Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z4.832127

In a future where the Population Police enforce the law limiting a family to only two children, Luke has lived all his twelve years in isolation and fear on his family's farm, until another third convinces him that the government is wrong.

Hardcover, 185 pages
Published on December 1, 2000 by Thorndike Press
ISBN-10: 0786230517
ISBN-13: 9780786230518
127 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • listen to this!Friday, October 26, 2018 at 4:58 pm
    Looking for a new series to read? Well this is the one for you! I am a BIG FAN of the series and i love it, and I think you will love it to. I also LOVE the author.
    • lains24
      lains24Sunday, September 30, 2018 at 1:59 pm55 stars
      Read the whole series and I am a HUGE fan. The main character; Luke is a third child. Did I not mention that being a third child is illegal? Anyway, I love the series.
      • zubyfajemuvezi
        zubyfajemuveziTuesday, May 1, 2018 at 8:18 am33 stars
        I like this book and it about luke and he's the third son and in his country/state one family can only have two son and if they have three son they have to get rid of it and luke is the third son. but he have to hide all the time!!!
        • Adam B. Friday, March 16, 2018 at 6:41 am
          This book is a well crafted beginning to another Margaret Peterson Haddix series. Luke is a boy who is prohibited from a normal life by the government. He meets a girl who teaches him to break rules and life life to the fullest. Tune in for the stunning plot of this book.
          • robin1323
            robin1323Monday, October 16, 2017 at 8:08 amFeatured
            What would you do if you are a shadow child, and how would you face all of the problems in your life? According to luke he’s not able to go by the windows, can’t eat with his family has to eat on the stairs, and he has to stay in his room all day and night doing nothing, can’t play music, but maybe has toys. “Told you before. We didn't have a choice. Government wanted it. You can't tell the government no.”-margaret peterson haddix. Among the hidden. This book takes place in the past. The government only allows two children to be born in each family and they control every aspect of the citizens’ lives under its rule. And they monopolize the community by taking away their land, among other things, families having more than two children are forced to hide their third born child for fear of service consequences. The hidden children are labeled as shadow children because they are forced to hide in the shadows of their own homes Luke garner, the main character is the third born child in his family. He lives in the darkness in his home so he don't get discovered, that is, until he meets Jen And the biggest conflict is that he's not supposed to be alive as the government said “There will be consequences if someone has a third child.” I would recommend this to people who like mystery and science fiction.
            • lulubelle
              lulubelleWednesday, October 4, 2017 at 1:22 pm55 stars
              i loved this book! It was a super thrilling! you should definitely read it . AND because the suspense carries on, i recommend the WHOLE shadow children series! Really, go read em!
              • rajanei
                rajaneiMonday, July 17, 2017 at 11:59 am
                I BET IT WILL BE GOOD
                • my225
                  my225Monday, May 1, 2017 at 7:31 am
                  This book is an amazing book with a lot of suspense too. This book is about the life of a 12 year old boy named Luke. He lives in a world where you can only have 2 children. But he is a third child, this is the story of the life Lukes lives and the many different things he experiences. Like not being able to leave the house, and breaking rules. But what would you do if in the house next door you seen a face hidding in the shadows.
                  • my name is...uhMonday, May 1, 2017 at 7:29 am
                    This book deserves to get 5 stars it is my 2nd favorite book.It takes place in a dystopia where you can only have two children and if you have three children they will get did done died.So as luke garner the 3rd child he has benn hiding his whole life and then he see's the neighbor has a 3rd child,and he does something he would never do.(
                    • khaidencey
                      khaidenceyMonday, May 1, 2017 at 7:26 am44 stars
                      This science fiction book is so good. I could really pitched the story and get really into it. Luke finds a child and it is sad. You have to tread it!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Mariah Inzunza wrote:

                      12 years a slave a memoir by Sol...
                      12 Years A Slave, Non fiction, T...

                      percyj
                      percyj wrote:

                      Looks so awesome! I'm asking my ...
                      The Meltdown (Diary of a Wimpy K...

                      galaxyme wrote:

                      One of my favorite books. I coul...
                      The Other Side of Dark

                      galaxyme wrote:

                      I think '' Drama" is a really en...
                      Drama

                      Our Apps and Plugins