Among the Hidden (Shadow Children Book 1)

Book 1 of 7 in the Shadow Children Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z4.832127

In a future where the Population Police enforce the law limiting a family to only two children, Luke has lived all his twelve years in isolation and fear on his family's farm, until another third convinces him that the government is wrong.

Hardcover, 160 pages
Published on September 1, 1998 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0689817002
ISBN-13: 9780689817007
139 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • lynavevy-156898084418
    lynavevy-156898084418Tuesday, October 8, 2019 at 10:46 am22 stars
    my class is reading this book and its good
    • avacadosmoothie
      avacadosmoothieSunday, September 22, 2019 at 12:51 pm55 stars
      Among The Hidden is a really captivating and engaging book. This is about a twelve-year old boy in the future that is a third child. In this book, parents are limited to only two children, due to food shortage. If the population police, a group of people that are part of the government, find a third child, the child's family must face severe consequences. One of the many is getting rid of him/her. The main character, Luke, is hidden from the rest of the world so he doesn't get found out. Luke can't play outside and is ordered to stay away from windows and other things that might expose him to the outside world. Inside, Luke is bored and doesn't have many things to occupy him, especially since he's poor. Way before Luke was forced to stay inside, he would play outside all of the time on the rural land he lived on. There would be no one to see him for miles, but one day, his mom spotted some construction workers. She told him to stay inside from then on. Years after the construction workers left, Luke looked outside through a slanted vent in his bedroom (the attic). He watched other people leave their houses, one by one. At one specific house though, he saw four people leave. After they left, he saw someone in the window of that house. At first, he thought it was a maid, but then he concluded that the person was too young to be a maid. It had to be a kid. Luke pondered and pondered about what he saw that day, and built up the courage to walk over to the house and see who it is-- even though he might just be risking his own life out of curiosity. This book is actually part of The Shadow Children Series, so if you enjoy this book, you might consider reading the rest of the series. I assure you, it will leave you wanting more.
    • luvmylipgloss
      luvmylipglossMonday, May 20, 2019 at 2:12 pm44 stars
      This book is about a boy who is in a community where there can be only 2 children per family. Luke is the 3rd child, so he must be hidden. He finds another child that is also hidden.
      • Quinten BrinesTuesday, April 30, 2019 at 10:28 am
        The book I will be reviewing is Among The Hidden by Margaret Peterson Haddix. I suggest reading this book because you may realize how lucky you are. I suggest it because it is a decent size and is part of a series the other six books. This book is about a third child in the future where the government makes a rule that parents could only have two kids and if they had a third they had to get rid of it. But this family chooses to just hide him instead. He was allowed to go outside and play but when the government decides to cut down the trees and build houses that all changes. He now isn’t allowed to go outside or look through windows just because his parents are afraid he’ll get seen. One day he seen a face in there neighbors house of a family with two kids already so he decides to go over there to see who it is. He meets another third child and they become friends but there parents don’t know about this. The third child's name is Jen and the main character Luke goes over there when his parents are busy. They make a plan but one day Jen shows him the computer and a secret chat room full of other third childs. I think the people who like short chapter books and adventure books would enjoy this book.
        • Baby shark dodoSaturday, March 9, 2019 at 1:59 pm
          I love this book and the series and I'm a BIG FAN! If you are looking for a new series I would pick this one!
          • Kaitlyn ScottWednesday, March 6, 2019 at 6:34 pm
            Five stars all the way!!
            • Kaitlyn ScottWednesday, March 6, 2019 at 6:33 pm
              This book is recommended by me! It's a great book if you just want a quick read. Even though many people wouldn't recommend it, I do. Especially if you are around the age of 12. Which is how old the main character, Luke, is.
              • Hollow9Tuesday, February 5, 2019 at 2:18 pm
                This book was awesome. Great read.
                • tiredman505
                  tiredman505Tuesday, February 5, 2019 at 12:16 pm
                  i love it
                  • chloe1
                    chloe1Thursday, January 31, 2019 at 8:07 pm55 stars
                    This book is about this twelve year old boy named Luke, and at their time you were only allowed to have two kids, and the boy was the third child. His parents are trying to keep him a secret. But his brothers don’t really think it’s fair that they have to do all his yard chores. In this book there will be laughter and fear join Luke on his adventure being hidden. For more information read the book!