Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.438932
Allie Velasco wants to be a trailblazer.
A trendsetter.
A winner.

No better feeling exists in the world than stepping to the top of a winner’s podium and hoisting a trophy high in the air. At least, that’s what Allie thinks . . . she’s never actually won anything before. Everyone in her family is special in some way -- her younger sister is a rising TV star; her brother is a soccer prodigy; her great-grandfather is a Congressional Medal of Honor winner.

With a family like this, Allie knows she has to make her mark or risk being left behind. She’s determined to add a shiny medal, blue ribbon, or beautiful trophy to her family’s
award shelf. When a prestigious school contest is announced, Allie has the perfect opportunity to take first -- at last. There’s just one small snag . . . her biggest competition is also her ex-best friend, Sara. Can Allie take top prize and win back a friend -- or is she destined to lose it all?
Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on March 29, 2016 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545812232
ISBN-13: 9780545812238
18 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • LuluSunday, March 8, 2020 at 11:41 am
    I love this book and everyone should go now and try to read it! It’s great book to read when you have a school project!
    • LuluSunday, March 8, 2020 at 11:31 am
      I think it was great and interesting! Everyone should try to read it
      • itsonlyyzariah
        itsonlyyzariahThursday, March 1, 2018 at 7:38 pm55 stars
        This is a great book ! If you are reading my comment....you should probably go read this book yourself . Maybe you will get all in the book like I did because it's very interesting.
        • cufyporepy
          cufyporepyThursday, December 7, 2017 at 6:32 pm
          It is a very good book and it is telling me that I can do a lot
          • cookieplayer
            cookieplayerThursday, November 16, 2017 at 8:05 am
            When I saw mirsoftball8 review, it was so cool
            • mirsoftball8
              mirsoftball8Thursday, November 16, 2017 at 8:02 am44 stars
              Allie feels that the best feeling in the world is to win something, but she has never gotten to experience that feeling... YET. Everyone in her family has though. Her sister is a commercial star, her brother is a soccer master, and her great- grandfather is a Congressional Medal of Honor Winner. Allie just has the need to win something before she finishes her elementary years. At her 5th grade science fair, she had a chance but her dream got crumpled. Her teacher soon after announces that there would be a contest at school and that no one at her school has won. And just one problem; Allie's ex-friend and her friend are planning to use the prize money ($500) to go on a shopping spree. Will this be Allies chance to accomplish her goal?
              • fevoseduto
                fevosedutoFriday, November 10, 2017 at 7:57 am55 stars
                it was rely good I think you should read it if you like reading about friendships
                • potato patatoSunday, August 6, 2017 at 9:30 am
                  and it also seemed like Victor liked allie
                  • potato patatoSunday, August 6, 2017 at 9:27 am
                    this book is very good for kids who haven't won on things to tell them not to give up no matter what + it was a awesome and very encouraging book I defenetly would recommend this for u guys
                    • HAPPYPOTATOFriday, July 28, 2017 at 8:10 pm
                      I LOVED THE BOOK