Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z4.832127

In a future where the Population Police enforce the law limiting a family to only two children, Luke has lived all his twelve years in isolation and fear on his family's farm, until another third convinces him that the government is wrong.

Hardcover, 185 pages
Published on December 1, 2000 by Thorndike Press
ISBN-10: 0786230517
ISBN-13: 9780786230518
131 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Hollow9Tuesday, February 5, 2019 at 2:18 pm
    This book was awesome. Great read.
    • tiredman505
      tiredman505Tuesday, February 5, 2019 at 12:16 pm
      i love it
      • chloe1
        chloe1Thursday, January 31, 2019 at 8:07 pm55 stars
        This book is about this twelve year old boy named Luke, and at their time you were only allowed to have two kids, and the boy was the third child. His parents are trying to keep him a secret. But his brothers don’t really think it’s fair that they have to do all his yard chores. In this book there will be laughter and fear join Luke on his adventure being hidden. For more information read the book!
        • ChanningMonday, December 31, 2018 at 10:06 pm
          I really like this book. I was hooked on the first one and now I'm reading the second one. I love this series so far.
          • listen to this!Friday, October 26, 2018 at 4:58 pm
            Looking for a new series to read? Well this is the one for you! I am a BIG FAN of the series and i love it, and I think you will love it to. I also LOVE the author.
            • lains24
              lains24Sunday, September 30, 2018 at 1:59 pm55 stars
              Read the whole series and I am a HUGE fan. The main character; Luke is a third child. Did I not mention that being a third child is illegal? Anyway, I love the series.
              • zubyfajemuvezi
                zubyfajemuveziTuesday, May 1, 2018 at 8:18 am33 stars
                I like this book and it about luke and he's the third son and in his country/state one family can only have two son and if they have three son they have to get rid of it and luke is the third son. but he have to hide all the time!!!
                • Adam B. Friday, March 16, 2018 at 6:41 am
                  This book is a well crafted beginning to another Margaret Peterson Haddix series. Luke is a boy who is prohibited from a normal life by the government. He meets a girl who teaches him to break rules and life life to the fullest. Tune in for the stunning plot of this book.
                  • robin1323
                    robin1323Monday, October 16, 2017 at 8:08 amFeatured
                    What would you do if you are a shadow child, and how would you face all of the problems in your life? According to luke he’s not able to go by the windows, can’t eat with his family has to eat on the stairs, and he has to stay in his room all day and night doing nothing, can’t play music, but maybe has toys. “Told you before. We didn't have a choice. Government wanted it. You can't tell the government no.”-margaret peterson haddix. Among the hidden. This book takes place in the past. The government only allows two children to be born in each family and they control every aspect of the citizens’ lives under its rule. And they monopolize the community by taking away their land, among other things, families having more than two children are forced to hide their third born child for fear of service consequences. The hidden children are labeled as shadow children because they are forced to hide in the shadows of their own homes Luke garner, the main character is the third born child in his family. He lives in the darkness in his home so he don't get discovered, that is, until he meets Jen And the biggest conflict is that he's not supposed to be alive as the government said “There will be consequences if someone has a third child.” I would recommend this to people who like mystery and science fiction.
                    • lulubelle
                      lulubelleWednesday, October 4, 2017 at 1:22 pm55 stars
                      i loved this book! It was a super thrilling! you should definitely read it . AND because the suspense carries on, i recommend the WHOLE shadow children series! Really, go read em!

                      Our Apps and Plugins