Among The Hidden

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z4.832127

In a future where the Population Police enforce the law limiting a family to only two children, Luke has lived all his twelve years in isolation and fear on his family's farm, until another third convinces him that the government is wrong.

Hardcover, 185 pages
Published on December 1, 2000 by Thorndike Press
ISBN-10: 0786230517
ISBN-13: 9780786230518
85 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • ready4anything
    ready4anythingMonday, January 9, 2017 at 1:16 pm44 stars
    This is really fascinating. This book is about a boy who hides in his family's house in order to stay alive. You see, if he gets discovered, he will lose his life. Because well, he wasn't suppose to be born. The government worries that the population would become overpopulated. So only few amount of kids, for every family suppose to have. As he gets older, it gets more and more harder to be undiscovered. Until one day... someone seeks him and that someone changes his whole life. Now with dangerous obstacles and a rebellious friend, he must escape the problems he faces now so, he make it alive. But will he make it???
    • logi19
      logi19Friday, October 14, 2016 at 5:13 pm55 stars
      I don't want to give spoolers but this book was awesome along with the others in the series.
      • soccergirl43
        soccergirl43Thursday, October 13, 2016 at 2:26 pm
        I really want to read this book because it was recommended by my teacher.i never got a chance to read it though because of my book repots
        • bestspiker18
          bestspiker18Saturday, September 17, 2016 at 9:40 pm55 stars
          This is a really good book. It is all about this boy and why he had to hide. One day he sees some one else he thinks is hiding, he sneak out and meets a girl called Jennifer. She has a rally to stop hiding. There is a sad ending.
          • emojigirl199
            emojigirl199Sunday, May 8, 2016 at 11:29 am
            My friends say this is a really good book. I haven't read it yet but it sounds so good! Is it scary?
            • emojigirl199
              emojigirl199Sunday, May 8, 2016 at 11:28 am
              My friends say this is a really good book. I haven't read it yet but it sounds so good! Is it scary?
              • pooppoop
                pooppoopTuesday, May 3, 2016 at 11:46 am
                this book is good average readers its interesting
                • marshalmellow
                  marshalmellowTuesday, May 3, 2016 at 11:46 am55 stars
                  This book is one of my favorites. It is good if you don't like reading a lot of pages. This book is about Luke who is a third child. If you had a third child that child would be killed. So Luke has to hid a lot of his life. Then one day while he was in his room in the attic he saw a face in the window. When he knew everyone in he neighborhood left. What will happen next?
                  • table
                    tableTuesday, May 3, 2016 at 11:46 am33 stars
                    This is a really good book I connected it to the world war ll because the Jews had to always be scared and hiding you. In the future you can only have 2 kids and if you have 3 the third has to die will Luke die read to find out.
                    • marshalmellow
                      marshalmellowTuesday, May 3, 2016 at 12:13 pm55 stars
                      i would give it a five star but that my opinion
                    • ebm
                      ebmTuesday, May 3, 2016 at 11:44 am
                      Among The Hidden is a really good book. I wouldn't want to live in the attic my whole life, and not get to see new places.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      neoncat
                      neoncat wrote:

                      Wonder is becoming a movie this ...
                      Wonder

                      JesseJump wrote:

                      This is a very detailed portraya...
                      The Bad Beginning (A Series of U...

                      lucasb2007
                      lucasb2007 wrote:

                      I really loved everything about ...
                      Caveboy Dave: More Scrawny Than ...

                      lucasb2007
                      lucasb2007 wrote:

                      I really like what they did with...
                      Hamster Princess: Harriet the In...