Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 8W3.743003
Newbery Honor winner Joan Bauer's new novel will touch your heart

When twelve-year-old Sugar's grandfather dies and her gambling father takes off yet again, Sugar and her mother lose their home in Missouri. They head to Chicago for a fresh start, only to discover that fresh starts aren't so easy to come by for the homeless. Nevertheless, Sugar's mother has taught her to be grateful no matter what, so Sugar does her best. With the help of a rescue dog, Shush; a foster family; a supportive teacher; a love of poetry; and her own grace and good humor, Sugar comes to understand that while she can't control the hand life deals her, she can control how she responds.
Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on September 13, 2012 by Viking Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0670012890
ISBN-13: 9780670012893
46 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • nashg1234
    nashg1234Saturday, August 24, 2019 at 8:50 am55 stars
    I will say that I like this book even though I never read this book before
    • 13iamgroot
      13iamgrootFriday, August 9, 2019 at 10:17 am33 stars
      This book was very good and I liked it a lot. I thought Sugar's dog Shush was really cute and helped to comfort Sugar in her times of need. I liked that Sugar always had someone to support her.
      • KarenFriday, August 2, 2019 at 7:41 pm
        Cool
        • butterfly223
          butterfly223Friday, July 19, 2019 at 7:21 am55 starsFeatured
          this book is about twelve-year-old Sugar Mae Cole grandfather dies and her gambling father takes off yet again, Sugar and her mother lose their home in Missouri. They head to Chicago for a fresh start, only to discover that fresh starts aren't so easy to come by for the homeless. Nevertheless, Sugar's mother has taught her to be grateful no matter what, so Sugar does her best. With the help of a rescue dog, Shush; a foster family; a supportive teacher; a love of poetry; and her own grace and good humor, Sugar comes to understand that while she can't control the hand life deals her, she can control how she responds.T he way the author writes this book makes it touch your heart make sure you read this book.
          • watercolrwonder
            watercolrwonderThursday, May 23, 2019 at 7:25 am55 stars
            I first discovered this book at a school book swap, and now I read it at least once a year. It's a very sad but uplifting story all at the same time. Definitely check it out!
            • BeauThursday, May 31, 2018 at 9:11 am
              I LOVE this book.
              • hpw_24
                hpw_24Tuesday, January 16, 2018 at 8:42 am
                I got this book for christmas and so far it is the best book i have ever read, i reccomend it to everyone. The dog shush is so cute and her owner, Sugar is so cute
                • march252008
                  march252008Tuesday, December 12, 2017 at 11:01 am55 stars
                  it is amazing
                  • dancegirllb2006
                    dancegirllb2006Thursday, January 12, 2017 at 11:56 am55 stars
                    it was so sweet
                    • soccerlover1511
                      soccerlover1511Friday, September 16, 2016 at 12:52 pm
                      i want to read this a lot