Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 7 - 8Grades 7 - 8n/a6.582762
In July 1942, thirteen-year-old Anne Frank and her family, fleeing the horrors of Nazi occupation, went into hiding in an Amsterdam warehouse. Over the next two years Anne vividly describes not only the daily frustrations of living in such close quarters, but also her thoughts, feelings and longings as she grows up. Her diary ends abruptly and tragically when, in August 1944, Anne and her family were all finally betrayed. The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank remains the single most poignant story to emerge from the Second World War, and her diary has come to symbolize not only the horrors of the Holocaust but the strength of the human spirit in adversity.
Audio CD, 8 pages
Published on May 25, 2010 by Listening Library (Audio)
ISBN-10: 0307737853
ISBN-13: 9780307737854
53 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • willow123goma
    willow123gomaSunday, May 31, 2020 at 6:14 am55 stars
    This is the story of Anne Frank, a Jewish girl that tried to flee the Nazis with her family, and go into hiding. They endured persecution, hatred, constant fear, starvation, and sadness. Still, Anne finds a way to express her feelings inn a beautiful,hopeful way, without despairing. Although unfortunately most of the Frank family do not survive the holocaust, Otto, Anne's father, spreads her daughter's legacy,and we are able to understand what really happened during the holocaust. Although it is sad, if people don't educate themselves with it, history will repeat itself. Definitely read this book.( Anybody above the age of 11-12)
    • mhkgc235
      mhkgc235Wednesday, May 27, 2020 at 12:36 pm55 stars
      omg this book is good!!
      • bookfan2008
        bookfan2008Friday, May 15, 2020 at 6:51 am55 stars
        You should read this book if you are jewish, I am! Ok so it's about a girl named Anne Frank. She is a writer that hid from the Nazsis during a world war. She has one sibling and she is a bit poor. She is also a bit German. She actually lived behind a closet bookshelf for some of her life until she became captured by police and got token to a very bad camp. This book is her diary! It talks about Anne's life in her perspection!
        • BookWormThursday, January 2, 2020 at 2:32 pm
          The first time I read “The Diary of a Young Girl” I was in the 2nd grade. I’ve always loved books, and this is one of the earliest books I remember completely falling in love with. I ended up reading it once more when I was older, and I highly recommend it.
          • BookLoverJDSunday, December 29, 2019 at 11:36 pm
            OUTSTANDING. I was left literally speechless when I finished reading it. I can't describe how I felt by words. Sad but amazing.
            • ohannameansFriday, May 24, 2019 at 6:39 am
              I am lerning about her now i am in 6th grade an I just took the quizz an it is very interesting and fun lerning about her
              • debbieWednesday, January 2, 2019 at 12:38 pm
                great hope you enjoy
                • unicorngirl65
                  unicorngirl65Thursday, August 9, 2018 at 8:02 pm55 stars
                  I learned about Anne Frank in the first day of 6,th grade it is so interesting
                  • ajg16
                    ajg16Wednesday, August 8, 2018 at 8:02 pm55 starsFeatured
                    First I must say...Read this book if you are 13 and older - Anne Frank was a young Jewish girl who was growing up at a time when Adolf Hitler was "in rule". Anne and her mother, father & sister - the Van Pels family - & Fritz Pfeffer loved in a little area behind her father's business called the Annex. Anne was such an amazing young girl who had love, compassion and hopefulness in her even if she fought with her family and felt sad and alone at times. Anne kept a diary for two years before she died in a prison camp after her and her family & friends were found. Nobody survived the Camps, except for Anne's father Otto Frank. I got sadder & sadder the closer I got to the end, even if it has been a long long time it hurt to see that people were treated a horrible way. Thank you for reading -Ajg15's Reviews
                    • wiccanbat666
                      wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 1:09 pm55 stars
                      If only Anne Frank's diary was the figment of someone's imagination. If it meant that this spirited, intelligent and articulate girl hadn't died along with so many others in Belsen concentration camp, and that the holocaust had never happened, that would be a wonderful thing, but it did happen, and that makes the reading of this diary even more heartbreaking.