Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 4 - 7n/a5.661412
From the #1 bestselling author of The Fault in Our Stars

Michael L. Printz Honor Book
Los Angeles Times Book Prize Finalist


Katherine V thought boys were gross
Katherine X just wanted to be friends
Katherine XVIII dumped him in an e-mail
K-19 broke his heart
When it comes to relationships, Colin Singleton's type happens to be girls named Katherine. And when it comes to girls named Katherine, Colin is always getting dumped. Nineteen times, to be exact.

On a road trip miles from home, this anagram-happy, washed-up child prodigy has ten thousand dollars in his pocket, a bloodthirsty feral hog on his trail, and an overweight, Judge Judy-loving best friend riding shotgun--but no Katherines. Colin is on a mission to prove The Theorem of Underlying Katherine Predictability, which he hopes will predict the future of any relationship, avenge Dumpees everywhere, and finally win him the girl.

Love, friendship, and a dead Austro-Hungarian archduke add up to surprising and heart-changing conclusions in this ingeniously layered comic novel about reinventing oneself.

Hardcover, 227 pages
Published on September 21, 2006 by Dutton Books
ISBN-10: 0525476881
ISBN-13: 9780525476887
17 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Clulesskitty13Wednesday, May 29, 2019 at 1:11 pm
    This book was filled with all the emotions in a teenagers life. It is also very diverse in its genres. Its filled with drama, humor, romance, and even action. An Abundance of Kathrines is an amazing book that every child prodigy and regular teenage kid should read.
    • grapefruit
      grapefruitSunday, April 8, 2018 at 4:44 am44 starsFeatured
      Colin the child prodigy never had many friends except for the Muslim Hassan. And he only ever dates one type of girl: Girls called Katherine. Not Katrina's, or Kay's or even Catherine's--nope, only Katherine. After getting dumped by the 19th Katherine by far, Colin decides to go on a wild, wacky road trip with Hassan--but ends up in a small town with a sweet, sassy country girl , her boyfriend (also called Colin) and his wanton friends. In the town, many things happen. Hassan gets a first kiss. The girl. Lindsey, starts falling in love with Colin. At the end they are a happy Couple--even if Lindsey isn't a Katherine. This book was good, but if you wish for a more powerful and Logical story, choose Looking for Alaska or Let It Snow.
      • majise
        majiseFriday, November 10, 2017 at 9:24 am44 stars
        I want to read this book really bad! Its looks really good!
        • ggfyhhWednesday, October 25, 2017 at 6:28 pm
          I love this book!!! im in LOVE with the John Green books :)
          • hi Wednesday, May 18, 2016 at 10:48 am
            I really like this book but will Colin's realinshonship work?
            • penguin313
              penguin313Friday, September 18, 2015 at 9:43 pm55 stars
              This book is really interesting. It is about a young student and genius who has only dated girl with the name Katherine. After over 20 heartbreaks, he goes on a road trip with his friend, and it only gets better!
              • thatfatcat
                thatfatcatMonday, September 7, 2015 at 1:53 am55 stars
                AMAZING BOOK I LOVE IT SOO MUCH! It's about a 17 year old prodigy called Colin, and he has dated 19 girls called Katherine.
                • cdillon
                  Mr. DillonSunday, August 30, 2015 at 4:17 pm55 stars
                  Funny, fantastic road trip book. Eccentric intriguing characters, and a very unique makeout scene in a cave. I love this one.
                  • ashfire
                    ashfireSunday, August 16, 2015 at 6:34 pm44 stars
                    I absolutely love An Abundance of Katherines! It makes me so sad how people always talk about TFIOS, LFA, and PT, but always leave this amazing book out... The only thing I wasn't fond of in this book was all the math.
                    • spantoja1
                      spantoja1Friday, April 24, 2015 at 8:12 am
                      I love it recomend to 4th graders