In July 1942, thirteen-year-old Anne Frank and her family, fleeing the horrors of Nazi occupation, went into hiding in an Amsterdam warehouse. Over the next two years Anne vividly describes not only the daily frustrations of living in such close quarters, but also her thoughts, feelings and longings as she grows up. Her diary ends abruptly and tragically when, in August 1944, Anne and her family were all finally betrayed. The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank remains the single most poignant story to emerge from the Second World War, and her diary has come to symbolize not only the horrors of the Holocaust but the strength of the human spirit in adversity.
Audio CD, 8 pages
Published on May 25, 2010 by Listening Library (Audio)
ISBN-10: 0307737853
ISBN-13: 9780307737854
43 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • livlovesdogs
    livlovesdogsSunday, December 24, 2017 at 5:01 am44 stars
    Ok this was a really good book. Though it was sad, I really liked it. Stay away from tilt if you don't like sad stories!
    • allbla1718
      allbla1718Tuesday, September 26, 2017 at 11:42 am55 stars
      i loved reading this book. It tells you what life was for the franks while in hiding from the nazis. In this book Anne tells you about her feelings her hopes her dreams she also rights storys. Anne shares her feelings about everyone she is hiding with
      • lemonpie101
        lemonpie101Friday, January 27, 2017 at 3:19 pm55 stars
        I'm sad that she had to stay in an attic, had to keep quiet and make no move for 2 years!!!!!😭
        • lemonpie101
          lemonpie101Friday, January 27, 2017 at 2:52 pm55 stars
          I'm reading it in class and I'm very fascinated by the book!
          • lil_lil101
            lil_lil101Friday, November 4, 2016 at 2:11 pm
            I have read because I love history but it is so sad defiantly ask your parents before you read and do not rread it to little kids
            • kiwikat
              kiwikatThursday, June 23, 2016 at 7:07 am
              I'd think I would like this book. It sounds like it teleports you to the past.
              • beanblob
                beanblobThursday, June 23, 2016 at 6:28 am33 stars
                I really love history, and historical fiction. This book was in the WWII time period and the perspective of a young jewish girl. This book reminds me of a real version of Odette's Secret.
                • ¯\_(ツ)_/¯Tuesday, December 15, 2015 at 1:11 pm
                  It was a great book, but I wouldn't recommend it to someone who likes silly or immature stuff.
                  • kathead
                    katheadTuesday, September 15, 2015 at 6:39 pm
                    I had to read this book for a school project and I was thinking "Oh, great another one of those wannabe real history books," which I do not like. So I read the book. I'm a fast reader and I can remember things very well, but when I read this book it was so hard to grasp the very thought of what was going on. It's one thing to read a book where some characters are real and some are not, but in this book everyone was real. They had thoughts, feelings, and did things with there lives before the Nazis came. I had to read it three times before I really could get a feeling for it. Her story is so emotional, I don't know how she dealt with everything around her. From problems with her mom, a crush on a boy, and then sharing a room with a grown man! It must have been hard. I recommend this book to people who like to read.
                    • olliebob
                      olliebobTuesday, September 15, 2015 at 4:40 pm55 starsFeatured
                      This book is so meaningful. It's down to earth, but at the same time, I can't imagine anything that Anne went through happening to me. Anne is a real girl during the Holocaust. She lived a regular life, and then WWII started up. Her family and several others were forced into hiding to avoid concentration camps, commonly known as Nazi death camps. Hitler was insane and prejudiced against Jews. He felt that their religion was an excuse to treat them horribly. Anne's and several other families hid in a storehouse, which was owned by a friend of their's who was not a Jew. As Anne pours her heart out to her diary, which she calls Kitty, we can feel the weight of thousands of people on our shoulders. We weep for those who were lost in WWII and those who lost loved ones. Anne go's through her teenage years hidden away, years she should have been able to spend with friends. Hitler started a war, and then, after generations of lives were lost, he killed himself. This book would be a hard subject for kids under 4th grade to read. Thank you.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Braelynn Nicole wrote:

                      This is an awesome book for kids...
                      How to Draw Emojis: A Step by St...

                      jtd
                      jtd wrote:

                      Best book series ever
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Book 1

                      cool wrote:

                      this book is cool and the movie
                      Wonder

                      catslovewaffles

                      Karen is facing some hard change...
                      It's Not the End of the World