In July 1942, thirteen-year-old Anne Frank and her family, fleeing the horrors of Nazi occupation, went into hiding in an Amsterdam warehouse. Over the next two years Anne vividly describes not only the daily frustrations of living in such close quarters, but also her thoughts, feelings and longings as she grows up. Her diary ends abruptly and tragically when, in August 1944, Anne and her family were all finally betrayed. The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank remains the single most poignant story to emerge from the Second World War, and her diary has come to symbolize not only the horrors of the Holocaust but the strength of the human spirit in adversity.
Audio CD, 8 pages
Published on May 25, 2010 by Listening Library (Audio)
ISBN-10: 0307737853
ISBN-13: 9780307737854
41 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • lemonpie101
    lemonpie101Friday, January 27, 2017 at 3:19 pm55 stars
    I'm sad that she had to stay in an attic, had to keep quiet and make no move for 2 years!!!!!😭
    • lemonpie101
      lemonpie101Friday, January 27, 2017 at 2:52 pm55 stars
      I'm reading it in class and I'm very fascinated by the book!
      • lil_lil101
        lil_lil101Friday, November 4, 2016 at 2:11 pm
        I have read because I love history but it is so sad defiantly ask your parents before you read and do not rread it to little kids
        • kiwikat
          kiwikatThursday, June 23, 2016 at 7:07 am
          I'd think I would like this book. It sounds like it teleports you to the past.
          • beanblob
            beanblobThursday, June 23, 2016 at 6:28 am33 stars
            I really love history, and historical fiction. This book was in the WWII time period and the perspective of a young jewish girl. This book reminds me of a real version of Odette's Secret.
            • ¯\_(ツ)_/¯Tuesday, December 15, 2015 at 1:11 pm
              It was a great book, but I wouldn't recommend it to someone who likes silly or immature stuff.
              • kathead
                katheadTuesday, September 15, 2015 at 6:39 pm
                I had to read this book for a school project and I was thinking "Oh, great another one of those wannabe real history books," which I do not like. So I read the book. I'm a fast reader and I can remember things very well, but when I read this book it was so hard to grasp the very thought of what was going on. It's one thing to read a book where some characters are real and some are not, but in this book everyone was real. They had thoughts, feelings, and did things with there lives before the Nazis came. I had to read it three times before I really could get a feeling for it. Her story is so emotional, I don't know how she dealt with everything around her. From problems with her mom, a crush on a boy, and then sharing a room with a grown man! It must have been hard. I recommend this book to people who like to read.
                • olliebob
                  olliebobTuesday, September 15, 2015 at 4:40 pm55 starsFeatured
                  This book is so meaningful. It's down to earth, but at the same time, I can't imagine anything that Anne went through happening to me. Anne is a real girl during the Holocaust. She lived a regular life, and then WWII started up. Her family and several others were forced into hiding to avoid concentration camps, commonly known as Nazi death camps. Hitler was insane and prejudiced against Jews. He felt that their religion was an excuse to treat them horribly. Anne's and several other families hid in a storehouse, which was owned by a friend of their's who was not a Jew. As Anne pours her heart out to her diary, which she calls Kitty, we can feel the weight of thousands of people on our shoulders. We weep for those who were lost in WWII and those who lost loved ones. Anne go's through her teenage years hidden away, years she should have been able to spend with friends. Hitler started a war, and then, after generations of lives were lost, he killed himself. This book would be a hard subject for kids under 4th grade to read. Thank you.
                  • smiley4
                    smiley4Tuesday, September 15, 2015 at 4:17 pm44 stars
                    I love reading about World War 2, and I enjoyed this book because it didn't have all of the fighting of the war. it did have what was going on during the war, but it also had the story of a young girl, Anne Frank, who was a Jew. Jews at that time were being sent to concentration camps where Jews were being worked hard by Germans and most were killed. Anne Frank and her family were staying in hiding throughout the war. This is Anne's diary of her time spent in hiding.
                    • daenerys
                      daenerysFriday, September 11, 2015 at 5:13 am55 stars
                      Such a heartaching book..made me cry..literally

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Trish wrote:

                      Ahh how do you get the book????
                      The Getaway (Diary of a Wimpy Ki...

                      animal_lover549

                      This is kind of like wonder. It ...
                      Out of My Mind

                      animal_lover549

                      Oh. My. Gosh. This is one of the...
                      Wonder

                      animal_lover549

                      Awesome book. Very descriptive a...
                      It Ain't So Awful, Falafel