Among the Hidden (Shadow Children Book 1)

Book 1 of 7 in the Shadow Children Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z4.832127

In a future where the Population Police enforce the law limiting a family to only two children, Luke has lived all his twelve years in isolation and fear on his family's farm, until another third convinces him that the government is wrong.

Hardcover, 185 pages
Published on December 1, 2000 by Thorndike Press
ISBN-10: 0786230517
ISBN-13: 9780786230518
123 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • robin1323
    robin1323Monday, October 16, 2017 at 8:08 amFeatured
    What would you do if you are a shadow child, and how would you face all of the problems in your life? According to luke he’s not able to go by the windows, can’t eat with his family has to eat on the stairs, and he has to stay in his room all day and night doing nothing, can’t play music, but maybe has toys. “Told you before. We didn't have a choice. Government wanted it. You can't tell the government no.”-margaret peterson haddix. Among the hidden. This book takes place in the past. The government only allows two children to be born in each family and they control every aspect of the citizens’ lives under its rule. And they monopolize the community by taking away their land, among other things, families having more than two children are forced to hide their third born child for fear of service consequences. The hidden children are labeled as shadow children because they are forced to hide in the shadows of their own homes Luke garner, the main character is the third born child in his family. He lives in the darkness in his home so he don't get discovered, that is, until he meets Jen And the biggest conflict is that he's not supposed to be alive as the government said “There will be consequences if someone has a third child.” I would recommend this to people who like mystery and science fiction.
    • lydia_w
      lydia_wWednesday, October 4, 2017 at 1:22 pm55 stars
      i loved this book! It was a super thrilling! you should definitely read it . AND because the suspense carries on, i recommend the WHOLE shadow children series! Really, go read em!
      • rajanei
        rajaneiMonday, July 17, 2017 at 11:59 am
        I BET IT WILL BE GOOD
        • my225
          my225Monday, May 1, 2017 at 7:31 am
          This book is an amazing book with a lot of suspense too. This book is about the life of a 12 year old boy named Luke. He lives in a world where you can only have 2 children. But he is a third child, this is the story of the life Lukes lives and the many different things he experiences. Like not being able to leave the house, and breaking rules. But what would you do if in the house next door you seen a face hidding in the shadows.
          • my name is...uhMonday, May 1, 2017 at 7:29 am
            This book deserves to get 5 stars it is my 2nd favorite book.It takes place in a dystopia where you can only have two children and if you have three children they will get did done died.So as luke garner the 3rd child he has benn hiding his whole life and then he see's the neighbor has a 3rd child,and he does something he would never do.(
            • khaidencey
              khaidenceyMonday, May 1, 2017 at 7:26 am44 stars
              This science fiction book is so good. I could really pitched the story and get really into it. Luke finds a child and it is sad. You have to tread it!
              • crystal123432
                crystal123432Monday, May 1, 2017 at 7:24 am44 stars
                I'm going to finish this series this book caught my attention, it bought a child who has to hide his entire life the book is so sad. I LOVE ITT!!!
                • sweetgirl823
                  sweetgirl823Sunday, February 5, 2017 at 4:13 pm
                  I wish i had these books! I just cant offord them! I wish i could find a way to get them!
                  • sweetgirl823
                    sweetgirl823Sunday, February 5, 2017 at 4:06 pm
                    This book is amazing but also very sad!! I would read this book everyday!! If anyone wants to read this is am going to say go for it or if you want to read a book go for the shadow children series!
                    • sweetgirl823
                      sweetgirl823Sunday, February 5, 2017 at 10:58 am
                      This book is amazing but also very sad!! I would read this book everyday!!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Lilly wrote:

                      I love the books by Raina telini...
                      Smile

                      mirsoftball8

                      This book is my favorite book! T...
                      Wonder

                      mirsoftball8

                      Another great book in the 'Diary...
                      Dog Days (Diary of a Wimpy Kid)

                      callie_b
                      callie_b wrote:

                      11-year-old Morrigan Crow has al...
                      Nevermoor: The Trials of Morriga...