Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 8X4.135780
Jason Blake is an autistic 12-year-old living in a neurotypical world. Most days it's just a matter of time before something goes wrong. But Jason finds a glimmer of understanding when he comes across PhoenixBird, who posts stories to the same online site as he does.

Jason can be himself when he writes and he thinks that PhoneixBird-her name is Rebecca-could be his first real friend. But as desperate as Jason is to met her, he's terrified that if they do meet, Rebecca wil only see his autism and not who Jason really is.
By acclaimed writer Nora Raleigh Baskin, this is the breathtaking depiction of an autistic boy's struggles-and a story for anyone who has ever worried about fitting in.
Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on March 24, 2009 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1416963782
ISBN-13: 9781416963783
57 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • evie2009
    evie2009Friday, February 7, 2020 at 5:58 pm55 stars
    It kinda makes me cry... It's a bit sad, but mostly ugh ok let me start over....... It's about a middle school boy that is autistic or ASD, (autism spectrum disorder which I have cuz I have trouble learning and talking clearly so I sound like a robot and the kids on the bus make fun of me :,() anyway *clears throat cuz my throat hurts LOL* it's happy/sad/calming that's what I think about it. I recommend this book 👍👍👍👍👍
    • grapefruit
      grapefruitTuesday, March 20, 2018 at 4:53 am33 stars
      Interesting (but not very logical) story about a boy with autism. Jason Blake leaves stories on a writing website, meeting an user named Phoenixbird who encourages him and helps him. When the meet day of the site comes, Jason is nervous to meet the mysterious girl--whose real name is Rebecca. The story ends with Rebecca walking away and leaving Jason alone. I was thinking, THAT'S IT? A good plot with a terrible ending.
      • classifiedThursday, April 6, 2017 at 9:53 am
        In the book ,Nothing but Typical, made by Nora Raleigh Baskin, a kid named jason suffers from autism and needs to deal with real life situations. But his life is different than most. He hardly talks and is very good at writing. In this story we go into the mind of a kid with autism. The setting of the book anything but typical is mostly in his school and at his house but later in the story jason goes to a stary board club that he always wanted to go to. Jason is a vary troubled kid and needs help. Even though he has autism he is a very nice kid. His parents are very nice to jason and his nice younger brother jeremy is also very good to jason. I like how the author describes how jason thinks and how he lives life with more going on in his head than in real life. It really shows you his innerself other than the kid with autism. In the book anything but typical jason said,“The best part about jeremy is i don’t ever have to answer him, not with words anyway. And i don’t ever have to look him in the face. He doesn’t even want me too.” This book really made me think about how the kid with autism feels and how bad the kids life must be with autism. It shows his mind from his perspective and his conflicts are a lot more interesting from his view point.
        • Meme masterThursday, April 6, 2017 at 9:48 am
          this book smells good so I like it
          • AltayebThursday, April 6, 2017 at 9:48 am
            Anything but typical is the best book i ever read. Hands down.
            • ElizabethWednesday, April 5, 2017 at 11:07 am
              Nora Raleigh Baskin, the author of Anything but Typical takes the reader on a journey all about Jason Blake’s life. The main characters in Anything but Typical are Jason Blake the autistic 12 year old and his friend Seth who is always by Jason’s side. The setting in Anything but Typical is in 2 places in Connecticut. One of the places is the Middle School that Jason goes to along with his house. Readers are introduced to Jason who had ASD which is a type of autism. The author shares the struggles Jason encounters by putting him in your shoes. She explains how people think of him differently and act like just because of his disorder he is some sort of alien from another planet. Nora’s writing style is very slow and boring but still gives you a good laugh about the weird things that Jason does. Nora writes the story in first person. She uses a lot of I me and my and also makes you feel like you are there with him. Nora also engages you and takes you on the journey through Jason’s life. The setting is in Jason’s school along with his house. One quote that Nora says in her book that is really inspiring is, “ When I write, I can be heard. And known. But nobody has to look at me. Nobody has to see me at all.” Anything but Typical made me take a journey through Jason’s life and made me feel what it's like to have a disability such as ASD (Autistic spectrum disorder.)I feel like I am there with Jason encountering all of his struggles with him. It was a great experience through the eyes of a autistic 12 year old. Anything but Typical won the Schneider Family Book Award in 2010. Her books are based off of real life and about the time of when her mother committed suicide.
              • Victoria Wednesday, April 5, 2017 at 11:07 am
                Nora Raleigh Baskin, the author of Anything but Typical-2010, takes her reader to a life of a boy. Jason Blake he is the main character as the author takes you through a journey of his weird/hard life. Jason is at school as he gets into fights and learns. He is at home as trouble comes. Finally when he is at Seth’s house in connecticut the trouble starts to boil. Jason is a normal kid except he has a disease!!! You follow his life adventure and troubles and you explore his life. This book is in first person and it makes it very affective because you feel like you are there and first you get the story of what happened and then Jason explained/talks about what he thinks about this and states his opinion. “After I kicked Seth, and he fell, and then somebody stepped on a lot of his CDs. Aunt Carol came running up the stairs. My mother was right behind her. Seth was yelling so much, so loud. The cracking of the CD covers. The thumping of the footsteps on the stairs. Heels clicking on the wooden floor coming closer. Harsh snapping of hard plastic.” Anything but typical made me cry, laugh, feel mad, feel sad, and feel mad. It is full of emotions! I think that if you look books that are very understanding and in one place then this is not a good book for you. But if you like books that are complicated, confusing, and are always in different places then you should definitely read this wonderful book. Personally I love every part of the book. Anything but Typical won a Schneider family book award. Nora is kind and worked together with many people to make and publish this amazing book.
                • tiffatree
                  tiffatreeWednesday, April 5, 2017 at 11:06 am
                  Anything But Typical by Nora Raleigh Baskin shows readers the life of a boy who has autism who goes through his extraordinary life. The main characters in Anything But Typical is Jason Blake the 12 year old boy with autism and but has his love of writing , Mom Blake who is always looking out for Jason, Dad Blake, who is always looking out for him to accept more relaxed that mom, Jeremy Blake jason little brother who is kind of his handy man. In Anything But Typical it takes place in school and at home where he thinks about himself and where at school he struggles with some problems.The readers are introduced to a boy named Jason Blake and he is an autistic boy which sometimes being autistic gets in the way of his life but he can learn sometimes to deal with it, and he has the passion with writing especially on story board where he meets a girl named ¨ PhoenixBird¨ . Nora Raleigh Baskin writing style is like someone telling you about their life it makes me feel like connected because sometimes i can relate to his situation, and they way he goes around with his life and the process he goes through inside his mind, how he overcomes some of his problems and greatest fears. ¨When i look down, I see them. It looks like snow, besides my desk. I know we learned that no two snowflakes are exactly the same. Of the billions and hundreds of billions, no two are exactly the same.¨ ¨ They both have short red hair, I can't tell them apart. So i don try.¨ Anything but Typical is a book that you can relate to with all of Jason twists and turns is situations while still living life. Anything But Typical won the Scheneider Family Book Award.
                  • mjarrubes24
                    mjarrubes24Wednesday, April 5, 2017 at 11:06 am
                    Nora Raleigh Baskin the author of Anything but Typical, creates a story that will change your mind,about how you think of everything.-The book’s main character is Jason. He has autism. He has no friends because people think he is weird. The book happened in Connecticut the places where he went was ( his house, seth’s house, school). There is lots of conflicts in the story,and Jason always gives you a piece of his mind. I like how the book is written in first person.It makes you feel like you're talking to the character, and not just someone telling you a story.A quote from the book is “I will try to tell my story in their language, in your language”.What he is saying is that because he has autism it’s hard for him to communicate with people, so he was going to try, so that he can understand.The book Anything But Typical makes you feel what the character is feeling and makes you want to keep reading to find out what happens next.Somethings about the author is Nora Raleigh Baskin is a award winning writer for schneider family book award.She has been writing since she was in 6th grade.
                    • vikcyWednesday, April 5, 2017 at 11:05 am
                      Nora Raleigh Baskin, the author of Anything but Typical-2010, takes her reader to a life of a boy. Jason Blake he is the main character as the author takes you through a journey of his weird/hard life. Jason is at school as he gets into fights and learns. He is at home as trouble comes. Finally when he is at Seth’s house in connecticut the trouble starts to boil. Jason is a normal kid except he has a disease!!! You follow his life adventure and troubles and you explore his life. This book is in first person and it makes it very affective because you feel like you are there and first you get the story of what happened and then Jason explained/talks about what he thinks about this and states his opinion. “After I kicked Seth, and he fell, and then somebody stepped on a lot of his CDs. Aunt Carol came running up the stairs. My mother was right behind her. Seth was yelling so much, so loud. The cracking of the CD covers. The thumping of the footsteps on the stairs. Heels clicking on the wooden floor coming closer. Harsh snapping of hard plastic.” Anything but typical made me cry, laugh, feel mad, feel sad, and feel mad. It is full of emotions! I think that if you look books that are very understanding and in one place then this is not a good book for you. But if you like books that are complicated, confusing, and are always in different places then you should definitely read this wonderful book. Personally I love every part of the book. Anything but Typical won a Schneider family book award. Nora is kind and worked together with many people to make and publish this amazing book.