Anne of Avonlea (Second Book in the Anne of Green Gables Series.)

Book 2 of 9 in the Anne of Green Gables Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 10N8.685006
This is the continuing story of Anne of Green Gables. This is the 1977 copy.
Paperback, 483 pages
Published on March 14, 2019 by Independently published
ISBN-10: 1090322941
ISBN-13: 9781090322944
10 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • horseridinggirl
    horseridinggirlThursday, June 25, 2020 at 12:49 pm55 starsFeatured
    Anne of Avonlea is a great book. I think I may even like it better than Anne of Green Gables! This is a continuation of the previous book, Anne of Green Gables (but you probably knew that!) It's a beautiful, happy story. Anne becomes a teacher, and tries to make all her pupils happy with her and love her. Marilla also lets six year old twins, Davy and Dora, stay with herself and Anne. Davy is very mischievous, and runs into lots of troubles throughout the course of the story. There are lots of other moments in this book, that would be worth mentioning, but are better to read in L. M. Montgomery's own words!
    • willow123goma
      willow123gomaSunday, May 31, 2020 at 7:16 am55 stars
      Many people have heard about Anne of green gables, but they tend to not know about Anne of Avonlea. This is the book where Anne works as an teacher in Avonlea, adopts two children to raise with Marilla, and gets to know Gilbert even more.I loved this book and I hope you will too!
      • erpandareader
        erpandareaderTuesday, March 17, 2020 at 3:43 pm55 stars
        i am reading it now with my mom and sister and it is really good
        • ems19
          ems19Tuesday, January 21, 2020 at 12:22 pm22 stars
          This book is amazing. I definitely recommend this book but only if you have read the first book.
          • reader_red
            reader_redFriday, July 19, 2019 at 8:41 am55 stars
            Anne Shirley came to Green Gables five years ago as an unwanted girl, but now Anne keeps the household alive. Anne is faced with difficulty as she accepts a new job as a teacher at her old school.
            • quail
              quailFriday, May 17, 2019 at 3:34 am55 stars
              Calling All Kindred Spirits!!! This book is a great story for the whole family; Join Anne as she embarks on a journey so filled with love laughter and joy it will make your heart melt! My initial thoughts after reading this book were WOW just the way the story is portrayed through young Anne's eyes as she goes through all the ups and downs of being a teenager is wonderful in itself. If you loved the first book get ready to have a blast reading Anne of Avonlea!
              • teadrinker
                teadrinkerFriday, May 17, 2019 at 1:55 am55 stars
                This book is so amazing! It will keep you up reading it all night. This book`s author did an amazing job painting a picture in my mind of the setting.
                • clarinetgirl
                  clarinetgirlSaturday, March 16, 2019 at 11:02 am55 stars
                  This sequel to Anne of Green Gables will dazzle you with description of wonderful and hilarious sights and scenes alike. Perfect for readers of all ages.
                  • bookqueen1o13
                    bookqueen1o13Friday, December 30, 2016 at 6:24 pm55 stars
                    So far so good
                    • kayalli1
                      kayalli1Wednesday, August 27, 2014 at 6:14 pm33 stars
                      It's a good book.