, 2019 at 7:04 pm44 stars
                      artemis fowl was rich but after his father left not so much so he needs to get his hands on fairy gold: i loved this book.