Animal Ark: Celebrating our Wild World in Poetry and Pictures (National Geographic Kids)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades P - 3n/an/an/an/a
A howling wolf, a stalking tiger, a playful panda, a dancing bird – pairing the stunning photography of National Geographic photographer Joel Sartore with the delicate poetry of Newbery award-winning author Kwame Alexander, this lush picture book celebrates the beauty, diversity, and fragility of the animal world.

Featuring more than 40 unique animal portraits, the pages invite kids to explore each creature's markings, textures, and attributes in stunning detail, while calling on all of us to help protect each and every one. Three picture-packed gatefolds inside showcase even more familiar and exotic species. These images are part of Sartore's lifelong project to photograph every animal in the world, with special attention given to disappearing and endangered species.
Hardcover, 48 pages
Published on February 14, 2017 by National Geographic Children's Books
ISBN-10: 1426327676
ISBN-13: 9781426327674
13 Book Reviews
  • winboy
    winboyMonday, October 16, 2017 at 11:59 am44 stars
    I love it
    • winboy
      winboyThursday, October 12, 2017 at 1:15 pm44 stars
      it is a pic book
      • zanearella
        zanearellaFriday, May 19, 2017 at 4:18 am
        Disclaimer: I received this book in a giveaway from DogoBooks. My siblings and I all really enjoyed the pictures in this book, although none of us were fans of the poetry or the Nature-Instead-of-God perspective. The photographs are gorgeous, though.
        • spykitten
          spykittenSaturday, May 13, 2017 at 3:30 pm
          I liked the animal pictures in this book. I also liked the chart of the animals at the end of the book. If you like poetry and animals, this book would be good for you. I received this book for free from DOGObooks.
          • catFriday, May 5, 2017 at 8:59 am
            awesome books
            • albina
              albinaSunday, April 30, 2017 at 11:16 am55 stars
              it so cute : )
              • snowcrystal101
                snowcrystal101Friday, March 31, 2017 at 2:59 pm
                cool
                • mackandcheesy
                  mackandcheesyMonday, March 27, 2017 at 9:38 am
                  This book is something remind us about thing that animals do and show that they are so cute!!!
                  • albina
                    albinaMonday, May 1, 2017 at 4:01 pm55 stars
                    you are right
                  • " . - . Sunday, March 26, 2017 at 12:19 pm
                    The book is amazing and It tells us soooooooooooooo much about nature and animals, I looooooooooove the book!
                    • Zach and JoshSunday, March 26, 2017 at 12:17 pm
                      Trees are beautiful, with green leaves on their branches, in spring and summer.