Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8W4.543252

Travis and his sister, Corey, can’t resist a good trick—so when they learn that their grandmother’s sleepy Vermont inn has a history of ghost sightings, they decide to do a little “haunting” of their own. Scaring the guests proves to be great fun, and before long, the inn is filled with tourists and ghost hunters eager for a glimpse of the supernatural.

But Travis and Corey soon find out that they aren’t the only ghosts at Fox Hill Inn. Their thoughtless games have awakened something dangerous, something that should have stayed asleep. Restless, spiteful spirits swarm the inn, while a dark and terrifying presence stalks the halls and the old oak grove on the inn’s grounds. To lay the ghosts to rest, Travis and Corey must first discover the dark history of Fox Hill and the horrors visited on its inhabitants years earlier.

Paperback, 192 pages
Published on August 17, 2009 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0547248784
ISBN-13: 9780547248783
22 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • vekaciga-157805875247
    vekaciga-157805875247Wednesday, January 8, 2020 at 5:31 am55 stars
    In my opinion, I really like this book. One reason why is I like horror. Another reason why is that it is very interesting . The last reason why is it was they were very adventurist. My favorite part is the night they got there they started to hear weird noises outside. You might like this book if you like horror books. You should read this book because it is very suspenseful.
    • halo47
      halo47Wednesday, November 20, 2019 at 2:12 pm55 stars
      So good. I am currently reading it and it is so cool. if u already read it you know that Corey and Travis can see the ghosts!
      • #laxgirlWednesday, November 20, 2019 at 8:41 am
        I didn't finish because i couldn't get into it but overall good book.
        • wiccanbat666
          wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 12:42 pm55 stars
          All the Lovely Bad Ones, by author Mary Downing Hahn, is yet another horrifyingly spooky young readers ghost story by an ageless wonder. This time MDH delivers a spine-chilling tale about siblings Travis and Corey who are visiting their grandma's inn for the summer. When they decide to play a terrifying trick on her guests, they inadvertently stir up a whole barrel of trouble, ya hear? Before they know it they're caught up in a firestorm of bitter hickish motel cooks, psychedelic pot-smoking hippie ghost hunters, a gaggle of adorable little child-spirits, and of course the vile bondage-loving Mistress Ada! It's pretty awesome, really.
          • brynaThursday, May 11, 2017 at 7:24 am
            this book is amazing so far I absolutely love it because this is my favorite type of book
            • jtesar
              jtesarThursday, September 25, 2014 at 11:36 am55 stars
              OMG! I just finished this book last night! It is amazing!! I think it might be my favorite book now. I kind-of got scared at the end when the Devil came but I don't want to spoil it. Somebody has got to read this for me!! So amazing. I just can't stop talking. Okay, Bye :)
              • gigiann
                gigiannMonday, June 2, 2014 at 2:24 pm
                It was a great book. It was really creepy and I like creepy stories. I recommend it to anyone who likes creepy books.
                • basketball100
                  basketball100Tuesday, May 13, 2014 at 7:58 am55 stars
                  I love the book!! You can't stop reading it!! This book is a little bit scary ish than some of her other books.
                  • kkWednesday, May 7, 2014 at 10:37 am
                    i want to read it so baaaad
                    • okMonday, May 5, 2014 at 10:28 am
                      This book sounds AWESOME!