Among the Hidden (Shadow Children Book 1)

Book 1 of 7 in the Shadow Children Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z4.832127

In a future where the Population Police enforce the law limiting a family to only two children, Luke has lived all his twelve years in isolation and fear on his family's farm, until another third convinces him that the government is wrong.

Hardcover, 185 pages
Published on December 1, 2000 by Thorndike Press
ISBN-10: 0786230517
ISBN-13: 9780786230518
136 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • luvmylipgloss
    luvmylipglossMonday, May 20, 2019 at 2:12 pm44 stars
    This book is about a boy who is in a community where there can be only 2 children per family. Luke is the 3rd child, so he must be hidden. He finds another child that is also hidden.
    • Quinten BrinesTuesday, April 30, 2019 at 10:28 am
      The book I will be reviewing is Among The Hidden by Margaret Peterson Haddix. I suggest reading this book because you may realize how lucky you are. I suggest it because it is a decent size and is part of a series the other six books. This book is about a third child in the future where the government makes a rule that parents could only have two kids and if they had a third they had to get rid of it. But this family chooses to just hide him instead. He was allowed to go outside and play but when the government decides to cut down the trees and build houses that all changes. He now isn’t allowed to go outside or look through windows just because his parents are afraid he’ll get seen. One day he seen a face in there neighbors house of a family with two kids already so he decides to go over there to see who it is. He meets another third child and they become friends but there parents don’t know about this. The third child's name is Jen and the main character Luke goes over there when his parents are busy. They make a plan but one day Jen shows him the computer and a secret chat room full of other third childs. I think the people who like short chapter books and adventure books would enjoy this book.
      • Baby shark dodoSaturday, March 9, 2019 at 1:59 pm
        I love this book and the series and I'm a BIG FAN! If you are looking for a new series I would pick this one!
        • Kaitlyn ScottWednesday, March 6, 2019 at 6:34 pm
          Five stars all the way!!
          • Kaitlyn ScottWednesday, March 6, 2019 at 6:33 pm
            This book is recommended by me! It's a great book if you just want a quick read. Even though many people wouldn't recommend it, I do. Especially if you are around the age of 12. Which is how old the main character, Luke, is.
            • Hollow9Tuesday, February 5, 2019 at 2:18 pm
              This book was awesome. Great read.
              • tiredman505
                tiredman505Tuesday, February 5, 2019 at 12:16 pm
                i love it
                • chloe1
                  chloe1Thursday, January 31, 2019 at 8:07 pm55 stars
                  This book is about this twelve year old boy named Luke, and at their time you were only allowed to have two kids, and the boy was the third child. His parents are trying to keep him a secret. But his brothers don’t really think it’s fair that they have to do all his yard chores. In this book there will be laughter and fear join Luke on his adventure being hidden. For more information read the book!
                  • ChanningMonday, December 31, 2018 at 10:06 pm
                    I really like this book. I was hooked on the first one and now I'm reading the second one. I love this series so far.
                    • listen to this!Friday, October 26, 2018 at 4:58 pm
                      Looking for a new series to read? Well this is the one for you! I am a BIG FAN of the series and i love it, and I think you will love it to. I also LOVE the author.