Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grade 8n/a7.329060

George Orwell’s 1945 satire on the perils of Stalinism has proved magnificently long-lived as a parable about totalitarianism anywhere—and has given the world at least one immortal phrase: “Everyone is equal, but some are more equal than others.”This new dramatization sticks very closely to the book, and the production has toured all over England, Scotland, Wales and Romania in Orwell’s centenary year. “Dare I say it . . . as good as the book.”—Guardian

Hardcover, 168 pages
Published on May 8, 2009 by HOLT, RINEHART AND WINSTON
ISBN-10: 0030554349
ISBN-13: 9780030554346
14 Book Reviews
  • xadmiral
    xadmiralWednesday, February 10, 2021 at 6:47 am44 stars
    It's a great book! An amazing read for anybody who likes books with a deeper meaning.
    • percabeth4ever
      percabeth4everMonday, January 25, 2021 at 8:56 am55 stars
      This is an amazing book. The animals are tired of the human that took care of them so they took over. Then another pig comes and rules over them like the human did. It is a exact replica of the Russian revolution but with the animals. it tells a message in this story of concurring and tyranny . A must read.
      • neey
        neeyWednesday, January 20, 2021 at 3:16 am55 stars
        This is my favorite book,i love animals! Even though im grade 11
        • girlpower4ever
          girlpower4everTuesday, January 12, 2021 at 2:39 pm55 starsFeatured
          What starts out as a children's story soon spirals into an almost exact replica of the Russian Revolution, expertly told through the words of George Orwell. The novel follows the adventures of the animals on a farm, tired and resentful of the treatment they've received from humans. After a carefully-planned attack, they overthrow the humans and have the farm all to themselves, which is a joyous event--at least at first. Because every new beginning means new hardships. Are the animals really better than the humans, or do they find themselves succumbing to the same level of tyranny they once rebelled against? Once again, George Orwell brings up serious topics through entertaining, suspenseful satire. This magnificently-written novel is a must-read.
          • wiccanbat666
            wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 2:09 pm55 stars
            One of the best books I have read. Animal Farm Great dramatization of the very heavy idea that "Absolute power is likely to Corrupt Absolutely!" I have read this book multiple times and would read it again because every time I read I gain new insights into human nature and the civilization/government game.
            • allenj20
              allenj20Thursday, February 25, 2016 at 7:28 pm33 stars
              The animal farm is a great to read. I love the way the author describe the characters and the communication makes me fit into the story, so I can imagine the event in the real life. Animal farm tells the simple and tragic story of what happen when the oppressed farm animal rebel the farmer and tried to rule the farm themselves, they wanted created an equal and happy farm. The story is related to my life some part, for example, the people dissatisfied the government system and tried to rebel them. I recommend this book for everyone because I think everyone should understand what the purpose of people rebel.
              • risa_i
                risa_iWednesday, January 27, 2016 at 9:57 pm33 starsFeatured
                Animal Farm is about the Russian revolution that happened in the 20th century. The story is basically an imitation of the Russian revolution, but they changed all the historic people into animals such as pigs, donkey, etc. Throughout this entire story, there’s a deep meaning under every single words and it’s about how the animals drove Jones out of the farm and then started to be on their own, and they believed in Communism, which is known as Animalism for them. Eventually throughout the story, it did not last at all. The pigs took the power because they were smart and fooled everyone that they’re the best and they’re right for most of the story. My favorite part of this story is when Boxer got took away to get killed instead of going to the veterinarian, it somewhat revealed that the pigs didn’t appreciate him at all. I’m very impressed with how the author is able to change a revolution into a entertaining story that students will be willing to read. This is an interesting story and I’ll recommend it to readers who’s interested in the Russian revolution.
                • gpark123
                  gpark123Tuesday, October 27, 2015 at 5:52 am55 stars
                  This is a great, classic book by George Orwell. Animal Farm is one of the greatest book written by George Orwell. It's very entertaining and has surprising twists. It represents the Russian revolution well and also totalitarianism. You can immediately tell which animal represents who. It also tells a moral. The moral is to take care of whoever you have power over or they'll revolt against you. This is a great, entertaining book that I would highly recommend. Also, this book doesn't have a lot of pages so if you don't like to read, read Animal Farm.
                  • cocothefan
                    cocothefanThursday, July 16, 2015 at 3:23 pm33 stars
                    This book after first seems to be a simple story about farm animals, but as readers delve deeper into the storyline they begin to realize that it's not just that. There's a deeper meaning behind the words. I for one think Animal Farm is a piece of work that is politically challenging and in equal parts revealing. A must read for historians and students alike.
                    • eliu0499
                      eliu0499Monday, January 19, 2015 at 7:13 pm
                      I love this book! It's awesome but sad at the same time. It almost made me cry. If your looking for a book to read, this is the perfect one.