Among The Hidden

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z4.832127

In a future where the Population Police enforce the law limiting a family to only two children, Luke has lived all his twelve years in isolation and fear on his family's farm, until another third convinces him that the government is wrong.

Hardcover, 185 pages
Published on December 1, 2000 by Thorndike Press
ISBN-10: 0786230517
ISBN-13: 9780786230518
91 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • my225
    my225Monday, May 1, 2017 at 7:31 am
    This book is an amazing book with a lot of suspense too. This book is about the life of a 12 year old boy named Luke. He lives in a world where you can only have 2 children. But he is a third child, this is the story of the life Lukes lives and the many different things he experiences. Like not being able to leave the house, and breaking rules. But what would you do if in the house next door you seen a face hidding in the shadows.
    • my name is...uhMonday, May 1, 2017 at 7:29 am
      This book deserves to get 5 stars it is my 2nd favorite book.It takes place in a dystopia where you can only have two children and if you have three children they will get did done died.So as luke garner the 3rd child he has benn hiding his whole life and then he see's the neighbor has a 3rd child,and he does something he would never do.(
      • khaidencey
        khaidenceyMonday, May 1, 2017 at 7:26 am44 stars
        This science fiction book is so good. I could really pitched the story and get really into it. Luke finds a child and it is sad. You have to tread it!
        • crystal123432
          crystal123432Monday, May 1, 2017 at 7:24 am44 stars
          I'm going to finish this series this book caught my attention, it bought a child who has to hide his entire life the book is so sad. I LOVE ITT!!!
          • sweetgirl823
            sweetgirl823Sunday, February 5, 2017 at 4:06 pm
            This book is amazing but also very sad!! I would read this book everyday!! If anyone wants to read this is am going to say go for it or if you want to read a book go for the shadow children series!
            • sweetgirl823
              sweetgirl823Sunday, February 5, 2017 at 10:58 am
              This book is amazing but also very sad!! I would read this book everyday!!
              • ready4anything
                ready4anythingMonday, January 9, 2017 at 1:16 pm44 stars
                This is really fascinating. This book is about a boy who hides in his family's house in order to stay alive. You see, if he gets discovered, he will lose his life. Because well, he wasn't suppose to be born. The government worries that the population would become overpopulated. So only few amount of kids, for every family suppose to have. As he gets older, it gets more and more harder to be undiscovered. Until one day... someone seeks him and that someone changes his whole life. Now with dangerous obstacles and a rebellious friend, he must escape the problems he faces now so, he make it alive. But will he make it???
                • dangerider19
                  dangerider19Friday, October 14, 2016 at 5:13 pm55 stars
                  I don't want to give spoolers but this book was awesome along with the others in the series.
                  • soccergirl43
                    soccergirl43Thursday, October 13, 2016 at 2:26 pm
                    I really want to read this book because it was recommended by my teacher.i never got a chance to read it though because of my book repots
                    • bestspiker18
                      bestspiker18Saturday, September 17, 2016 at 9:40 pm55 stars
                      This is a really good book. It is all about this boy and why he had to hide. One day he sees some one else he thinks is hiding, he sneak out and meets a girl called Jennifer. She has a rally to stop hiding. There is a sad ending.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      unicornheart

                      Who Was Ann Frank? by Ann Abrams...
                      Who Was Anne Frank? (Who Was...?...

                      Firelord67 wrote:

                      This book was very good. it had ...
                      The Merchant of Death (Pendragon...

                      shafiq wrote:

                      mystery
                      Ottoline and the Yellow Cat

                      purple_bookworm

                      I love this book and its series
                      Id Tell You I Love You but Then ...