Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7Grades 3 - 5n/an/an/a
“Amina’s anxieties are entirely relatable, but it’s her sweet-hearted nature that makes her such a winning protagonist.” —Entertainment Weekly

A Pakistani-American Muslim girl struggles to stay true to her family’s vibrant culture while simultaneously blending in at school after tragedy strikes her community in this sweet and moving middle grade novel from the award-winning author of It’s Ramadan, Curious George and Golden Domes and Silver Lanterns.

Amina has never been comfortable in the spotlight. She is happy just hanging out with her best friend, Soojin. Except now that she’s in middle school everything feels different. Soojin is suddenly hanging out with Emily, one of the “cool” girls in the class, and even talking about changing her name to something more “American.” Does Amina need to start changing too? Or hiding who she is to fit in? While Amina grapples with these questions, she is devastated when her local mosque is vandalized.

Amina’s Voice brings to life the joys and challenges of a young Pakistani American and highlights the many ways in which one girl’s voice can help bring a diverse community together to love and support each other.
Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on March 14, 2017 by Salaam Reads / Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1481492063
ISBN-13: 9781481492065
7 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • howls
    howlsMonday, August 3, 2020 at 4:14 pm
    10/5 it's one of my favorites ❤❤❤❤❤❤
    • sylvie55555
      sylvie55555Wednesday, July 29, 2020 at 1:08 pm55 stars
      Amina has never felt like she has a voice. She loves to sing, but she can't sing in front of anybody except for her best friend. And when her best friend starts hanging out with Emily, the girl she hates, she can't say anything. Will Amina be able to find her voice? Read the book to find out! Happy Reading!
      • cocoaaaa
        cocoaaaaWednesday, October 2, 2019 at 4:07 pm55 stars
        I love how she doesn't just obey Bhai Jaan, she also is good at staying calm in a situation like how she was jealous of Soojin. I would get mad and cry :(. I also love how this book refers to different religions in general and how Muslims are great people. My best friend is also a Muslim and she is verrry nice. This book also shows the hate going to the Muslim community, it also shows that anybody can be a terrorist, such as the people who vandalized the mosque. One problem with this book is the cover, the cover shows someone probably older than Amina. I love this book + I got it randomly from the book fair!
        • 13iamgroot
          13iamgrootTuesday, September 17, 2019 at 3:03 pm44 stars
          This is an awesome book about finding your voice by Hena Khan. Amina is super great at singing and has perfect pitch, but..........she has a case of serious stage fright. Her best friend Soojin keeps encouraging her to sign up for a singing solo in a class performance, but she just can't. Soojin is also acting different, she is thinking of changing her name to be more "American" at her family's ceremony to become citizens. Amina thought that having names that everyone messed up was kind of their thing. She couldn't see herself calling Soojin Fiona, Susan, or Melanie. Soojin is also becoming friends with Emily, who they used to not like at all because she would hang out with Julie, who always made fun of them. It isn't until after Amina's muslim church gets vandalized, that Amina realizes she has to stand tall and do what she loves to do, even if her Uncle, who her family is always trying to impress and has come for a visit, doesn't think she should. This was a very inspiring book with a good message, I would definitely put in on your "to read" list.
          • imabookworm3
            imabookworm3Thursday, August 1, 2019 at 1:23 pm55 stars
            I decided to read this book because I love realistic fiction. I thought this book was pretty good because she is ready to tell people what she really thinks.
            • vivisawesome
              vivisawesomeTuesday, February 6, 2018 at 3:59 pm44 stars
              I am in the middle, it is starting out good. Please comment or like it if you love this book.
              • kisses12k
                kisses12kMonday, May 8, 2017 at 12:53 pm55 stars
                I think the book was amazing and i hope you guys read this book to have a great summer # going to chicago june 3 cant wait